We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gruphotel camp de mar The best we have visited bar none”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“gruphotel camp de mar The best we have visited bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just completed our third stay at this outstanding Thomson gold hotel in Mallorca -the hotel remains the best we have visited - with the best management, best food , and friendliest staff who clearly enjoy working there and that sets the tone for the whole holiday. This is a happy hotel with people who go the extra mile to make you feel important and welcome.
There is a lot of rubbish reported about sun loungers at this hotel -there are plenty of beds and shades-however if you want a particular bed in a particular position that is why you see some people behaving shall we say like Ariens!
I have to give to special mention to the two super entertainments staff Adam and Sarah they are to all intents and purposes the face of Thomson and the hotel -they also do a fantastic job- Friendly - funny and enthusuastic and Sarah can actually sing very well!
Finally I would like to say how much we enjoyed the The 4 performances from the Thomson production team--Katie and Lisa are stars in the making.
Finally if Otto in the dining room had been managed to be as professional as everyone else then the score here would be perfect however some of his comments made my wife very uncomfortable. That notwithstanding the other staff are FANTASTIC and i cant praise them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    372
    113
    22
    17
See reviews for
209
1,304
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was amazing. Situated on a bay ,mountains on either side. Pool overlooked the beach and sea. It was beautiful. Hotel room was sufficient as we booked late and was the last one. It was overlooking a building site. Had we booked early we would of had an amazing view. Rooms were cleaned every day. Hotel service facilities and staff were excellent as we're the hotel staff courteous and friendly. Alan, Sarah and the other reps were brilliant and funny. The entertainment that the hotel put on every nite was so very good you just did'nt want to miss it. During our stay it was my birthday the management sent card, bubbly, and to glasses to our room. Lovely touch! SonaMar diner and show is a must to visit, brilliant night!! The area around the hotel is small but local buses or taxi always at hand. We would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't leave it late to book and get a sea view it also takes in pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Returned back to the Camp de Mar Hotel for the 4th time. Once again it did not disappoint. We have been there on 3 occasions during October, over the last 7 years. however, it was my husbands 60th birthday last week so we decided to go in July to celebrate. I have to say the hotel
gets better and better.
This time we booked a suite and it did not disappoint. We had a walk in closet with mirror and little lights with enough room for our luggage. A lounge area with balcony, sliding doors that went into the bedroom with slippers, robes, tea, coffee, milk in our fridge which was replenished daily. We also had another balcony from the bedroom. Our bathroom had a bath and shower and also a walk in shower with the 2 basins etc. I would recommend a suite. We also had lovely flowers in our room.
I am only going to repeat what the other reviewers have stated but we will definitely go back.

My mum came with us and she had a single room which was lovely and the staff made my mother feel special. A big thank you to Adam and Sarah the entertainment reps and a very big thank you to the restaurant manager and Mike who made my husbands birthday special as a surprise.

What a fabulous hotel, staff, food and location, everything. Thank you and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceri008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday at Camp De Mar, and we had a brilliant 10 day break. The hotel itself is superb, we couldn't fault it at all. The manager, Jose, runs the hotel like a well-oiled machine. Our room was spotless on arrival and cleaned thoroughly every day. My wife and i were both very impressed with the size, lay-out and comfort of the room, and the view accross the bay was stunning. The restaurant, too, was well organised, air conditioned, spacious, and the food was the best we've experienced at any hotel abroad.
The evening entertainment, on the whole, was very good, we particularly enjoyed the Thomson team doing the musicals and 'halfway to paradise'. Adam and Sarah did a great job keeping the entertainment and activities going during the day, and, although we didn't always join in, we never found it intrusive.
The hotel, however, is a bit isolated, and we weren't able to go for a stroll on an evening as we would normally do on holiday, as there is nowhere to walk to! This, however, didn't stop us from walking during the day, as we walked to Peguera twice (about 30 mins) and also to Port d'Andratx (about 1 hour). We also caught the local bus to Santa Ponsa, which was an experience in itself! Another thing we really enjoyed was the paella and sangria demonstration organised by Chris and demonstrated by some of the staff.
A lot of reviews mention the 'sunbed rush' at 7am, and we witnessed this a few times from our balcony! In fact, on our last morning we had to go for breakfast at 6am due to an early transfer to the airport, and were shocked (and disgusted) to see that people had already placed their towels in a neat line at the door so that the towels could 'reserve' their place in the queue! Come on, guys, you seriously need to get a life. There are over 200 sunbeds, and no matter what time of day we went to the pool, we never had a problem finding free beds.
All in all, we had a great holiday and would definately go back sometime in the future. Thanks, again to Jose and all his staff and to the Thomson reps and entertainment team, you do a wonderful job, keep it up!

Room Tip: choose a room on the 5th or 6th floor for the best view accross the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were looking for a quiet restful week just lazing about and that is exactly what we got. We have been to quite a number of Thomson Gold hotels and not been disappointed but this was the best hotel for just about everything, reps / entertainment team, hotel staff service, facilities, room, restaurant and food were excellent, nothing was ever too much trouble to anyone! The best thing I would say is we would definitely return to this hotel!
Bryan S.

Room Tip: Pool / sea facing rooms are best! You cannot beat that view first thing on a morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked our holiday at The Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar on-line with Thompson and as we were looking to go at short notice, I had to rely on the Trip Advisor reviews and the Thompson description.
We had a fantastic week at this lovely, well kept hotel. Thompson delivered everything they promised and I would definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great holiday, will go there again as the staff are so friendly .the hotel is kept very clean and tidy.
The food is the best we have had, lots to choose from. the bedrooms are large and comfortable.Adam & Sarah the entertainment teem were excellent, all the other Reps are very helpful.This was the 3rd time we have been to this hotel.The manager is also very friendly and you can talk to him any time.We think this is the best Gold Hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
43.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
6.7 mi away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing