We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realistic Assessment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Having read some very negative reviews of this hotel and an incredibly glowing one, I thought it would be useful to try to put some perspective to the matter following our recent stay.
Firstly, this is undoubtably a good hotel - beautifully positioned, excellent food and helpful and informative hotel & Thomsons staff.
The problem. if there is one, is the people who go there! We are not spring chickens (both mid-50's) but we were some of the younger guests. Their behaviour, particularly with reserving sun-beds, (people were queuing 15 minutes before the poolside doors were opened to rush in, like theJanuary sales, to reserve sunbeds) made you ashamed to be British.
Because of the age issue, the entertainment, particularly during the day, was necessarily quite gentle. I feel I'm a bit young for a spelling competition though! The brought in entertainment was very good however
We had very good weather and I feel this has a major influence on people's views. With 24 days of rain in May, it's no wonder people were moaning.
In summary a good hotel - pity about the people who go there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank telandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,060 - 2,066 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2008

Just got back from this amazing hotel, and felt i needed to put finger to pc and tell people how much i enjoyed this wonderful hotel.

the hotel staff are so friendly and very obliging., most having a very good grasp of English and nothing seemed to much trouble for them at all.

the food choice here is vast and is of a very good standard, ranging from typical English Fayre right through to mallocean cuisine too, there really is something for all tastes. the managers cocktail and gala dinner night on Tuesday is amazing and the choice and variety of food is indeed stunning. i really think i added a few inches to my waistline while i was here.

the hotel is always spotless and the staff seem to put a lot of effort in keeping the place spick and span.
i was fortunate enough to have booked a room with full sea view and what a treat to the eyes the bay of camp de mar is to look out onto every morning and evening. the rooms are very spacious on this side of the hotel and have all facilities you could need of any hotel room.

the pool was heated while i was on holiday and it was a very good size to work off some of those huge dinners we had had. the hotel has plenty of sun beds and parasols, so there seemed to be enough to go all around.

the Thomson reps in the hotel were always smiling and pleasant and were always seen around the hotel and round the pool. i attended the welcome meeting and found it very informative and they certainly seemed to know a lot about the hotel, the resort and also the island of mallorca too!!

all in all i would say if you are thinking of going to this wonderful hotel, then its well worth the visit, belive me you will not regret it for one moment

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holidaylover3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

This is my third and last Thomson Gold. I read previous reviews before travelling and thought then that some were a little harsh, however just returned from 10 days at the hotel My wife and I, 47yrs and 51yrs couldn't wait to come home. The hotel sits on an attractive quiet location in picturesque bay. The guests for the first 7 days of our stay had an average age of about 75. We really felt out of place. Much older than previous resorts although some younger quests seemed to arrive after the first week. This is the only holiday in 40 years that I haven't used the hotel pool or sun beds. The 7.30 rush for sunbeds was an education to watch and one of the only highlights for us. We spent our time at the beach which was very nice. Our balcony had a great view but we couldn't use it due to our neighbour constantly sitting there smoking cigarettes all day - we were down wind. The clientele at this hotel are of that smoking generation if you understand. Hotel staff were always friendly but the Thomson reps were indifferent in their manner and the younger ones were not very proactive towards the customer. My question on departure as to what time my transport left for the airport was met with "well what have you booked" and a half hearted response which was actually the wrong time! The hotel manager was always on site and interacting with guests however the food was very bland and apart from the gala night reminded me of school dinners. Visited the entertainment venue just once and turned around and walked out, it is located in an underground room which was dank and musty. We never returned. I agree with a previous comment re the rooms and poor beds and ill fitting windows however the air conditioning was excellent and quiet. Thank god for Sky TV. This resort is very quiet with very few shops and no bars that I would recommend. A short taxi will take you to the Port of Andratx which is very pretty especially as the sun sets. This holiday was a big mistake for me. The hotel was not up to Gold standard and not suitable for my age group. I cannot recommend it and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bachgyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We have stayed at 8 previous Thomson Gold Hotels and so have experienced what they offer. This Hotel fell far short of the expected standard. There were Reps but they made no effort to interact with the guests. We were not met upon arrival, we did not have any rep available when we went on the various trips. The only one that was doing a very good job was David he was a star in the making. The Hotel staff were brilliant, but the room was small, we were not able to have Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room only a kettle. The smell of the drains permeated even the Restaurant, and the floor was dirty. The Pool was heated which was nice but the Jacuzzi was freezing and so was unusable. The guests were left to get out their own sunbeds and umbrellas as there wasn't anyone to help them, some of the guests are quite elderly. There was a lot of reserved sunbeds in spite of the request that this was not allowed but none of the reps did anything about it, well they were too busy hiding so they didn't have to do any work. We are not keen to book into any other Thomson Gold Hotel after this experience. the area is beautiful and our view from 308 was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geewiz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We have just returned from this hotel on the 22nd May 2008.
This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and it is certainly not a 4 star and should be only be a 2 star at best.
Apart from the terrible food, dirty blankets, hard beds, cold whirl pool, crowded pool, ill fitting windows, noisy rooms, tread bare sheets its fine.
How Thomson could rate this as a Gold hotel is beyond belief.
I know of at least three other couples who intend to complain about this place.
We will never go back or use Thomson again.
Apart from this Camp De Mar is a loverly bay and very quite.
To those who are booked already good luck you will need it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sfd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

we booked our holiday online though the official thomson website and we were so disappointed with this so called thomson gold hotel.
the thomson transfer mini buses to hotel were very quick and we didnt have to wait for the bus to fill up, they took straight away to our hotel which was pretty impressive.
but not until we got to the hotel that we realized that we were stuck in a holiday geared for the mature adults , over 60's to be precise. i being 27, and my husband being 35 , were quite appalled to find ourselves in a resort where are the entertainment , food, atmosphere were all exclusively geared for over 60's, unlike what the description of the hotel said : "catering individual need" and "live music to dance bands, they certainly know how to put on a show here" maybe the fastest song they played was the BJ's .
food was good but there was not much variety in the food. only once i had chicken curry ( that has become british food anyway ) and paela.
i cant stress enough to mention that the entertainment was so boring , included stuff like skittles, quizes (designed for older ppl) throw the bean bag, aqua aerobics was fun though (that was pretty entertaining to watch) .
the biggest problem with the entertainment was that the thomson team got it all wrong , the games were designed in 2 teams the vistors( the brits ) againsr the thomson team, and ofcourse thomson always won, so there's no real competition . they won every single game. it was like we wasted our time watching them play . they dont get the idea that it is our holiday not theirs.
the evening entertainment was full 100% of oldies , goldies song etc. the resident duo "reaction " was booooring. oldies songs again.
we didnt expect this from a thomson gold hotel. we felt left out and out of tune with the whole holiday resort.
if the description of this hotel was more transparent we wouldn't have booked this hotel in the first place . we feel like we have been miss sold this expensive package when it catered a different and an much older generation . it is not fair at all. we wanted a reasonably calm place in spain as we are not party freaks which was the reason why we booked in the first place but we found ourselves in a care home for brits in spain . not shuffed at all!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank pinkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We went on a stay and cruise [Portland] staying at this hotel. On arrival we were shown to room 101, a smelly 'broom cupboard' of a room adjacent to the hotel main entrance overlooking the back of a hotel, shops and a taxi-rank. It had no air-conditioning no privacy and no sleep after 5am when lorries began deliveries to the hotel. We eventually got a room move on day 3, to room 444 which was another room at the back of the hotel but better than that disgraceful room 101 [double bedded room]. Returning home we read the cruise brochure and it said that room facilities
at this hotel included a balcony, 2 to 3 beds and sea view, that was the type of room that went with the cruise. Before travelling to this hotel make absolutely sure to take proof of a sea view booking, we didnt and it cost us. I would also avoid the side sea view rooms which also have a view of the street and hotel opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ukbunby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Gran Camp de Mar
Hotel Roc Gran Camp de Mar
#6 of 6 in Camp De Mar
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
1.6 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
1 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#8 of 52 in Peguera
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range: £88 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing