We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but no peace and quiet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Essex,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but no peace and quiet”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As before first class team at the hotel lead by a great, hands on manager.
BUT.......
Friday afternoon, by the pool after cookery demonstration, Thomson team played volleyball with music blaring out, then went away and left Doof, doof, doof music blaring until quiz at 4. Couldn't listen to audio book or Ipod
Then while sitting quietly in bar waiting for leaving meeting to start, Adam from Thomson team came in and killed all conversations by plugging in his Iphone with, guess what, Doof, doof, doof music. Adam, print this out and do what you said you do with negative reviews.

Room Tip: Beware of some of the double rooms in the old part at the back of the hotel, small and scruffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAbbey_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    403
    124
    22
    17
See reviews for
240
1,428
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past and should have heeded our own advise!!!!!! Our last weekly stay was from Thursday 09 March 2014 returning to the UK the following Thursday 05 June 2014. Unfortunately we could only book a room with limited sea view and we thought this would be OK how wrong can you be. First of all I believe we were given room 402 which is at the rear of the hotel and had the smallest balcony ever there was no way you could sit out on it also there were steps as you entered. The room which really was not up to Gold standard. The Thomson rep was very apologetic and asked if we wanted to complete a complaint form which we declined, all we wanted was a decent room. After complaining to the very kind man on the hotel reception he offered us an alternative room room 504. Again this room was not up to Gold standard was at the rear of the hotel although it did have a decent balcony and to be honest we did have a partial view of the sea. As no other rooms were available we asked to speak to the hotel manager who was very apologetic and said allocation of rooms were out of his control and were all allocated by Thomson holidays and has the hotel was now fully booked nothing further could be done. We remained in room 504 for the rest of our holiday although each night we could hear traffic going up and down the road running parallel to the rear of the hotel which spoilt our holiday somewhat. Having said all that we really love this hotel the staff are brilliant the food is absolutely delicious. We will definitely be coming back however, this will only be if we can book a sea view room.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best and only book if you can get a sea view room otherwise like us you may g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our 15th visit and not disappointed, food excellent as usual . It is like our second home, we are greeted and looked after like family. Jose and everyone can never do enough to make your stay as
perfect as possible, Love to swim and what better than the pool being heated it is bliss. Can not wait to return in September. We bring back so many happy memories we enjoy every single minute of our stay. The hotel is in the most fantastic setting it is like paradise.
Feel like we have made friends they make such an effort to make you feel at home , keep up the good work see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Overall a very good hotel, staff are friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good, the hotel is clean and the pool is warm enough to just walk straight into. I only have two negative comments to make. 1) The walls in between the rooms are paper thin and we heard next door neighbours talking and moving around, we didn't need to turn on our TV because we could hear theirs very clearly even though it wasn't on loud. We had disturbed sleep every night. One day I knocked on the door of our room to go back in and the lady next door opened hers! 2) You will either love or hate Adam from the entertainment team. A lovely guy but very loud and excitable. Don't expect very much quiet time around the pool because he and Harley love to use their sound system with loud music and lots of announcements. If you aren't too bothered about any of the above then you will have a good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Have just returned from Camp de Mar after our third visit and can't speak highly enough about this hotel. Food was superb as usual and excellent quality (and quantity). Staff were all so friendly and Jose the Manager was always around and obviously leads a very happy team. Adam & Harley were excellent Thomson entertainers and full of fun. No problem getting a sunbed whatever time of day. One or two reviews have mentioned the building works, but we did not find this a problem and were only aware of noise on one day. I am sure we will return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 08, 09 10 & 11 get good sun in the afternoon for sitting on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had a great time - hotel staff brilliant. Thomson entertainment team absolutely fantastic - never known so many people play the 'silly' games through the day which is all down to Adam and Harley. Adam is a gem and Thomson must make sure they hang on to him. Food brilliant - good selection and good quality. Hotel spotlessly clean throughout. Only negative is the extremely hard bed in our suite. Kept waking up through discomfort and had to turn over. Hotel staff said all beds were the same and nothing they could do. We found a duvet and fitted that under the sheet for a slight improvement. But overall great hotel, great location and great entertainment team. Would go back even with a hard bed (if Adam's there).

Room Tip: The suites are good value and so roomy with great views of the pool and beach. Plus tea and coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristol_boy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea Wales
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we returned for the second time to this superb hotel and found that many of the same staff had also returned I emailed the hotel to ask for the same room or as close as possible and we were given room 632 which was a few rooms away from last years We could not fault this hotel the food was excellent rooms were spotless staff cheerful and obliging The only downside is the construction site next door which was quite noisy with cranes and a lot of jack hammering going on Thomson should warn customers before booking

Room Tip: high floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefftan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing