We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at this resort, our room was of a good size on the first floor with a large balcony overlooking the pool and sea, plenty of hanging and shelving space and a large bathroom kitted out with twin glass basins a brilliant shower and plenty of hot water. To our left we overlooked a building site, after my initial concerns this was not a problem as there was hardly any noise during our stay. Most of the time it was the outside entertainment that we heard the most!

The food was exceptional. Something to suit every taste, piping hot and replenished quickly. So much choice, the bread and butter pudding has to be the best I have ever tasted. At breakfast they seemed to be a bit short staffed at times at the egg station and the coffee was horrid all week and appeared to be somewhat stewed.

Not much to do just outside the hotel but ideal for much needed rest and relaxation for me. This was spoilt at times by the entertainment team who gave out regular over loud announcements around the pool area, and there was no escape from it as even on the beach you could hear him as it was amplified though the microphone. Too much for me! Although to be fair, many other guests seemed to enjoy the poolside antics.

This hotel is now the loudest one in the area. Oh and forgot about getting a sunbed until after 4pm unless you want to get up and queue up by the doors to the pool at 6am. Most of them are gone by 9.30am. For me though I preferred the beach, as the beds round the pool are somewhat crammed in.

Pool towels are changed for free on Monday Wednesday and Friday at reception. Free wifi. Free fridge. Safe 20 euros for a weeks’ hire however you do get 5 euros back at the end of your stay as this included a deposit of 5 euros.

The air conditioning was excellent throughout the hotel and our room was very comfortable. Coffee or Tea were priced at 2 euros and local lager 3.5 euros.

We had a drink at The Terrence Bar just across the road from the hotel for a change, but bear in mind it doesn’t open until 7.30 at night.

The hotel, staff and food are fabulous! I feel it’s the Thomson entertainment reps that let this hotel down. I would go back to this hotel because it’s hard to beat the location, food, staff and the lovely heated pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor in the older part of the hotel have larger balcony's and sunny until ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyjane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    372
    113
    22
    17
See reviews for
208
1,302
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from our 6th stay ay this excellant hotel. For a package holiday this Thomson one takes some beating from excellant travel agent to truoble free on time return flight.
The hotel and its location is superb - as a consequence if you want to relax, enjoy clean beds, have a varied and high quality food choice, deal with friendly staff and unwind - we believe this hotel is hard to beat.
You will see more details from other reviewers of the pros and cons of this hotel. For ourselves we simply say that its greatest strength is its consistency of quality. Over the years we have visited all aspects have proved consistently excellant, The hotel does not significantly improve year on year - it achieves that more difficult task of maintaining excellance over a lengthy period of time.
Already booked for next year. Keep up the good work Jose and your lovely team. (Love to Chris)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Before you go to this hotel you need to be happy that it is: British guests only, a Thomsons Gold hotel with 'entertainment' from 9.00am through to 11.00pm every day, relatively short on space for beds in the pool area resulting in an unseemly queue starting around 6.30 am waiting for the door to the pool area to be opened at 7.00am. (There is a good home video on utube taken in 2012 illustrating what happens at 7!) We booked this hotel on the strength of its quiet location and rating in the Thomson brochure without understanding what a 'Thomson Gold Hotel' meant in terms of entertainment. Also that this Grupotel would not take bookings direct from customers anywhere in the world, only from British bookings through Thomsons. We have been to many hotels offering daytime entertainment which you can take or leave and is unobtrusive to those who don't want it. In this hotel it is difficult to get away from the loud hourly daytime entertainment (Thomsons staff) without being off site. During our stay our fellow guests had plenty to say about this hotel and we had never been to a hotel which polarised opinion to such an extent. Quote 'If I had wanted to go to Butlins I would have gone to Butlins', 'It's worth getting up early to see the ants at 7.00'. For us and some of our fellow guests it was very easy to criticise the makeup of this hotel but equally it is possible to see that it provides a perfect holiday for some people. On the positive side its not the hotel that is the problem. It is excellent, in a beautiful location (some development going on at the moment but not too intrusive) with excellent staff and very good quality food. The bedroom was a little small and walls thin (our neighbours came on holiday to put the tv on) but more than adequate with excellent storage. If this was a 'normal' Spanish Hotel with a mix of nationalities, range of ages and an average level of entertainment I could not speak highly enough of what it offers. We did enjoy our holiday, going to Palma on the bus one day, catching the Palma to Soller train on another and taking the bus to Port d'Andratx for half a day. All worthwhile. On the 3 days we would normally have spent around the pool we hired sunbeds on the local beach which was fantastic with plenty of places to buy drinks and snacks for lunch and reminded us we were on Spanish soil. For after dinner cocktails try the Petit Bar alongside the beach. In Palma try cafe La Llonja for inexpensive tapas lunch (recommend the dates in bacon) and good beer/wine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Villan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights and really enjoyed our time away! The location is to die for with sensational views of the loveliest turquoise ocean, beautiful beaches and mountains. You are nestled between the hills therefore you do get the odd gust of winds (watch out for the flying umbrellas!!) But Camp De Mar is stunning. We particularly enjoyed visiting Cala Fornells as well as Port Andratx (lovely place but a bit too tre chic darling!) The staff were fabulous, service with a smile and attentive to your every need!

Our highlights were the quality of restaurant staff (Otumba, Oscar, Vivianna were the favourites) Food was great with a good selection, sometimes a bit on the oily side but just being picky! Wonderful atmosphere and just a fab place to unwind and soak up the sunshine. Downsides: Sleep! Or lack of! Doors do not shut quietly and people get up early for sunbeds.. there is no such thing as a lie in (even with earplugs) You can hear your neighbour's tv turn on and general noise if they are having a loud conversation! Pillows and beds are hard. Very uncomfortable, thankfully after reading reviews we decided to pack some of our own and they helped compensate the lack of comfort. Lovely showers but rooms lack a bit of flair, reception could also do with an update. Thomson Reps, you were chirpy, helpful and entertaining but I really felt the emphasis was on them far too much. From quizzes to games to evening entertainment, it was all a bit full on. We joined in a few of the games so we were up for it, but really difficult to read and relax properly when every hour there's an announcement and hate to say it but Adam, entertainment guru (bless you!) dominates and is very loud. I didn't go on holiday to be entertained, I went to relax. Adam is good at getting people involved and making people laugh but we could have done without the constant "I am the 2nd highest rated Thomson's entertainment rep in the world" comments. We enjoyed Sarah and she got the balance right, at times it felt like the Adam show. Also just to warn people that around the pool area, both in your room (if you have a sea view) and the sunbeds, the volume is too much at times. Hard to sleep before 11.30pm due to loud entertainment. Would suggest, moving the stage & entertainment to opposite side of pool.

All in all, we would go again but there are areas to be improved. Especially sleep quality and noise on the plus side the hotel itself, staff, food, location and cleanliness were quality. However would love to see more Spanish influences!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank belle133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Was recommended to this Hotel a Thompson Gold and we where not disappointed. Fantastic view from our balcony and the staff, food and rooms could not be faulted. Everything is spotless and nothing is to much trouble for the staff and management.We had a sea view room with a large balcony on the first floor and the views spectacular.
The only minor gripe I have is that the large pool area and sunbeds where taken up by "guests" who claimed squatters rights the instant the pool was opened at 07:00 hours by placing towels etc on the sunbeds and then wandering off leaving little opportunity for the likes of my wife and I to occupy at any time!. However the beach area 2 mins away is fantastic with ample room for our beach brolley, and as can be expected absolutely spotless.
Camp De Mar is a wonderful secluded bay, there are shops,bank and clothes shops, car and bicycle hire, taxi rank outside hotel and a excellent local bus service 5 mins away. We did venture to Port Andrax, Santa Peguera which you can walk to. We also enjoyed a trip to Palma.
Really enjoyed this holiday and we will deffinately be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor with fantastic sea view and large balcony. Only the first floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Returned home on July 1st from our third visit to this lovely hotel. As a couple we have been to most of the Gold hotels but this is definitely our favourite and we never fail to be impressed by the beautiful location, food and staff friendliness. This time our daughter came with us and also loved it. Three weeks before we arrived I emailed Jose the manager to ask for a high floor sea view room for us, which we got, and a decent single room for our daughter. She had a very nice high room overlooking the tennis courts/mountains, not overlooking the street which can get a bit noisy with regular coaches dropping off/picking up. Jose is always on hand to speak to you and deal with any problems and the Thomson animation staff Adam and Sarah are real gems and the best we have come across although the evening entertainment can be a little hit and miss. Once again we have had a wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel and will definitely be back. Thank you Jose and your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This Hotel is simply stunning, in a picturesque resort with fantastic staff.
I really cannot praise the hotel enough, clean, modern, free wifi, safe, fridge and pool towels.
Spoiled for choice of food in the excellent restaurant, bubbling hot choices and chilled salad selection. I did make a pig of myself every night, not knowing what to go for next with such a vast choice.
However Thompson themselves need to be brought to book. What has happened to customer service?
In all the years I have been with Thompson Gold we have watched the service diminish on a yearly basis to what is now annoying.
I don't do political correctness so if you are easily offended do not read any further.
I have a room in my head like that room 101 on telly, where everything in that room gets a gun and sent to a war zone to do something useful for our country.
Thompson Gold are going in that room.
We used to get met by a rep at the airport and guided to our coach, now we have to guess or ask the driver where he is going.
We used to be first drop off as we were Gold and entitled to extra benefits of paying more, now we are just another stop on route.
We used to get our bags taken into the hotel, now we have to carry our own..
We used to have some good entertainment in the evenings, The Spanish Beatles, ABBA, Beach boys and such like. Amusing good fun we could dance to.
Now we have the Camp entertainment, CAMP being the operative word.
We now have to suffer the poof at the pool every hour or so shouting over the mic and prancing around in a frock.
It seems to be a prerequisite to be Gay to be an entertainer, in my day it was illegal now they are a protected species and ramming it down my throat that I have to like their behaviour.
Room 101 for CAMP entertainment and that doesn't mean I want the plank at the piano either.

The hotel is fabulous and the building site next to it is quieter than the idiots employed to harass you at your leisure.

Room Tip: rooms 30 to 40 have a larger balcony and are bigger rooms. Yes there is a building site next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing