We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Norton, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've been to this hotel 6 times now and every time the standard is as good or better than the last. I unfortunately needed to spend 5 days in hospital during my holiday, When I returned, I was on a strict no fat diet for my liver problem. The chef at the hotel offered to cook me anything I wanted if I could not find anything in their extensive buffet. The staff are friendly, cheerful and polite. Many have been their for years and have no desire to leave. To help with the usual idiots on holiday who reserve beds in the early hours of the morning, they now open the doors and restaurant an hour earlier. There is no need to reserve beds as there are plenty to go round. The 2 Thomson's reps were enthusiastic and friendly - one was a better singer than the resident duo singer and did her won cabaret act. .The entertainment was pretty poor but that's Thomson's cutbacks. I'm going there again next year!

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the pool and sea are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flautist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    372
    113
    22
    17
See reviews for
209
1,302
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to Jose and all the staff, especially Oscar and Mika, who made our stay so magical. We cant wait to come back to you all. What a fantastic hotel! The food was delicious;so fresh and with
lots of choice everydaY. The entertainment was good with Sarah and Adam giving us laughs every night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Geoff and I have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Grupatel Playa Camp De Mar. The resident group VIVO were brilliant. Alex is a brilliant keyboard player and was a perfect musician playing for Julie who had a lovely versatile voice. The range of songs was extraordinary, I don't think they repeated one song in the eleven days we were there. Alex also sang a few songs and accompanied Julie beautifully with great sensitivity to her vocal range enabling her to take centre stage. What a professionally duo. We can't praise the bar staff, hotel staff and entertainment team enough. They made sure we all had a fantastic holiday. The location, food and accommodation are splendid and therefore we have already booked to go back for our 7th visit. Thank you Hosay and his wonderful team. Jenny and Geoff Eaton

Room Tip: Sea view makes the holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singer632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My partner & I have just returned from another fantastic holiday in Camp de Mar. We thought this year we would try the Grupotel Playa as opposed to staying in an apartment as my family have stayed there for a number of years and always return giving rave reviews. I can now understand why they have encouraged us to book the hotel this year. Our stay in this hotel was amazing. I wish to comment firstly on the staff at this hotel. Jose, the manager, is not sitting in an office somewhere but makes himself available and mingles throughout the day and night with staff and guests and is readily available to answer any questions you may have or is just happy to have a friendly chat with you. His staff, on reception, at the pool bars/bar, in the dining room and the girls cleaning the rooms are a credit to him. We are on first name terms with most of them and they make you feel so welcome and give a first class service, thanks to you all for making our holiday so special. The hotel itself is spotless and our room was lovely, with a spacious balcony and the bathroom was very modern with an amazing power shower. The food in the hotel was first class with many choices of starters, main courses and sweets and it would be impossible not to find something that you liked. The breakfast is amazing also. The Thomson reps were readily available also and very friendly. I cannot fault this hotel and am looking forward to returning again in the future. Camp de Mar is the place to be if you are looking for a chilled, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KMeikle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights following our med cruise. We were made very welcome by the lady on reception and shown to our room by a pleasant member of staff too. It was a gala night in the restaurant on our first night and "WOW" what a feast they put on, it was amazing. All the food and entertainment was very good, especially the Sundaes (girl group) on our last night. They were oversize ladies with beautiful voices and were very entertaining. Can not fault he hotel at all and would definitely return here. However, our stay was compromised somewhat with the building site right next to the hotel. Some guy smashing rsj's with a lump hammer was particularly annoying and the other usual jack hammer and drills were not pleasant either. We were not informed by Thomson prior to arrival nor at the welcome meeting we attended. We could not sit out on our balcony or even have the window/ doors open without the racket resounding into the room. This was a shame as the hotel and staff are wonderful. Just be aware that if you book this hotel this year you're stay is likely to be compromised by this sadly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room towards the front of the hotel, that way you will be less troubled by the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were somewhat anxious on arriving at the hotel as we have spent the last few years holidaying at a small boutique hotel, and were not sure that a larger chain hotel would match our happy experiences at this hotel.

What a great relief and surprise to find that the hotel was absolutely perfect . We had a great room with a clear sea view ( as paid for), and the room and furniture and fittings were spotless and in great condition.

The air conditioning in the room also worked perfectly and was quiet.

The public areas were also superbly appointed and again spotlessly clean.

Next big concern was the restaurant and food, where again we needn't have worried as the selection of food was great, with all tastes catered for from local tapas dishes to foods from across Europe and beyond.

The restaurant staff were all very helpful and all seemed very happy in their work, laughing with each other as well as the guests which made for a great ambience.

The staff attitude started from the very top, with the Manager Jose often to be seen all over the hotel, taking a sincere interest in his guests and team.

The resort is very quiet, so don't expect a wild night scene, but the on sight entertainment was above average with some great shows put on by professional acts and also by the Thompson production team.

Adam and Sarah, the Thompson entertainment team were superb and Adam should be presenting on TV where he could teach some of the current presenters a thing or two on getting a crowd behind him. Sarah has a fantastic singing voice which she get's the opportunity to show every 2 weeks, and you really do need to see her to appreciate how good she is.

It can be a bit of a bun fight for the best sun beds, with people queuing for the doors to be opened at 0.700 to race to reserve their beds in the best spot. However there were always beds available and there doesn't seem to be a solution to this age old problem, so we didn't let it spoil things.

What was annoying though, was the number of guests who took 2 mattresses for their beds despite notices telling them not to, which left some beds without. No accounting for some peoples selfishness, and this is the only fault I would find with the hotel staff, where they did not enforce their own rule on this.

Overall, a superb hotel and the fact that we spoke to so many people who had returned year after year ( one lady was on her 16th consecutive visit)! speaks volumes for the quality.

Room Tip: Just pay for a sea view and you can't go wrong. We had room 338 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The holiday was just what we wanted, quiet (no screaming children) and relaxing. Camp der mar is a small, quiet resort. However, there are nice places to eat and have a cocktail or two! The beach is 1 minute away from the hotel, it does get busy but you could always sunbathe by the pool. The hotel itself was really nice, we had a small room but it was fine for what we needed. The staff were very friendly, food was plentiful and the entertainment was fun. It might not be everyone's cup of tea but it was inoffensive and you don't have to join in if you don't want to. We would certainly go again when we want sunshine, good food and a more chilled out holiday. Thank you to all at playa camp der mar for making our holiday a perfect one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
#2 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
6.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing