We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Real(Camp De Mar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Don Antonio(Peguera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,097)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveller rating
1,494
429
130
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,494
429
130
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager josethomson goldthomson repssea viewevening entertainmentgold hotelsanta ponsapool areaquiet resortrelaxing holidaybeautiful baykettle and cupsyear after yearproduction teamthe hotel manageraverage ageanother wonderful holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,991 - 1,996 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

First time at this hotel and one of the best Thomson Gold hotels - as indicated in the reception area with numerous awards! Couldn't fault anything in hotel as everyone bent over backwards to ensure that everyone was happy. Some people moaned about the location - not a lot to do in Camp de Mar, but most seemed to spend entire holiday relaxing by the pool - just as you should to chill out!
We did venture to Paguera by 10 minute taxi where the beach is superb and, altogether, a more busy resort with shops that are same as everywhere in Majorca - gifts, clothes, perfumes and an abundance of restaurants!
Hotel manager ( Jose ) often in attendance to ensure that everything runs like clockwork!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennySlogget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Just returned from a two week stay at the Playa Camp De Mar and can recommend it if what you want is a quiet, relaxing holiday in a beautiful location. It is certainly an exclusive resort, with many celebrities reputedly living there, though we didn't see any of them.

A lot of the reviews on this site seem to give the impression that the hotel caters only for older people of 70 +. This is just not true. during the time we were there, there were many young couples in their twenties/thirties who all seemed to be having a good time. There were also a few families with grown children staying there.

The food was of varied quality and choice. Pork was on the menu in one form or another every single night we were there. If you don't like pork, then on some nights there was little else that looked appetising. Breakfasts were superb though as were the deserts in the evening. The bread and butter pudding was something to die for!

We have stayed in many Gold hotels over the last ten tears or so and have always found the quality of the entertainment to be good. This time though, we felt that the entertainment was quite poor overall. The first week was reminiscent of the type of entertainment associated with Hi-de-hi. It was much improved the second week, but still not up to the usual Gold standard. Becky and Rachael, the entertainment reps were not in any way to blame for this, they did their best with total commitment and enthusiasm. They were lovely girls, full of energy and kept us laughing at their attempts at pronunciation of difficult words.

We didn't see the race for the sunbeds each morning, We prefer to stay in our night beds until a reasonable hour. We were on holiday after all. But we never had any problem in getting a sunbed or sunshade on any day that we were there. There were plenty to go around and plenty of space to place them. The hotel do rigidly enforce the 10.30 rule, so if you are not actually lying on your sunbed at that time, be warned, your towels will be removed.

As stated in other reviews, the entire hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and Jose the manager was always around. At the farewell party on the day before we left, he came to say goodbye to all who were leaving, which we thought was a nice touch. Something we have never seen before.

As other people have said, the transfer back to the airport on leaving was horrendous, with a total of 8 different pick up points. If you can stretch to it, book a taxi transfer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location overlooking the beautiful cove.

The food is of a good standard but does not fully cater for non meat/fish eaters. A lot of variety.

The management have decide to enforce a strange sun bed rulling. It is ok to reserve your sun bed at 7am, would you believe over 75 beds taken before 7:05! but if you put your towel on a sun bed at 10:15 then do not return by 10:30 your belongings and towels are removed!! The reps were not interested in helping us with this dilema

The entertainment was of poor standard and was too loud.

The bar staff are friendly, the drinks are reasonably priced.

Beware, sometimes your bedroom towels will be folded neatly and not replaced!

As a couple just heading for 50 we were amazed at the ages of the residents, average age approx 75.

20 euro cheaper to hire a car direct with hotel, not through Thomson reps

The coach drops you off first but be aware you are first pick up then collect from 8 hotels, airport via Santa Ponsa and Magaluf, journey took over hour and a half, suggest a shared taxi at 45 euro. Thought Gold would have meant this would have been a direct transfer, saw some very dodgy hotels on our journey!

Lady on reception is unfriendly, when we asked for a reciept for our bar bill she was most rude!

Pool is wonderful, hotel provides floatation 'tubes' as water is deep in places.


However the plus side of the hotel was no screaming kids, a wonderful pool, beautiful warm sea, a marvellous holiday despite some issues.


Would we use a Thomson Gold hotel again? Got no choice if we want to have a child free holiday.

Added info: sun beds on main beach 3 euros each, 3 euros for umberella, sun beds on beach near AI hotel 3euros each umberella free!

Marvellous bar: petit bar just mins from sea, very ethnic

The Island, beautiful bar jutting out to sea

Take your snorkel, lots of underwater life to see.

Limited shopping, not too touristy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This is the 3rd year running we have stayed at this hotel for out anual holiday.

THE HOTEL AND STAFF.
Absolutly 1st class.Jose the manager,Paco the bar amanger and all the staff do everything in their power to make your holiday with them enjoyable.The rooms are spotless,the air con works well and even the TV has Sky sports and English channels if you want them.
The food is varied and of excellent quality.The bar prices are about the same as at home.E3:20 for a pint of 5% lager and E2:80 for a large glass of quality wine.
The pool area is clean with plenty of sunbeds and shaded.(You dont have to join the 08:30 rush to find one.)There is a poolside snack bar and another cafe bar through the gate overlooking the bay.This is lovely in the evening to enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down.Use reception to change travelers cheques as its "no commission" but the bank outside does charge.The supermarket under the hotel next to the chemist is the cheapest.The is another one up the hill near to a bakers shop and duty free booze shop.Dont use the one on the beach...its a rip off.

THOMPSONS
Oh dear! The 2 entertainment girls work hard and are very pleasant but dont seem to understand that the average age of the holidaymakers is about 60.There is always some kind of noisy game going on from the poolside during the day and the outside entertainment from the end of June is far too lound.
There are 3 reps at the hotel,only 1 of which (April) seems to be genuinly interested in your needs.
Your return journey to the airport will be a nightmare,especially if its the 07:10 Tuesday morning coach.8 pickups on the way through Santa Ponsa,Magaluff and somewhere else and 3 planes all taking off to Manchester within 10 mins meant that we almost missed out flight due to chaos at the check ins.Reps at the airport were useless.

All in all,i would recommend this hotel to everyone but dont build your hopes up if you have a problem because Thompsons couldnt care less.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulnKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

If you are looking for a beautiful relaxing get away then look no further . this is a treasure ! and no its not full of o a p at all ! and lets remember we will be that age one day and won't be happy to read reviews that slag our ages ! food wonderful ! so much choice and plenty of it . service very good and special touches like a free bottle of bubbly left in our room to celebrate our wedding anniversary . the whole place is very clean and i don't fully agree it needs updating . but of course routine things always need doing and it appears this hotel does just that to a very good standard . rooms are nice size. air con works well and balcony is lovely but try and get a sea view like we did . amazing ! i could go on for ages but if feel free to mail me if you require any more convincing . ill end with few bits of advice . kettles are in room plus cups . great fridge with room. 5 liters water for just over a euro in local spa shop . oh and pool is lovely ! i would happily return and fully recommend .

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IAN37Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews