We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having booked this two week family holiday in February, I read the reviews on this hotel almost daily and I have to say that with regard to the hotel, rooms, location, staff and food, I agree with them all, absolutely first class. The entertainment team also work very hard, but you are not forced into joining in anything, which was great. The so call 'loud music' around the pool only lasts for 20 minutes during the aerobics session, so I cannot understand how people could complain about this at all - still you can't please everyone! The nightly entertainment was very good and it was delightful sitting outside in the evenings, watching the sun setting, with a drink served by the very pleasant and friendly waiters. It was sad to see so many people out at 7am to 'save' their sun loungers and on many occasions, these were not even occupied until much later in the day - very selfish indeed. There are plenty to go around everyone. One thing that did disappoint a little was that the beach was smaller than expected and absolutely packed. This was not a great problem as we could easily just pop down to the beach in our swimming costumes for a couple of minutes and leave everything else at the hotel. We went to the market in Andratx on both Wednesday mornings, which is worth a visit if you want a change of scenery. We also went to Port d'Andratx twice, which is very picturesque and also to Paguera, which has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants for those of you looking for something a little more lively. The bus service to these towns is very reliable and cheap. For the more adventurous among you, they are within walking distance, but take sturdy shoes and plenty of water to drink as it is incredibly hot up in the hills/woods at this time of year. An absolutely delightful place to stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoJo652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    403
    124
    22
    17
See reviews for
240
1,428
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second holiday at this hotel and the standards are very high. The food in the restaurant is the best of any gold hotels we have been too. Our favourite member of staff in the restaurant was Otumba, who made you feel special. The twin sea view room we had overlooking the pool was lovely, plenty of wardrobe space, flat screen tv, coffee/tea making facilities, free fridge. The safe cost 35 euros for the fortnight and you got 5 euros back. Bathroom had his and hers basins, a very large walk in shower. My son stayed in a single limited sea view room, the room exceeded our expectations and had a much bigger balcony than ours! People had mentioned on tripadvisor that these rooms could be noisy with the coaches, but my son said it was quiet. The hosts Adam and Sarah were fantastic. Adam is one of the best gold hosts we have had and Sarah has the most amazing singing voice. We were disappointed in the Production Team, the shows were very poor, found them to be very amateurish. Wished Thomson would just bring in outside acts. The best entertainment was Bobby Alexander, soul/motown singer and had everybody up dancing. Abba was good, so was Swahilly, Tina Turner and The Sundaes. Killer Queen was poor. There was a comedian one evening that was ok. We found the drinks to be a bit on the expensive side. Just a word of warning, please check you bill if you have something to eat at the poolside café. We were overcharged a couple of times. The hotel is in a stunning bay, with fantastic views. We were disappointed with Thomson for not warning us that they are building apartments next to the hotel, there were 3 cranes, cement mixers, drilling going on while we were there. Every now and again you got a whiff of a sewerage smell which seems to come off the beach. This hasn't put us off and will definitely be returning to the Playa Camp de Mar in the future. As I said before, I think this is one of the best gold hotels we have been to.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must, the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just completed our third stay at this outstanding Thomson gold hotel in Mallorca -the hotel remains the best we have visited - with the best management, best food , and friendliest staff who clearly enjoy working there and that sets the tone for the whole holiday. This is a happy hotel with people who go the extra mile to make you feel important and welcome.
There is a lot of rubbish reported about sun loungers at this hotel -there are plenty of beds and shades-however if you want a particular bed in a particular position that is why you see some people behaving shall we say like Ariens!
I have to give to special mention to the two super entertainments staff Adam and Sarah they are to all intents and purposes the face of Thomson and the hotel -they also do a fantastic job- Friendly - funny and enthusuastic and Sarah can actually sing very well!
Finally I would like to say how much we enjoyed the The 4 performances from the Thomson production team--Katie and Lisa are stars in the making.
Finally if Otto in the dining room had been managed to be as professional as everyone else then the score here would be perfect however some of his comments made my wife very uncomfortable. That notwithstanding the other staff are FANTASTIC and i cant praise them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was amazing. Situated on a bay ,mountains on either side. Pool overlooked the beach and sea. It was beautiful. Hotel room was sufficient as we booked late and was the last one. It was overlooking a building site. Had we booked early we would of had an amazing view. Rooms were cleaned every day. Hotel service facilities and staff were excellent as we're the hotel staff courteous and friendly. Alan, Sarah and the other reps were brilliant and funny. The entertainment that the hotel put on every nite was so very good you just did'nt want to miss it. During our stay it was my birthday the management sent card, bubbly, and to glasses to our room. Lovely touch! SonaMar diner and show is a must to visit, brilliant night!! The area around the hotel is small but local buses or taxi always at hand. We would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't leave it late to book and get a sea view it also takes in pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Returned back to the Camp de Mar Hotel for the 4th time. Once again it did not disappoint. We have been there on 3 occasions during October, over the last 7 years. however, it was my husbands 60th birthday last week so we decided to go in July to celebrate. I have to say the hotel
gets better and better.
This time we booked a suite and it did not disappoint. We had a walk in closet with mirror and little lights with enough room for our luggage. A lounge area with balcony, sliding doors that went into the bedroom with slippers, robes, tea, coffee, milk in our fridge which was replenished daily. We also had another balcony from the bedroom. Our bathroom had a bath and shower and also a walk in shower with the 2 basins etc. I would recommend a suite. We also had lovely flowers in our room.
I am only going to repeat what the other reviewers have stated but we will definitely go back.

My mum came with us and she had a single room which was lovely and the staff made my mother feel special. A big thank you to Adam and Sarah the entertainment reps and a very big thank you to the restaurant manager and Mike who made my husbands birthday special as a surprise.

What a fabulous hotel, staff, food and location, everything. Thank you and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceri008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday at Camp De Mar, and we had a brilliant 10 day break. The hotel itself is superb, we couldn't fault it at all. The manager, Jose, runs the hotel like a well-oiled machine. Our room was spotless on arrival and cleaned thoroughly every day. My wife and i were both very impressed with the size, lay-out and comfort of the room, and the view accross the bay was stunning. The restaurant, too, was well organised, air conditioned, spacious, and the food was the best we've experienced at any hotel abroad.
The evening entertainment, on the whole, was very good, we particularly enjoyed the Thomson team doing the musicals and 'halfway to paradise'. Adam and Sarah did a great job keeping the entertainment and activities going during the day, and, although we didn't always join in, we never found it intrusive.
The hotel, however, is a bit isolated, and we weren't able to go for a stroll on an evening as we would normally do on holiday, as there is nowhere to walk to! This, however, didn't stop us from walking during the day, as we walked to Peguera twice (about 30 mins) and also to Port d'Andratx (about 1 hour). We also caught the local bus to Santa Ponsa, which was an experience in itself! Another thing we really enjoyed was the paella and sangria demonstration organised by Chris and demonstrated by some of the staff.
A lot of reviews mention the 'sunbed rush' at 7am, and we witnessed this a few times from our balcony! In fact, on our last morning we had to go for breakfast at 6am due to an early transfer to the airport, and were shocked (and disgusted) to see that people had already placed their towels in a neat line at the door so that the towels could 'reserve' their place in the queue! Come on, guys, you seriously need to get a life. There are over 200 sunbeds, and no matter what time of day we went to the pool, we never had a problem finding free beds.
All in all, we had a great holiday and would definately go back sometime in the future. Thanks, again to Jose and all his staff and to the Thomson reps and entertainment team, you do a wonderful job, keep it up!

Room Tip: choose a room on the 5th or 6th floor for the best view accross the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were looking for a quiet restful week just lazing about and that is exactly what we got. We have been to quite a number of Thomson Gold hotels and not been disappointed but this was the best hotel for just about everything, reps / entertainment team, hotel staff service, facilities, room, restaurant and food were excellent, nothing was ever too much trouble to anyone! The best thing I would say is we would definitely return to this hotel!
Bryan S.

Room Tip: Pool / sea facing rooms are best! You cannot beat that view first thing on a morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing