We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Agree with all the positive reviews regarding this hotel.

On the plus side - location, friendliness and efficiency of staff, cleanliness, quality of food, standard of accommodation, wonderful views, effective air conditioning, nice ambiance

Downsides - really none apart from personal preferences. Sun bed issues not a problem for us as we much prefer the beach. Agree with previous review that quality of evening entertainers definitely gone down; however we really enjoyed the comedian Tucker who was great.

Does the "perfect" hotel exist? Probably not, but at least everyone at this hotel tries really hard to make your experience as enjoyable as possible.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    404
    125
    22
    17
See reviews for
240
1,430
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this excellent hotel.this was our 8th time here and once again it did not disappoint us.
All of the staff are very friendly and very helpful and we cannot wait to return again.Also the daytime entertainment staff were the best that we had ever seen at the hotel especially Adam.The reps were also very good they were always about to chat,but not in your face,just right.
The only downside was thomsons.The transfer from the airport took nearly 2 hours after 8 drop offs.the reason we like booking early flights is to arrive at the hotel early.Then on departure day thomson could not tell us how many pick ups there would be on the way to the airport,but they wanted to pick us up over 4hrs before we were due to fly.We would have been picked up at 0630,so we ended up paying 50 euros for a taxi and not getting picked up until 0745.
But that aside it was a great holiday and thanks again to all at the hotel and will see you all again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mally39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well what can i say ... me and my mum have just came back from this amazing place and i will be definitely be returning next year or later this year again! The food was absolutely lovely and it was catered to everyone's choice, each evening there was always something different on the menu and always very tasty, there is no need to go to any other restaurants as the food was lush! The rooms were very clean and a sea view is a must as the view are out of this world waking up and looking out onto the sandy beach and seeing the sea was so dreamy. Maid service in the mornings were excellent they were always friendly and said hola every time we passed them and rooms were always lovely and clean when we arrived back from a hard days work laying around by the pool.The bar staff ... theses people were amazing and i have made some very good friends out of theses people, they made the entertainment as they were so friendly and happy and always had a smile on their face. On this holiday i felt very relaxed and at home and id say it has been the best place for this, its a place where you don't want to do a lot apart from strolls on the beach and putting your feet up on a sunbed. so to sum this holiday up id be returning very soon as i'm missing it so much already! thank you too all the people who worked there at the hotel and make it what it is , i shall be seeing you soon shortly! :)

Room Tip: make sure its a sea view .. our room was 110 and was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After reading the reviews of this hotel only after we had been, we were disappointed. The food was very good, especially the porridge. The Hotel was good too, nice bedrooms, lovely large shower cubicle with 2 shower heads in it, one at either end, one may be to wash feet only or hair as was low down?? I totally agree about the saving of sun beds, although there was a notice by the door asking not to save the sun beds it was not very prominent and not taken notice of. It was pathetic seeing people running, literally to save a bed at 7am. To be so close together and on the hot tiled ground I cannot understand people. Not sure the beach was any better as the whole resort smelt of sewerage! It was not a seaweed smell!! The resort itself was small a few shops. Local buses are reliable and on time to Palma or to next resorts. We walked into next town Port Andratx twice and back although hilly and along country twisting roads and up the hill opposite hotel, very steep but if you able to, get off the sunbeds and walk. The views are stunning, and so peaceful. We enjoyed the evening entertainment from 5th floor balcony. Not enough to do and could not recommend because of the smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at this resort, our room was of a good size on the first floor with a large balcony overlooking the pool and sea, plenty of hanging and shelving space and a large bathroom kitted out with twin glass basins a brilliant shower and plenty of hot water. To our left we overlooked a building site, after my initial concerns this was not a problem as there was hardly any noise during our stay. Most of the time it was the outside entertainment that we heard the most!

The food was exceptional. Something to suit every taste, piping hot and replenished quickly. So much choice, the bread and butter pudding has to be the best I have ever tasted. At breakfast they seemed to be a bit short staffed at times at the egg station and the coffee was horrid all week and appeared to be somewhat stewed.

Not much to do just outside the hotel but ideal for much needed rest and relaxation for me. This was spoilt at times by the entertainment team who gave out regular over loud announcements around the pool area, and there was no escape from it as even on the beach you could hear him as it was amplified though the microphone. Too much for me! Although to be fair, many other guests seemed to enjoy the poolside antics.

This hotel is now the loudest one in the area. Oh and forgot about getting a sunbed until after 4pm unless you want to get up and queue up by the doors to the pool at 6am. Most of them are gone by 9.30am. For me though I preferred the beach, as the beds round the pool are somewhat crammed in.

Pool towels are changed for free on Monday Wednesday and Friday at reception. Free wifi. Free fridge. Safe 20 euros for a weeks’ hire however you do get 5 euros back at the end of your stay as this included a deposit of 5 euros.

The air conditioning was excellent throughout the hotel and our room was very comfortable. Coffee or Tea were priced at 2 euros and local lager 3.5 euros.

We had a drink at The Terrence Bar just across the road from the hotel for a change, but bear in mind it doesn’t open until 7.30 at night.

The hotel, staff and food are fabulous! I feel it’s the Thomson entertainment reps that let this hotel down. I would go back to this hotel because it’s hard to beat the location, food, staff and the lovely heated pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor in the older part of the hotel have larger balcony's and sunny until ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyjane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from our 6th stay ay this excellant hotel. For a package holiday this Thomson one takes some beating from excellant travel agent to truoble free on time return flight.
The hotel and its location is superb - as a consequence if you want to relax, enjoy clean beds, have a varied and high quality food choice, deal with friendly staff and unwind - we believe this hotel is hard to beat.
You will see more details from other reviewers of the pros and cons of this hotel. For ourselves we simply say that its greatest strength is its consistency of quality. Over the years we have visited all aspects have proved consistently excellant, The hotel does not significantly improve year on year - it achieves that more difficult task of maintaining excellance over a lengthy period of time.
Already booked for next year. Keep up the good work Jose and your lovely team. (Love to Chris)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Before you go to this hotel you need to be happy that it is: British guests only, a Thomsons Gold hotel with 'entertainment' from 9.00am through to 11.00pm every day, relatively short on space for beds in the pool area resulting in an unseemly queue starting around 6.30 am waiting for the door to the pool area to be opened at 7.00am. (There is a good home video on utube taken in 2012 illustrating what happens at 7!) We booked this hotel on the strength of its quiet location and rating in the Thomson brochure without understanding what a 'Thomson Gold Hotel' meant in terms of entertainment. Also that this Grupotel would not take bookings direct from customers anywhere in the world, only from British bookings through Thomsons. We have been to many hotels offering daytime entertainment which you can take or leave and is unobtrusive to those who don't want it. In this hotel it is difficult to get away from the loud hourly daytime entertainment (Thomsons staff) without being off site. During our stay our fellow guests had plenty to say about this hotel and we had never been to a hotel which polarised opinion to such an extent. Quote 'If I had wanted to go to Butlins I would have gone to Butlins', 'It's worth getting up early to see the ants at 7.00'. For us and some of our fellow guests it was very easy to criticise the makeup of this hotel but equally it is possible to see that it provides a perfect holiday for some people. On the positive side its not the hotel that is the problem. It is excellent, in a beautiful location (some development going on at the moment but not too intrusive) with excellent staff and very good quality food. The bedroom was a little small and walls thin (our neighbours came on holiday to put the tv on) but more than adequate with excellent storage. If this was a 'normal' Spanish Hotel with a mix of nationalities, range of ages and an average level of entertainment I could not speak highly enough of what it offers. We did enjoy our holiday, going to Palma on the bus one day, catching the Palma to Soller train on another and taking the bus to Port d'Andratx for half a day. All worthwhile. On the 3 days we would normally have spent around the pool we hired sunbeds on the local beach which was fantastic with plenty of places to buy drinks and snacks for lunch and reminded us we were on Spanish soil. For after dinner cocktails try the Petit Bar alongside the beach. In Palma try cafe La Llonja for inexpensive tapas lunch (recommend the dates in bacon) and good beer/wine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Villan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing