We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 10 night stay in the Playa Camp de Mar Hotel where the management and staff were always extremely pleasant and helpful, thanks to Jose for the wine on my special birthday, it was a lovely touch and much appreciated. This hotel is excellent all round, one of the better Thomson Gold hotels, loved the heated pool.... great service in the bars and restaurant with a wide selection of lovely food to choose from at breakfast and dinner.

Thomson reps did a super job in keeping everyone who wanted to be entertained day and night, special thanks to Chris, enjoyed her short walks and local knowledge.

Midnight Affair and the guest acts all provided good evening entertainment, (especially liked the Spanish Duo they were brilliant and everyone had a great night) .

This was our first visit to Camp de Mar and we had a wonderful time, the quiet location was ideal for relaxing . Would certainly return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramblingeevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    392
    118
    22
    17
See reviews for
228
1,388
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The flight was good, the Hotel looked lovely on arrival had good bad points. We paid extra for a suite with a double bed, separate living space. The area was much smaller than on the pictures and consideing we paid an extra 200 pound this was a little bit disappointing. There walk in wardrobe massive bathroom were plus points. There were alot of signs of wear, the sofa was tatty, uncomfotable and torn, the bathroom ceiling had mold and there were a number of missing screws. The bed was two singles not a double not that comfortable considering its a 4 star.

The rest of the hotel was lovely, two bars, lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds. Freindly staff appart from one bar staff who was always moody, Thompson reps all very nice.

Food The breakfast was great everything you could want from Yoghurt to full cooked breakfast. Dinner was hot, quite alot to choose from but more for older people which did suit the hotel clientel. Lots of roasts fish. Desserts were very nice. Nice little snack bar by the pool for the day.

The location is fantastic a beautiful beach just below the rim of the hotel, the most amazing scenery, green sea onto the sandy beach. There are a couple of beach bars shops, no big supermarkets very minimal. Just up the road 5 mins you will find Paguara with endless street of shops restaurants. Very lively but not too close. 5 euros in a taxi.

All in all lovely location would like to go back there again, hotel ok to good

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMASONKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This has got to be the best Thomson Gold Hotel.
The food is excellent.We particularly enjoyed the Spanish dishes
each evening, as well as the stunning selection of fresh fish
available (well done Chef Diego)
The location is perfect.
The rooms are great with wonderful sea views.
Heated pool, fantastic.
Jose, who is the Hotel Manager, is very hands on
and always approachable.
All the staff are pleasant and friendly,
just like their manager. What a team.
Thomson team also very good. Well done.
The tapas bar visits with Christine the local interest
Rep were a great way to taste Mallorcan food.
Midnight affair, Frankie and Jackie,were great entertainment.
We had an excellent two weeks.
We are booking for May next year.

Room Tip: Sea view, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Treval2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just come back from our 7th stay at the Grupotel Playa camp de Mar which is still an excellent place to stay. The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient, and the high floor room was brilliant with outstanding views over the magnificent bay. The cleanliness in every area was faultless, the food excellent, (wish I could cook meat like the Chef!!!)and the lovely warm pool just so inviting! The ambience in this hotel is next to none, made so.by the genuine friendliness of all the staff who are so efficient and the example and encouragement of a brilliant director Jose who is always on hand and isn't just a name!!! . This hotel probably appeals more to an older age group due to the peace and quiet of the area in which it's located which is very beautiful The evening entertainment during the high season is outside by the pool area and therefore obviously more noisy music-wise into the late evening and indoors in May and October obviously due to the weather. There are taxis right by the door and regular bus services to Paguera Andratz and Palma. We have already booked for next year which says it all. Many thanks.Jose and staff for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a high room for quietness or a suite which are more spacious Always ask for a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiddulphStarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from yet another amazing week at the Camp de Mar (19.10.13) As other reviews have alreadystated this hotel has it all if you want a relaxing break, food was superb, the entertainment really good etc. As a single traveller, holidaying alone can sometimes be quite daunting, however, the Thomson team and the staff at this hotel are so friendly that at no point did I feel 'out of place'. I had a small twin room with sea view so there was plenty of space and the walk in shower was excellent. The resort is small, however you can easily access the nearer larger resorts if you want to as the bus stop is nearby or you can take some breath taking walks! Can't wait too go back

Room Tip: Try to avoid single rooms as they are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

There is nothing I can add to all the other positive reviews about this hotel,so I won't bore you going through it all again.
Suffice it to say that if you can find a better value,top quality hotel, which gives you qality customer service, friendly helpful staff ,good food and superb location only 21/2 hours from the UK,please let me know !!
Rarely in my working life did anyone say to me "well done you did a good job there" So I would just like to congratulate Alex,Gemma,Justin Chris , Eama? and the rest of the Thomson team at the hotel.Not intrusive but prepared to go the extra mile if needed. Well done guys.
Just one minor quibble (there always is isn't there?) If the hotel is planning any further refurbishments in the future could it include new beds? I suffer a little with my back and found the beds a little hard after a few days but this did not detract from my holiday and will not stop me booking again.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazdar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar after our first visit to this hotel. What a place! Superb location, fabulous food, lovely room (with sea-view and large walk-in shower + twin sinks) excellent facilities (especially the pool-which was the warmest outdoor pool I have ever known), wide choice of activities, great entertainment (especially the resident duo Frankie and Jackie) and brilliant staff/reps. What more can I say! Manager Jose and his team are doing a fantastic job. The resort itself is quite small so if you are looking for lively nightlife/bars etc this might not be the place for you but if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday then I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94Welltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing