We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not for the first time , I was delighted with levels of service throughout the hotel . Reception , dining , enternment , room and management attention to personal service was first class . I have enjoyed this and my previous visits , it is top of my list for a holiday anywhere . Will I be returning ? Most certainly , my search for suitable dates has already begun .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilfmarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

First impressions on arrival were excellent. We stood in the reception area admiring the most stunning view- the view was even better than we had imagined. We checked in easily and were given the key to our room. We were eager to see what the room was like as this was our first visit to this hotel. Very disappointed to say the least. The room was small which we had expected as we had only booked a double room however the bathroom was dirty and not up to standard at all. Hairs in the bath and unclean toilet. We immediately complained and got moved two storeys up. I must say the staff handled this very well and apologized profusely. They gave us a drinks voucher for us to spend whilst they checked over our new room which was spotless and to the standard this hotel is well known for. We went to bed early on the first night of our stay as we had a very early start that morning. It was incredibly noisy! We thought it would stop at some point but the noises from outside of the hotel kept going all night. People shouting, taxi drivers talking and joking loudly, glass recycling, rubbish collections and transfers all throughout the night. I'm not even a light sleeper but hardly got any sleep. We thought we would give it one more night before we complained to see if the noise improved, it didn't. The following morning we spoke to the Thomson reps and asked to me moved. We spoke to Carly who was excellent and she spoke to the hotel staff on our behalf and managed to get us another room at the side of the hotel away from our old rooms which were at the front of the hotel overlooking another hotel and shops.This room was so peaceful and quiet and was probably triple the size of the double rooms. Nicely decorated and amazing bathroom. The rest of our holiday from this point was fantastic.We were in peace and quiet just as we had expected when we booked this hotel. We didn't have a sea view but next time would definitely book one to avoid any risk of getting the rooms at the front of the hotel.
Food was first class could not be faulted. Restaurant staff were friendly & helpful. Lots of choice and great quality food and drink. Special thanks to Gina who was always so happy and friendly.

Cleanliness of hotel super. First room we had was completely out of character for this hotel. Standards our high at this hotel and they have a very good house keeping team.

Adam & Harley were amazing and we enjoyed the entertainment. Although some of the 'outside' acts could be improved. The best night was watching the Tina Turner Tribute act who was extremely talented and a joy to watch.
We didn't ever find it a problem to get sunbeds and always got one with a sea view which was lovely.
We had a lovely time from our 2nd night on and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We're in our 20's and wanted a tranquil setting to stay in. We did meet a couple of other couples are ages which was lovely but we also enjoyed being with older ones. Even though we did get people coming up to us asking if we had the right hotel! This made us feel a bit awkward sometimes as we could see they thought we were too young to be there and they thought we were going to be noisy. That being said we met some really lovely people on this holiday and enjoyed there company.
We had a lovely stay and we have missed the wonderful food and views since being back at home.

I & J

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Returned yesterday after a week at this superb hotel, staying for the first time. Location, food and service were of the very best standard and room was comfortable. There was noise from time to time but that has been the same wherever we have stayed. Couldn't believe that guests would race out at 7am for sunbeds as there are more than enough to go round!! The pool was so nice and warm that the wife broke her PB for the number of times she went in. We tended to join in most of the silly games and thought hosts Adam and Harley did a superb and very professional job. The evening entertainment was mostly very good, resident duo Dawn and Alex really were "Pure Class." Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view and a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I returned from our holiday last night and this morning booked for next year!! That is how good this hotel is!!!
This was my first Thomson's Gold holiday and found the entire team fantastic. Special mentions for Adam, Harley and Callie, who were fantastic.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food fantastic and everything reasonably priced. The pool was just heaven, slightly heated and so nice that you didn't want to get out!! My mum has not swum in 47 years and I couldn't get her to stop! She loved it.
The room and view was amazing, so much so that every night we sat on our balcony watching the view. Just the total relaxation that was very much needed.
But I think what makes this hotel is the staff, from the maintenance and cleaning staff to the manager of this hotel, everybody is helpful, cheerful and can't do enough for you. Whilst I didn't have a problem on my holiday I am confident that had I had one, they would have been happy to help. Jose's constant presence at the hotel is a pleasure to see and makes you feel that your holiday is as important to him as it is to you.
The extra touches with the Gerbera's (my favourite flower) the champagne and the chocolates is a lovely touch and we can't wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Leigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the first Thompson Gold we've been to that we felt truly lived up to it's name.

ROOMS
Our bedrooms, with the most fantastic sea views, were large and modern with a very lovely marble and glass bathroom. Only minor issue was the smoked glass panel instead of a proper bathroom door - not a problem for us but our son and daughter (who were sharing a twin room) found it disturbing. The beds were extremely hard but this is our only niggle in what is a fantastic hotel.

HOTEL
We had the warmest welcome here, in the middle of the night, that we've had in any hotel - ever! The hotel had even arranged for a cold plated buffet for us which was so appreciated in the early hours of our arrival as we were all starving!
All the staff were lovely and seemed happy in their work. The manager was always on hand and was very helpful when we requested a table near the buffet for our daughter who had her left in plaster.

FOOD
Outstanding, both in terms of quality and variety. I would say that the food here is as good, if not better, than any 5* that I have stayed in. Every conceivable breakfast item was offered - cereals, toast, fresh & dried fruit, cheese, meats, yoghurts, full English including fried bread, bread, pastries, croissants, jams and the most delicious porridge I have ever tasted. In fact the porridge became my guilty pleasure for the week!
Dinner was just as excellent - a wide range of hot and cold dishes, sides, soup (including the Spanish gazpacho), paella every night, breads, fresh fruit, incredible desserts, icecream.

AREA
The location is akin to paradise the hotel being set in a quiet bay; turquoise sea, powder sand with hills surrounding. Schumacher and other celebrities have villas a short distance from the hotel. The restaurant sat on a rock in the bay, which you go to by crossing a timber bridge is a lovely place to sit.

ENTERTAINMENT
Absolutely top notch. Adam is a born entertainer and really made this holiday. We had seen him before when we stayed at the Levante at Easter and followed him here. Even the 11am aqua exercise became an entertainment event. If it hadn't been for his input on stage when the Thomson entertainment team were on we would have died with boredom. As it was we wished he was on stage every night. Both him and Harley were great fun and very professional. Harley was a master at remembering everyone's names and seemed to have a real gift for putting people at ease. We would book again just to see these two in action. Thomsons - take note - you have a duo here with all the loveable appeal of Ant & Dec so look after them! (If Adam's mum is reading this - he really is a lovely boy and you should be very proud!)
We had some absolutely first class acts - the Queen tribute was musically challenged but SO entertaining, the Beatles tribute was incredible and our 19 year old daughter is now a fan! We also loved the comedian. The resident duo lived up to their name - Pure Class.
For those people who moan about the entertainment - don't book Thomson Gold!!! Go to any number of hotels that offer complete quiet and leave us party people to enjoy what Gold is all about!!

IN CONCLUSION
Go!! We would go again (and probably will). However, if you're a complaining fuddy duddy that can't cope with even the fairly unobtrusive entertainment offered here then do us all a favour and stay at home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaz3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from another holiday at this fabulous hotel. We choose to go to this hotel for the high standard of accommodation , food and service and the ideal situation. We enjoy a quite holiday and by choice do not participate in the daily early morning sunbed race and the daily poolside entertainment, but spend most of our time on the beach.Yes we do have to pay a daily charge for sunbed/umbrella hire which can prove expensive (perhaps the hotel could come to some arrangement with the beach operators for a reduced rate for hotel guests?) I highly recommend this Thomson gold hotel and congratulate the management and staff in maintaining such a high standard and look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Billy Wiz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As before first class team at the hotel lead by a great, hands on manager.
BUT.......
Friday afternoon, by the pool after cookery demonstration, Thomson team played volleyball with music blaring out, then went away and left Doof, doof, doof music blaring until quiz at 4. Couldn't listen to audio book or Ipod
Then while sitting quietly in bar waiting for leaving meeting to start, Adam from Thomson team came in and killed all conversations by plugging in his Iphone with, guess what, Doof, doof, doof music. Adam, print this out and do what you said you do with negative reviews.

Room Tip: Beware of some of the double rooms in the old part at the back of the hotel, small and scruffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAbbey_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#10 of 52 in Peguera
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range: £89 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing