We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location - Top Spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quiet Location - Top Spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed for 11 nights early July. Hotel was very clean and all the staff seemed happy to help and very cheerful. Rooms and towels were cleaned daily. Food was of a very good standard and varied choice although a bit repetitive during the second week.

During the first few days there was a very much older cliental there but from the 8th July a much wider range from 20 somethings to 80 somethings!!

The hotel is in a superb location and although it was very hot during our stay, there is a lovely breeze from the sea making the days and in particular the evenings very much more bearable. Only a very small resort with 3 hotels several villas and apartments and only a handful of bars outside of the hotels a small supermarket a bank and 3 or 4 boutiques. Ideal for us as we prefer to be outside larger resorts.

A visit into Port Andratx or Peguera is only €5- €6 both busier with Port Andratx being a little more upmarket. You can also get from outside the hotel.
Also a visit onto the Island Beach Bar is a must.

Thomson Team, Deano and Lottie were very hard working and good fun. The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, some good and some bad. We have stayed in Gold hotels before with much better professional shows. The best two for us was Fogwell Flax and Una Acora. The shows however where the Thomson Gold Team visited were not great in fact very amateurish. The resident duo did a good job and again worked hard.

The biggest disappointment of the stay was the ridiculous rush for pool sun beds. People were queuing to be let out of the hotel into the pool area when the hotel unlocked the doors at 07.00am. If you did not get out early then getting an umbrella for the hot mid day sun was impossible as the early birds also liked to take one umbrella per bed!! We ended up paying €10.5 per day for about 5 days of our stay for sun beds on the beach but at least that way you could get up at a reasonable hour have breakfast and make your way to the beach and always get a bed. Both the hotel management and Thomson recognise this is a problem and have tried several things to combat it but to no avail.

I really liked the quiet area and would go back.

Oh - and proper sausages at breakfast - Lush !!

Room Tip: Room 323 Good Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LINTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    377
    116
    22
    17
See reviews for
220
1,348
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

hi just back from playa camp de mar , we had a lovely holiday , hotel in lovely quiet area not much to see if you like to go a walk , beach is great but beware you have to pay for sun beds and umberella 10.5 euro for two of you , free if you want to just lie on the sand , worth it beach is kept very clean and the sea is warm, lovely to swim in .Hotel staff very good lotti and deano very good at games and make them great fun , reps not great i asked if we could change room on the sunday as our room was at the back of the hotel still had sea veiw but was a small room with the bed pushed up against the wall at one side so had to roll over, or get in from the bottom, he said he would try but would get back to me either way and never did ,not great service from a thomsons gold rep ,heard later in the week other people got moved no problem . room was number 405 i think its a single with a double bed in it ,average age in this hotel i would say is 65 , but all very freindly met a lovely couple in chatty wendy darling , and dave .Food is very very good and reastraunt very clean , tables a little too close for us but hey it was fine. Entertainment was varied some brilliant some ok but on the whole very good Rod stewart tribute by dyllan cassidy was by far the best i have ever heard thought I was at a rod concert , overall had a great holiday and i would go back if i wanted a relaxing week away .

Room Tip: make sure you get a room in the new wing they are bigger and if you are slightly imobile, low level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angiehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just arrived back from Grupo hotel Camp De Mar. Staff make this hotel,Entertainment some bad some good.Resident duo good,Thomson reps Lotte and Deano were excellent working very hard while on duty.Food top class wide choice staff very pro active.Rooms have been refurbished to a high standard (needed).Doors open at 0700hrs for the rush to the sunbeds,plenty of umbrellas around pool area.Overall a very relaxing holiday with very friendly people.NB if you fly with Czech Airways they do not take sterling only Euros if you need to purchase anything.

Room Tip: Big balcony on room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LFCRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We celebrated my birthday here. Fantastic service given from manager and staff. Highly recomended. Will definatly return here next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Had a great time. Beautiful setting. Food wonderful. Staff lovely. April, Ric, and Grace the reps, helpful and pleasant. Deano and Lottie made the games really enjoyable with their enthusiasm. Duo, 'Ready to Go' consistently good.
Entertainment at night varied, best in my opinion,were Fogwell Flax, Uno Ancora, Rod Stewart tribute act and Thomsom team 'One Fine Day' production, but appreciate that others have different tastes and Thomson have tried to offer a good variety in recognition of that. Never an evening that we didn't stick around to watch the entertainment.
Cnanged rooms without difficulty, Jose the manager is always around and welcomes suggestions for improving the service the hotel offers. Only suggestion I had was cherry cheesecake more often! Oh and a mirror above dressing table.
Take your own tea and coffee( very expensive there) as not provided in the room, although a kettle is.
Usual early sunbed baggers, but it is difficult to see how to combat this. Just wish they would use them when they have bagged them and not leave them unused until midday or later.
Would definitelt go back. Jane Ky

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JaneKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My daughter turned 16 which meant the end of hotels full of screaming kids and hogging the pool with lilos - I could finally go to a Thomson gold hotel. I stayed at the hotel with my daughter, my husband and my parents. Perfect hotel to chill out. Food great but why on earth do Brits want things like shepherds pie in Mallorca ?! My father joined the early morning masses to bag 5 sunbeds , bless him, still in good shape for 61 and able to work the sunbed grabbing crowd. The thomson entertainment staff were interesting, deno works his socks off and lottie handles her own, even if she appears to be homesick but I'm sure the Yorkshire puds and bread and butter pudding in the restaurant alleviate this a little.
Overall we all had a great holiday and the hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kearly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After a three hour flight delay from Luton we eventually arrived at the (Grupotel) Playa Camp De Mar in less than high spirits. We dragged our travel weary bodies and maxed out suitcases to the reception desk and were quickly furnished with room key and information pack.
Following directions I heaved the luggage into the lift and off we whisked to the fourth floor.
Half way along the corridor there is a short staircase of about eight steps. It’s no big deal I suppose, descending so few steps with a couple of twenty Kilo bags but perhaps I should of asked for a bit of assistance as this is not a thing Memsahib is into.
Anyway the excellent electronic key access let us into our room and we shuffled inside.
ROOM
The room upon first inspection does not really lift one’s spirits as it is furnished in a glossy brown wood and the bedspreads are a sort of miserable mustard colour. It is pointed out to me by my controller that there is no mirror above the dressing table which I am informed by definition makes it the “ROOM FROM HELL” I later asked for and received a free standing mirror for the table and the room lost it’s “ROOM FROM Hell” rating so that was all right.
A couple of chairs and a small round table complete the furnishings. The floor is tiled. Closer examination shows that all the furnishings are in fact new. I am puzzled that a room can be refurbished but made to look the same as it did before. Wardrobe and shelf space is adequate with enough room for two people’s clothes. An electric kettle two cups and two glasses are provided but no tea-bags or coffee sachets.
In contrast to the room the Bathroom is a really smart affair. A long shower cubicle in which you could fit three people (should you have the opportunity) fitted with a fixed overhead rose as well as a movable hose type. Both shower heads are adjustable for different shower patterns so you can blast the sand from between you toes or any other sand trap areas of your anatomy on the jet setting. There is a glass double wash basin which looks really swish when freshly cleaned by the maid. After you have used it it will look less brilliant when the hard water and your toothpaste splashes have dried. I personally hate that look so bought a couple of kitchen towel rolls from the local supermarket to buff it up after each morning’s ablutions. The bathroom includes a hair dryer and a magnifying shaving mirror of such power that after a few days of Majorcan sun blasting, your head looks like the surface of Mars. If you’ve had enough mind-altering refreshments then you can see the occasional Mars Rover lurking in your follicles. All in all very good.
The balcony overlooking the sea has two comfortable upholstered chairs, a table and clothes airier, all fine.
Food
The dining room is buffet service and you simply turn up and sit anywhere you like, breakfast or dinner. A large range of foods is available for breakfast from fruits to cereal to eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans etc. I found the basic quality of the ingredients quite high, more so than many other gold hotels I’ve stayed in. Dinner (Long trousers gents and no England/Man U shirts) also has a wide range of options and I was particularly impressed by the salads and soups. As has been mentioned by other contributors the food combinations for the main course can be a bit odd. The carvery section for instance will have roast beef but no roast potatoes, (micro-waved jackets?) I am nit picking though because many people have a bit of everything on offer. A bit more adventurous than me I guess.
Entertainment.
Through the day the Thomson animation team, Deano and his lovely assistant Lottie organise things like beach boules and water polo etc. All Gold hotel veterans will know what I’m on about. Much the same people enter each day so obviously the same people with their comedy names are paraded before the audience to collect their prizes each night before the main Entertainment starts. Don’t worry you’ll get used to it.
The evening entertainment starts off with maybe a quiz (popular) and a wife and husband duet singing to the assembled throng. These two are capable enough but the guy on guitar and keyboards constantly interrupts his good lady with incomprehensible mutterings whilst she tries to break the world record for saying the most “Ladies and Gentlemen’s” in her announcements. I’m surprised she hasn’t put his head through his guitar. When not playing, singing and interrupting the said gem is sometimes asked to man the sound desk if Lottie or her lovely assistant Deano is otherwise engaged. It seems that he finds this somewhat less than stimulating so he proceeds to sabotage the other two by playing music stings late/wrong/truncated, you name it. You can imagine the others look less than amused by his antics. Next comes a brief bingo session and then the main act. The professional act is usually much appreciated by the audience and can be a comic a dance troupe, tribute band or a singing duo. One thing they have in common is that most of them look as if they have just come back from Tesco’s. (except for the Rod Stewart tribute chap and the dance troupe)The only person who seems to make an effort in the sartorial stakes is luscious Lottie, assistant to the lovely Deano.
Last remark re entertainment is that the stage should be twice the size and someone should sort out the lighting. There are no fewer than twenty four lamps suspended in the rig and yet no-one is actually lit. When the lamps are switched on the backlights bore straight into the audience’s eyes and the front light miss the entertainer completely. Imagine the prince of darkness with a black follow spot and you will get the picture. The regular duo stands so far back from the lights they almost disappear into the black background.
Pool/beach.
Camp de Mar is a small resort comprising four hotels and a few shops. Club city it’s not. The “prime spot” pool area is just about sewn up by the pre dawn towel on bed brigade. This area is roasting anyway so you might consider going down to the beach where the front row sea breeze is great. Best time is early morning when you can take a dip in the sea and watch the cormorant dive for fish.
Also, if you stand in the sea and throw small pieces of bread you will quickly be surrounded by fish, sometimes they will actually take the bread from your fingers.
The outlook from the beach is most pleasant as there are attractive hillside villas to be seen from the beach. You will stop noticing the tower cranes serving the low rise apartment blocks in no time. Work progress is virtually non existent so there is no noise from the small development. In fact if you see a crane move you are witnessing a rare event. Remember that you have a cheerful view from the beach of the bay and its island restaurant, the owners of the mega-euro villas look at the hotels. I know which view I prefer.
July weekends see stacks of local people hit the beach and it gets extremely crowded. Folks are so close together they come close to taking each others eyes out with their cigarettes with every turn of the head. The Germans and Spanish smoke like chimneys. If you have taken a sun- bed (E10 .50 two beds and a sunshade) you have a bit of guaranteed space. It follows that the average age of people on the beach is about a third of the (Gold) hotel guests, gentlemen can cut eye holes in their Daily Mirror to view the local attractions and the ladies can flutter their eyelashes at athletic young men. There are no young Brit guys on the beach so you aren’t going to get your nose flattened by a high velocity football or offended by an expletive loaded exchange of views. After the weekend a beach cleaning machine sifts the countless cigarette butts and bits of litter from the sand, which is nice.
There’s not much else to say really but to summarise I would say that the Grupotel Playa de Mar is good value for money hotel with an attentive and friendly staff and management in an attractive quiet resort. If you want high jinks then this is not for you, teens would generally go mad I think.
Oh, I should mention, book a sea view room, any complaints I heard were from people with the street view rooms. Enjoy your holiday, lots of people do and re-book year after year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bronzedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
997 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing