We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in many ways”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent in many ways”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here last summer. The hotel has a very happy atmosphere and, as others have said, helpful and friendly staff. The food is very good. However, there is a negative. There is little sound insulation between rooms and you really are at the mercy of your room neighbours here. Guests arrive and depart through the night and, during our two week stay, we were woken several times each night by banging doors, sliding wardrobe doors, general movement and overhead footsteps, etc. Added to that, TVs without sound restriction have been fixed to adjoining walls and therefore TV disturbance is added to the mix. What could have been a wonderful holiday was spoilt for us by a lack of sleep. I should also add that the bed was hard and unsupportive, the room small and ‘tired’ but bathrooms have been refurbished and are excellent. But - if you’re a very heavy sleeper - then none of this will bother you and you can enjoy an otherwise very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richrich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    377
    116
    22
    17
See reviews for
220
1,350
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stunning hotel right on the beach. Rooms lovely, walk in showers, plenty of storage space and very clean. A very quiet resort but plenty going on in this adults only hotel. Entertainment in the day was not too intrusive you could take it or leave it. Why some people moan about this I do not know. This is a Thomson gold hotel and what that means by way of daily activities is made very clear in the hotels description. In fact if they joined in they might find it infectious and a great way of making new friends. Food was excellent- plenty of choice. Staff hard working, very friendly and generally happy in their jobs. The manager clearly has all under excellent control, is well respected and has a high profile. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view room the views are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We went for our 2nd visit to camp de mar in july and were dissapointed compared to the first time. The room had rusty fittings, the bed from hell, extractor fan did not work, wires showing behind plug socket, holes in facia on balcony. Food plentifull but not very good, ok if you stick to the fish, but forget any meat, and vegetables not propely cooked. Entertainment medioca, some of the acts frankly over the hill, resident duo excellent. Complained via travel agent to Thomson who have only just completed our complaint with a cheque for £100 as an apology. The staff and the Thomson team all very nice, a shame attention to detail was not there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RockonTommyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here as part off a cruise and stay if you just want it nice and quite this is the place for you beautiful hotel and scenery food excellent worth a try golf course no more than 300 yards away plenty of taxi's to take you to Santa ponsa about 10mins away 16 Euros max all in all don't think you will be disappointed with this choice

Room Tip: Sea view and nice to wake up to a beautiful view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank james_mcginty188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had two weeks holiday in Camp de Mar which is a quiet small resort just 40 minutes from Palma airport. Hotel is on the beach with spectacular views of mountains and beautiful sunsets. There is a small restaurant on a rock accessed by a little bridge and serves meals all day. The two outstanding features of the hotel are the staff who are always helpful and friendly and the quality and variety of the food. We had a very relaxing holiday and we could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: All rooms have some sea view and not long distances to the lifts - better views from the higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 10 days here in September - it was our 4th holiday at this hotel and we are about to book again for next year. This hotel offers all that we want from a holiday. The food is very good and there is plenty of choice. The views from the room we always ask for (and get) are fantastic and, because it is a quiet resort, we've found it very easy to get around the island by getting the local bus (not too expensive and almost always on time) into Palma from where you can travel all over Majorca. The hotel is exceptionally clean, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful, most of them returning to work there each year. Jose, the Manager, is always around checking that all is OK so we'll see you again next year Jose. We can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our second visit and it was even better than the last one. This is truly a fantastic Hotel with great staff and very hands on Manager Jose, who all work tirelessly even at the end of the season to make your holiday great. There is great food including Spanish and English, the Hotel has an enviable location with views over the sea and mountains. There is also a very warm pool which is made even more relaxing as there are no kids. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean again by the hard working chambermaids. We will definitely be going back and we highly commend this hotel and its fantastic staff. Bob and June Corner.

Room Tip: Pick a Sea view room for the best overall views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
998 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing