We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EIGHTH CONSECUTIVE TIME AT THIS HOTEL”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Recently returned from another wonderful holiday in the best hotel in Mallorca, namely the Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar. The staff were very welcoming when we arrived this year, it is like going home. The hotel is spotlessly clean, as usual. This is the 8th time that we have been and will return next year for another two weeks of heaven. We cannot fault this hotel at all, and the amount of old friends that we met again there this year says it all. People keep going back, year after year. Jose, the manager is always very easy to speak to, and is always around...... I am sure he does not sleep..... The staff in every department are all so happy in their work, it is a pleasure to be with them. As for the Thomson entertainment reps, namely Adam and Sarah..... what can we say. Sarah is still learning and she is very good at her job, but ADAM, well....... HE IS A GEM.
THOMSON, PLEASE TAKE NOTE. Adam had everyone in fits of laughter all the time. He is exceptionally good at what he does. We really have missed him since we have been home. I do hope that we meet him again. Well done Adam for making our holiday such fun. Keep it up where ever you go in the future. I hope it is back to this hotel.... Thank you to Jose for allowing us to have our usual room again this year. It is little touches like that that make it such a wonderful hotel to come back to. We will see you all next year.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter that do not overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYELLA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location and wonderful views of the beach from our sea view balcony. We were a bit concerned when we first got to our room as it was right next to the lifts and we were worried about the noise but we didn't get disturbed once. First impressions of the room were a bit disappointing which we soon realised was just down to the colour of the bedding - it was 'orange' and seemed very dated with dark wood furnishings but we soon settled in and noticed the curtains, walls etc were all immaculate, just we didn't like the colour of the bedding. The kettle and mini fridge in the room was a bonus. We were disappointed we had to pay for the safe for a week which was unexpected in a Thomson Gold hotel and normally you can just programme a 4 digit number but this one you had to get a key from reception and leave a refundable deposit. All areas were cleaned daily including the pool itself which was one of the warmest pools I have been in for a long time. Great daily entertainment from Adam and Sarah and the rest of his team and it's the first holiday that I have managed to join in the aqua aerobics on most mornings which were great fun. Food was really good with a lot of choice and to a high standard. There was the usual rush in the morning at 7 am when the doors opened to the pool area to get a sun bed which was a shame but there are plenty of spare beds that you can get yourself from a stack of them and mattress covers. The evening professional entertainment we thought was very poor quality and listened mostly from our balcony. We would love to go again because the location is perfect with a great beach for snorkelling but we have always go AI and decided to try halfboard again and would only return if this hotel changed to AI. Nothing against the hotel and its staff etc just prefer All Inclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at this fabulous hotel, it was spotless, the food was excellent, great choice and piping hot,you can see why it get such high scores year after year. It is a quiet location with just 4 hotels, but you can catch a taxi outside the hotel to go to Peguira or Andrax if you fancied a change for about 6 euros each way.The evening entertainment was typical Thomson and could only be described as fair. The day time entertainment was really good and varied. A special mention to Adam and Sarah, who are both hilarious and who make a great team, we have never seen as many people enjoying the pool exercise, even the pool edge was full and guests were sitting bolt upright on the sunbeds enjoying the very entertaining Adam and Sarah antics. All the hotel staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, Jose the manager was very hands on and was very entertaining at the good bye meeting, the service was excellent from the bar to reception, the only drawback was the transfer from the airport to the hotel, we sat on the bus at the airport for 35 mins, then did numerous drop offs before arriving at our hotel 1 hour and 30 mins later (total 2 hours), a long drawn out journey, maybe do a taxi transfer next time. We will definitely return to this splendid hotel in 2 years time and would recommend it to all Thomson Gold travellers.

Room Tip: stayed on 4th floor sea view and was very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently returned again from the best hotel in Mallorca.It must be good for us to visit three times a year.We have stayed at hotels all over this island at different times of the year but for all round value this is unbeatable.From Jose,apart from being an excellant manager is a lovely person.All the staff work with the same can do ethic.The entertainment team especially Adam are very good.My wife is quite a fussy eater bit always finds something to eat.There has been subtle change in the menu over the years since we first visited,more leaner cuts of meat,more vegetable choice,diabetic and vegitarian diets catered for.We always use taxi transfers to and from the airport.If you have printed your boarding pass why haveyou got to be picked up 6-30 am for a 10-30 flight.We have breakfast,walk over to the taxi rank at 8-30 and still beat the coach transfer who traversed the south western part of Mallorca visiting hotels.As long as you are there an hour before the gate closes,no problem.Soon your boarding pass will be on your I phone.The Thomson reps still peddle the myth that you will be first in the queue at the airport.What they dont tell you that there is a two tier system in operation .For people with printed boarding passes they are fast tracked,everybody else bad luck.Coming back to the hotel.the building work that is going on will i believe enhance the overall ambience of the entire area.

Room Tip: e-mail to pick what floor you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sxj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our second visit to the camp de mar and we were not disappointed. We love Thomson Gold and this hotel must be in the best position ever. The views from our room were gorgeous. The food is superb so much choice and we could not meet better staff. The rooms were kept so clean and all the public areas were lovely. We joined in lots of games and could not fault Adam the entertainments rep. He made our holiday and we hope we meet up with him again.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and have to say that the service and hotel staff were great. The Thomson entertainment reps Adam and Sarah were second to none and kept us all going during the day and evening. The entertainment in the evening was excellent and varied. I would go back there next year and would recommend a stay there. ps the food was good too!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzziBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Exceptional service, staff are always friendly courteous and ready to help.

Food is wonderful and the vast variety caters for everybody’s needs.

Superb location and excellent facilities.

Thoroughly recommend will defiantly go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#10 of 52 in Peguera
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range: £89 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing