We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This Thomson Gold adults only hotel is brilliant. Excellent food, spotlessly clean, a very well managed hotel, pool towels provided, everything has been thought about. The Manager is often present making sure everything is being done properly. Hubby and I went with our daughter and her boyfriend our ages ranged from 21 to 50 and we all had a great holiday. It is not a very busy resort, but taxi's and cheap bus's are available for short journeys to nearby busier towns should you wish. The sea is crystal clear with pedaloes available, with sunbeds etc on the beach which is literally a few yards from the hotel. Lovely sand and small fish swim in the sea. Thoroughly recomment it ! If you get chance go and see "Come fly with me" show - it's fantastic.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank debs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
There are newer reviews for Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,913 - 1,919 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just returned from this hotel and totally disagree about mostley old people although 60% were in their sixties the others were younger and there were many families with older children and even a wedding party.Yes we have been here many times before because the views are stunning as its a little quite bay with many yachts visting for the day.The hotel food is on a par to a cruise and the rooms are big enouth for what you need and spotless.The staff are happy and friendly and the two girls doing the day time
entertainment were excellent,as for the night time entertainment well all I can say is you
cant please all the people all of the time, some nights were really good and some nights were not, but surely thats the same where ever you go.We only had one complaint and that was the return transfere which was a nightmare WHY because we had eight pickups
and some were in Magaluf and these youngsters were drunk and swearing and there was no rep on board till last pick up.I have complained to Thomson about this every year to
no avail so infuture it will be a taxi back to airport.We do about eight trips a year and this
is one of the best hotels we have been to so ignore the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I am 54 and my partner 47, but we were the youngest apart from one or two, the whole time we were there. The hotel is completely geared up for the 'older' UK traveller, who return year on year. The hotel is looking a bit tired and could to with being smartened up, although the staff were all helpful and pleasant. We were also allocated a room at the back of the hotel, without a view, although it had a small balcony. We foolishly didn't realise that a room with a balcony did not come with a sea view. And could not upgrade as we were told by the constantly smiling reps that the hotel was full.

The day we left we experienced the older generation out in force at 6.45am claiming and re arranging the sunbeds in milatary fashion by the pool. Everyday there are 'pool games' designed for the elderly. Its a bit worrying how we regress into childhood the older we all get. As youngsters, we sat on the beach most days or hired a car to explore the lovely island of Majorca. Soller, and Fornalutx are well worth a visit.

The food was good although the small Spanish tapas section was totally ignored in favour of dishes like sheperds pie and brussel sprouts that were devoured every night. The guy that was on duty at the tapas section thanked us like old friends when we continued to eat from this unused section of the restuarant. The restuarant is a buffet service and gets really manic at certain times due to the amount of people aimlessly wandering about looking for their sprouts. it had the feeling of shopping in Morrisons on pension day. However, when they had all left to enjoy/endure the evening entertainment it was a quite a pleasant experience despite the staff rushing to clear up and go home and describe the brussel sprouts to their family.

I think the resident duo were called Evolution, but would be better described as Extradition, because they should have been extradited, they were that bad. The young woman of the duo was pretty average but tried hard. Whereas the older overweight man was exceedingly unfunny unless you were over 80, although most of the audience were. He really fancied himself as an entertainer, but didn't even hang about to witness the old pro Sid Little who was also appearing on one of the evenings, and was quite amusing (amazingly).
So, in a nutshell. If your over 75 don't like foreign food, and like kiddies games without any kids to spoil your fun. This is the place for you. We have booked to return in 2030.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Grupotel Camp de Mar is offered as a package holiday exclusively to UK customers through Thomson via their Gold programme. This is an ‘adults only’ programme so -no kids and families. Yippee!

The location is stunning. A beautiful south-facing horseshoe bay in a very quiet resort on the southwest coast of the island. The busier resort of Peguera is about 5-10 minutes away by car/taxi or a short bus ride and the town of Andratx –and Port Andratx is a little (but not much) further away.
The hotel is very good. Our rooms were clean and spacious enough for two people with a great sea view. Rooms are cleaned each day. We heard that people booking double bedded rooms were allocated to the front and side of the hotel and these rooms were much smaller, noiser and with little or no view. The only gripe for us was that our bathroom was in need of refurbishment. No major problems-but the fittings were quite worn and old looking. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good and plentiful.

Thomson Gold offers a full programme of activities during the day. This begins with exercises in the pool at 11.00 and goes on-almost hourly-until the evening entertainment starts at around 21.00. This is OK if you want to join in with everything-but can get a bit trying if you just want to relax quietly by the pool. Having said that, Rachel and Becky-and sometimes Helen from ‘Evolution’- the entertainment team, were real troopers and worked tirelessly throughout each day and evening. Some of the activities are good fun-but I would draw the line at Bingo every day.

I can only echo the comments of others about the evening entertainment, though. The imported acts were usually ok (however-endure Frogwell Flax at your peril) but the resident duo ‘Evolution’ was appalling. This duo consists of Helen on vocals and Ian (apparently) on keyboards and guitar. Helen could (mostly) hold down a tune and she did work well with Rachel and Becky during the day and in the evenings. Ian’s contribution, however, was to just yell and bellow into the microphone in some vague pretence of contributing backing vocals. I have no idea what he was supposed to be doing with the keyboards as the music consisted of pre-recorded backing tracks. They have absolutely no on-stage chemistry and their animosity towards each other was palpable. It was quite funny in a strange kind of way, but my advice is avoid.

Overall-a good holiday with fantastic weather. I’m not sure if we would rush back though.

Tips:
Book car hire with a local company. Thomson prices are ridiculous.
Try and get to see the old towns of Soller, Deia and Valdemossa. The drive along that stretch of coastline is pretty specatcular.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steely707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

this was our second visit to this hotel, as always the food and staff were brillent,but the evening entertainment was really poor, the resident group evolusion were dreadfull, and the whole evening i felt was more for children[even though there was no children allowed] the resort it self was very beautiful , but could do with alittle more bars or cafes in the resort as theres not alot to do in the evenings, the hotel is a really nice place and the manager was really welcoming, its a pity that thompsons are not as efficant, transfere from hotel was a nightmare, will get a taxi next time. on a plus side people who holiday here are really lovely, and on the whole a nice holiday,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bundlesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at this Thomson gold hotel Aug 2010.

I will break down individually for easier reading.

Resort. Camp de Mar. small resort with a lovely beach. The busier resorts of Pegeura and Andraxt are 10 minute bus rides away there is a weekly market at Andraxt. Palma is 40 mins away by bus. The bus stop is 2 mins from the hotel. Bus travel is very cheap and reliable. 1.50 euro's to both resorts 4 euro's to Palma

Hotel. Split into 2 buildings, the old original hotel and the newer extension. We stayed in the old hotel. The room was adequate with a sea view and over the pool and terrace area. The room decor was tired and could do with updating.
The communal areas of the hotel are modern and clean.

Restaurant. Clean, with fantastic choice of food. You would have to be allergic to everything or an extermely fussy eater not to find something different to eat everyday. WARNING ! Fella's beware you have to wear long trousers to dinner. I got caught out with this policy even after phoning Thomson to check and being told that it wasn't compulsory. Well it is ! It seems wearing a football shirt to dinner or adidas track suit bottoms or cut down jean shorts for women is more acceptable than a pair of tailored shorts !

Pool and terrace. Plenty of sunbeds and matress's for the same. However, this doesn't stop a large number of people getting up at dawn to claim their sunbed. On a personal note I find this extremely irritating. Hotels across the globe should stop this practice by giving every guest a sunbed for the duration of thier stay. This hotel does have a policy of removing towels etc from sunbeds at 10:15 every morning if guests aren't sat on them.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The manager Jose was always on hand making sure things ran smoothly.

Entertainment and Thomson. Entertainment is run everyday and evening. Thomson reps run the daytime activities. The activities always had plenty of particpants. No pressure was put on anyone who didn't wish to take part. (We prefer not to take part.)

Evening entertainment. I have to say this was very hit and miss. The entertainment that was brought in was generally of a higher standard than that provided by the Thomson gold team. The resident duo (evolution) were awful they managed to clear the terrace every evening after the main event. There were lots of complaints, it remains to be seen if they continue their tenure at the hotel ! The hotel bars close at midnight 30mins after the entertainment has finished.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. For those who like lots to do this isn't the resort for you. We'd have prefered more of a resort. The age group of the guests is on the older side and this hotel is ideal. We have recommended this hotel to our parents and their friends. (age 60+)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s7evie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. This is a peace lovers haven. If you want night life and anging action then this is not the resort, with nothging to do outside the hotel.

The hotel is a typical Gold with an older than average clientele - we are mid 40's but the moans you see off other posters are just people who like to moan. The entertainment is a bit variable but as a background on the nights it's a bit lame it certainly suffices. Fogwell Flax, The Platters Tribute and Karen Noble where excellent but the reps shows 2 times in a firtnight is a bit much - obviously cost cutting.

The food was decent although after 14 nights I am glad to be back to normal from the diet of hotel food. As people have commented the choice is pretty good and if you can't find something you like then you're a bit fussy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,356 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing