We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to relax and enjoy stunning view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday, everything is close to hand, pool area clean and lovely view all around, also overlooks beach, with blue clear water also just the thing on a sunny, hot day, fab !!! start the day with a great breakfast, and as for evening, good choice of well prepared food, plenty of choice, excellent for taste, out and about local bus, to near by paguera, santa ponsa, port andrax, if not try the local boat shuttle around to these places, lovely sea views!!!!!! great time we had as we wanted a nice relaxing break, hotel entertainment average at night, during the day, games if you wish to join in, we entered a few, met some very nice people this way !!!! all in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday and looked after by all at playa camp de mar, JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED, we shall return in the near future !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wacker003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,071 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

As usual for Thomson Gold this hotel was perfect. The choice of food at every meal was varied to suit all tastes. No complaints here. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean as is the pool area. All the staff are helpful and friendly from reception to maids and waiters.

There was usual scramble for sunbeds at around 7.00 in the morning as seems to be norm these days. Be warned towels were removed if you were not on the sun lounger at 10.30 each day.

The daytime entertainment was provided by two lovely girls Becci and Rachel, they
worked extremely hard and provided a lot of merriment with aqua exercises and quizzes
to name a few.

The evening entertainment left a lot to be desired with the resident duo Evolution on twice each evening. The female singer was flat most of the time and the male (Ian) tried to be funny but failed dismally. They had a limited playlist and I totally agree with a previous comment that they can clear the audience in 10 mins. That in itself was entertaining as we watched from our balcony.


Overall an enjoyable and relaxing holiday in a quiet resort

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have just returned from this hotel and have had a nice relaxing week, we always tried to get sunloungers at the edge of the pool area overlooking the lovley beach and its surrounds, the pool and pool area is quite large and there always seemed to be enough sun beds, we put our towells on our chosen loungers just before we went into brekkie at 8am and didnt feel the need to get up at the crack of dawn!!
Our room was at the side of the hotel, very small and musty smelling and the dark brown worn furnature was something you may see on the antiques road show, two of the drawers would not open and the bed was hard and lumpy (and squeeky)!! we did however, have a limited sea view but overlooked a very noisy (mostly german) hotel and so could not get to sleep untill their nightly entertainment ended around 12pm!
We found a nice little bar on the beach (petite bar) after our dinner we took a stroll there, it was only lit up by candles, very relaxing and romantic, didnt go a lot on the hotel entertainment really, sid little is not our cup of tea!! in fact it was quite embarrising, bless him, but we didnt go for this anyway.
The average age group was between 50 and 80 I would say, altho, there were some families there that had younger children with them, not kiddies tho!! thats one reason that we chose a thompson gold hotel!!
The beach here is so nice, and kept very clean, a slight smell of sewage as you walk down to it but that goes as you walk further along and the water is lovley and clear (and warmer than the pool)!!
We didnt venture out anywhere as we just wanted a totally relaxing do nothing chill out time and that we did but if he had of syayed for longer ,we would have got a cab/bus or boat out to other places as there is not much to do and see in this resort.
We were not that impressed with the food or the layout of the restaurant, but think that is because we had been to a thompson gold hotel in Ibiza and thats what we were comparing it with.
overall, we did have a nice time, a week was enough for us, met some nice people, wouldnt go back though but for those of you that are thinking of going we would definatly recomend that you pay a little extra and have a room at the front with a full sea view , they are bigger, and the view is stunning!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angel1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This Thomson Gold adults only hotel is brilliant. Excellent food, spotlessly clean, a very well managed hotel, pool towels provided, everything has been thought about. The Manager is often present making sure everything is being done properly. Hubby and I went with our daughter and her boyfriend our ages ranged from 21 to 50 and we all had a great holiday. It is not a very busy resort, but taxi's and cheap bus's are available for short journeys to nearby busier towns should you wish. The sea is crystal clear with pedaloes available, with sunbeds etc on the beach which is literally a few yards from the hotel. Lovely sand and small fish swim in the sea. Thoroughly recomment it ! If you get chance go and see "Come fly with me" show - it's fantastic.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank debs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just returned from this hotel and totally disagree about mostley old people although 60% were in their sixties the others were younger and there were many families with older children and even a wedding party.Yes we have been here many times before because the views are stunning as its a little quite bay with many yachts visting for the day.The hotel food is on a par to a cruise and the rooms are big enouth for what you need and spotless.The staff are happy and friendly and the two girls doing the day time
entertainment were excellent,as for the night time entertainment well all I can say is you
cant please all the people all of the time, some nights were really good and some nights were not, but surely thats the same where ever you go.We only had one complaint and that was the return transfere which was a nightmare WHY because we had eight pickups
and some were in Magaluf and these youngsters were drunk and swearing and there was no rep on board till last pick up.I have complained to Thomson about this every year to
no avail so infuture it will be a taxi back to airport.We do about eight trips a year and this
is one of the best hotels we have been to so ignore the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I am 54 and my partner 47, but we were the youngest apart from one or two, the whole time we were there. The hotel is completely geared up for the 'older' UK traveller, who return year on year. The hotel is looking a bit tired and could to with being smartened up, although the staff were all helpful and pleasant. We were also allocated a room at the back of the hotel, without a view, although it had a small balcony. We foolishly didn't realise that a room with a balcony did not come with a sea view. And could not upgrade as we were told by the constantly smiling reps that the hotel was full.

The day we left we experienced the older generation out in force at 6.45am claiming and re arranging the sunbeds in milatary fashion by the pool. Everyday there are 'pool games' designed for the elderly. Its a bit worrying how we regress into childhood the older we all get. As youngsters, we sat on the beach most days or hired a car to explore the lovely island of Majorca. Soller, and Fornalutx are well worth a visit.

The food was good although the small Spanish tapas section was totally ignored in favour of dishes like sheperds pie and brussel sprouts that were devoured every night. The guy that was on duty at the tapas section thanked us like old friends when we continued to eat from this unused section of the restuarant. The restuarant is a buffet service and gets really manic at certain times due to the amount of people aimlessly wandering about looking for their sprouts. it had the feeling of shopping in Morrisons on pension day. However, when they had all left to enjoy/endure the evening entertainment it was a quite a pleasant experience despite the staff rushing to clear up and go home and describe the brussel sprouts to their family.

I think the resident duo were called Evolution, but would be better described as Extradition, because they should have been extradited, they were that bad. The young woman of the duo was pretty average but tried hard. Whereas the older overweight man was exceedingly unfunny unless you were over 80, although most of the audience were. He really fancied himself as an entertainer, but didn't even hang about to witness the old pro Sid Little who was also appearing on one of the evenings, and was quite amusing (amazingly).
So, in a nutshell. If your over 75 don't like foreign food, and like kiddies games without any kids to spoil your fun. This is the place for you. We have booked to return in 2030.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Grupotel Camp de Mar is offered as a package holiday exclusively to UK customers through Thomson via their Gold programme. This is an ‘adults only’ programme so -no kids and families. Yippee!

The location is stunning. A beautiful south-facing horseshoe bay in a very quiet resort on the southwest coast of the island. The busier resort of Peguera is about 5-10 minutes away by car/taxi or a short bus ride and the town of Andratx –and Port Andratx is a little (but not much) further away.
The hotel is very good. Our rooms were clean and spacious enough for two people with a great sea view. Rooms are cleaned each day. We heard that people booking double bedded rooms were allocated to the front and side of the hotel and these rooms were much smaller, noiser and with little or no view. The only gripe for us was that our bathroom was in need of refurbishment. No major problems-but the fittings were quite worn and old looking. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good and plentiful.

Thomson Gold offers a full programme of activities during the day. This begins with exercises in the pool at 11.00 and goes on-almost hourly-until the evening entertainment starts at around 21.00. This is OK if you want to join in with everything-but can get a bit trying if you just want to relax quietly by the pool. Having said that, Rachel and Becky-and sometimes Helen from ‘Evolution’- the entertainment team, were real troopers and worked tirelessly throughout each day and evening. Some of the activities are good fun-but I would draw the line at Bingo every day.

I can only echo the comments of others about the evening entertainment, though. The imported acts were usually ok (however-endure Frogwell Flax at your peril) but the resident duo ‘Evolution’ was appalling. This duo consists of Helen on vocals and Ian (apparently) on keyboards and guitar. Helen could (mostly) hold down a tune and she did work well with Rachel and Becky during the day and in the evenings. Ian’s contribution, however, was to just yell and bellow into the microphone in some vague pretence of contributing backing vocals. I have no idea what he was supposed to be doing with the keyboards as the music consisted of pre-recorded backing tracks. They have absolutely no on-stage chemistry and their animosity towards each other was palpable. It was quite funny in a strange kind of way, but my advice is avoid.

Overall-a good holiday with fantastic weather. I’m not sure if we would rush back though.

Tips:
Book car hire with a local company. Thomson prices are ridiculous.
Try and get to see the old towns of Soller, Deia and Valdemossa. The drive along that stretch of coastline is pretty specatcular.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steely707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Fornells
Hotel Cala Fornells
#10 of 52 in Peguera
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range: £89 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing