We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful family hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a really lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The resort itself is very quiet with just a few shops and bars however it is only a short bus or taxi ride away if you want more hustle and bustle.
The hotel is certainly one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. The staff worked tirelessly to keep it spotless.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids animation team were fantastic and worked non stop day and night to occupy the kids. We were there in the midst of a heatwave (38 degrees!) and the team were very good at keeping the kids in the shade and keeping them cool.
The food was fantastic - an amazing array of fresh fish, meat and vegetables daily. We were spoilt for choice and I ended up overeating most days because it was all just too tempting. If you have fussy kids it might be harder to please them but fortunately mine have quite adventurous taste buds. There was always options of pizza, pasta and chips to appeal to fussy palates. The drinks were the standard fare of all inclusive resorts but quite acceptable. There are a variety of other drinks and wine that can be purchased at a reasonable cost.
Evening entertainment was largely aimed at the kids but good fun and at the end of the day if the kids are happy so are the parents!!
The hotel caters to quite a cosmopolitan clientele and as other reviews point out there is quite a few Germans. However I don't see this as a problem and there were also French, Italian and Dutch visitors too. I did not see any indication that favouratism was shown to the Germans and feel the staff worked hard to keep everyone happy. The only downside was that the Germans would get up extremely early to reserve the sunbeds. Unfortunately considering the size of the hotel the pool area was rather small and there was a distinct shortage of sunbeds. This meant I had to get up at 6.30 am to ensure we bagged a couple!
The rooms were pleasant and we had a fantastic view of the bay from our balcony. The rooms were a little on the small side so if you were a couple sharing with a little one you wouldn't have much space with an extra bed in there. I didn't request a family room but on arrival I noticed we had an adjoining door. I asked if we could have it unlocked and the staff were happy to oblige. Any little niggles were rectified immediately. Our TV had no English speaking channels and I mentioned it to the concierge. On returning to the room later it had already been re-tuned.
I broke the shower head and that too was promptly replaced. The only downside was the air conditioning which was rather feeble however this did not affect our enjoyment.
All in all we had a fantastic time, met some lovely people and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60fraggle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    352
    129
    36
    15
See reviews for
307
512
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just back from a week in Gran Camp de Mar. A word of warning - if you are British keep away from this hotel, as it caters mainly for Germans. They are treated like VIPs above other nationalities. They get served first at reception, the bar and everywhere else in the hotel. Basically, they get preferential treatment, as they make up 90% of the guests in this hotel.

So other nationalities don't get the same opportunities to use the facilities that the hotel offers, such as sun loungers, which are reserved for German people in advance. The management and staff seem to go out of their way to try and keep them happy, to the detriment of the rest of the guests. We will never return to this hotel for this reason.

We would like to point out that we choose to go abroad because we enjoy embracing other cultures and nationalities, but everyone should be treated equally.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thanks for giving your opinion about our hotel and for spending your holiday here.
In the period that you were staying at our hotel the nationalities and percentages were:
Austria 3.85%, Germany 59.38% (not 90% as you said) , Spain 1.96%, France 1.82%, UK 24.58%, Poland 0.63%, Russia 1.33%, Sweden 0.63%, Switzerland 2.59%, a total of 23 different nationalities. As you can see, the United Kingdom is the second force in terms of hotel occupation.
Our hotel welcomes guests of all nationalities and all, without exception, are treated equally and the best we can.
Perhaps you have had this impression, because at that time we have many repeating german customers and also english customers (after so many years the staff know our clients) but not as many as we would like.
Reservation of sun beds: we inform you that this is a package (wifi, sun bed and room reservation with sea view) that customers book and pay in the country of origin, this has nothing to do with nationality.
We hope that you come back to visit our beautiful island.
Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned after a week at this hotel (2 adults and our 18 months old daughter) this hotel is by no means awful, it's very clean and we had the most amazing view from our 5 floor balcony. The food is good and the setting is really great, especially for our daughter who loved the nice clean beach and I felt really safe wondering around the few shops available. The transfer from the airport is fairly quick. But, the hotel is HUGE and the facilities available just don't match the amount of guests. As a lot of people have said there are never enough sunbeds and by 8am they are all taken. We spent most days at the beach and did join the crowds a couple of mornings by getting up early! I hated myself for doing it but we wanted at least one day around the pool! There also needs to be another outdoor bar area, maybe somewhere to sit and admire the view, again to also accomodate the amount of people. another restaurant would also be good, even if there is a small supplement, although the buffet was lovely i may have gone crazy if we had been there more than 1 week. There are a lot of (rude) German visitors at the hotel and everything is geared towards them, the kids disco is very German! The German guests seem to be treated very differently to us, for example the waiters would get them their drinks in the restaurant. We always got our own! Very strange! This made us feel a bit uneasy at times and very unwelcome. The entertainment is very amaeatuer although they are a good team and clearly work really hard. The day time activities seemed the best with aqua aerobics (the day we had a spot around the pool) and football. The staff overall are friendly enough, but the hotel is sooooo huge, you don't get that one on one connection and they certainly didn't know our names or seem to remember us day after day.
Overall this is a nice hotel but I wouldn't return, if you have already booked please don't let me put you off, there are a lot of positives. However, if you haven't booked yet I certainly would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HellsBells28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for posting your opinions about our hotel and for spending your holiday in our hotel.
Concerning the mini-disc, here are some songs:
Superman by Black Lace (in english)
La dance des canards by JJ Lionel (in french)
Hokey cockey by Agadoo Black Lace (in english)
Tsjoe Tsjoe wa by DD Company (in spanish)
Veo, Veo by Teresa Rabal (in spanish)
Hoofd, schoulders, knie en teen (in dutch)
as you can see, these are international songs.
All clients of all nationalities are treated equally. The waiters at the time of opening the restaurant served some drinks on the table in the restaurant because there are not many customers at this time.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I went with my partner and 6 year old son, and we had a great time. An ideal hotel for families and loads to keep children happy.

Best Points :
- clean hotel, room and pool
- food was ok, but my six year old struggled sometimes and ended up with a plateful of chips
- evening entertainment was brilliant for children
- pool side bar and snacks were excellent
- staff friendly and helpful

Down Points
- entertainment staff at the pool side wouldn't leave us alone... no actually means no !!!!
- usual struggle for a sun lounger (although we did go in peak season - August)

I would definatley go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry N.I.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I returned from Camp de Mar last week and the only complaint I have to make is the fact of people putting the towels on the sunbeds ( some people even put paper RESERVED signs on the beds with cellotape). At half past nine in the morning there are no beds to lie on, they all have towels on them, but the majority have noone lying on them. I even saw people coming from the other hotels. Everything else about this hotel was good, but the management need to enforce the no towels on sunbeds rule.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny30092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your opinion and for spending your holidays with us.
The reservations with cellophane that you have seen, are reservations of customers who purchased a package (room with sea view, reserve sunbed and prepaid wifi) in the country of origin. These chairs are only reserved in a special area of the "solarium".
It is not allowed to reserve sunbeds. Hotel management reserves the right to remove towels found on them.
We hope to see again in the near future.
sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just spent a week at this great hotel and can't really fault it! The location was great, very small & quiet with just a few shops, bars & restaurants just outside the hotel. The hotel itself was extremely clean inside & out, the pool area was thoroughly scrubbed every morning, the staff were lovely, especially the bar staff who get to know what you are drinking very quickly & bring a top up just without you having to call them over! The food selection was very good, even a picky eater like me found plenty to eat every day and everything was hot & freshly cooked. We had no trouble getting sunbeds everyday, although you had to be early to get the best ones. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would happily go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having just returned from this hotel I had to write to say how great it was. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the hotel staff are fantastic. They go above and beyond to make this a great place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was great and there was plenty of it as well, different foods every day, they catered for everyone, fussy eaters and vegetarians. The hotel room was a little on the small side but this was the only draw back. I was on the 7th floor and the view was outstanding. One downside which no-one could help was the weather. We arrived on the Saturday and come Sunday afternoon through to Tuesday, there was a thunder and lightening storm. Plenty of rain to follow, luck of the draw I suppose. There isn't much to do in Camp de Mar and there are only a few shops underneath our hotel. No nightlife at all, but the hotel provides plenty of entertainment. Some might not be to everyone's taste but there was something every evening. Considering this hotel to be a little on the large side, the swimming pool area was a little disappointing, but seeing that we had mostly rain, this didn't pose too much of a problem for us. Plenty of seating area in the hotel itself and the hotel lobby is spacious and relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the seaview is the best option, the two sides have a limited sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.2 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
577 reviews
41.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar

Property: Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Address: Avda Gabriel Covas Alemany, 2, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olimarotels offers you experiences of relaxation and comfort in a unique destination in the heart of the Mediterranean. With their friendly atmosphere, the philosophy of our Hotels revolves around the satisfaction of every guest. Our attention to detail, comfortable amenities and more than 25 years of experience allow us to achieve our goal: to provide a holiday experience you will treasure forever. The Olimarotels are certified according to ISO 9001 (quality management system) and 14001 (environmental compliance) standards, in addition to being the first European Hotel Chain to obtain the Global Hotel Security seal of approval. Fully renovated, the Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you an ideal stay that will stay in your mind forever. Hotel Location Located in the municipality of Andratx, one of the most visited townships on the island of Mallorca, our Hotel enjoys a privileged location, right by the sea and yet very close to the Serra de Tramuntana, declared world heritage by UNESCO, or the island of Sa Dragonera. The Hotel is also close to the attractives sports marina in Andratx and Puerto Portals. The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is distinguished by its location right on the coast, in a heavenly setting and flanked by two beautiful beaches: Ses Dones and Camp de Mar. Thanks to its exceptional location, the Hotel has some special characteristics to perform various leisure activities. Only 25 km away from Palma de Mallorca and 3 km away from the towns of Paguera and Andratx. Service at the Hotel: The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you the following services and facilities: restaurant-buffet, 3 bars, chill-out area overlooking the sea, exclusive solarium area, outdoor and indoor-pools, spa & wellness centre, fitness room, tennis court, multi-purpose court, bike storage, garage, childrens' playroom and playground, "only adults" solarium-terrace with bar service, reading and TV rooms, conference rooms, WiFi throughout the Hotel. Gastronomy in the Hotel: The gastronomic offer at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is based on quality, themed buffets and a touch of creativity that will delight all palates. We have three show-cooking stations and a restaurant service where guests can choose between half-board or all-inclusive options. Half board-plus: If you have booked this option, we offer you a rich and varied breakfast buffet, a dinner buffet with delicious dishes including a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol. Twice a week we invite you to a breakfast with sparkling wine and also several times a week we offer themed buffets. All inclusive: in addition to the half board services we offer you a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol, continental breakfast, hot snacks, lunch-buffet, coffee, tea and pastries and cold snacks. Pool Snack-bar: here you will find all kind of drinks and cold or hot snacks. Bar-salon: at the end of the day we offer you all kind of drinks including delicious cocktails and the chance to enjoy the shows or to dance with live music. Sports, entertainment and pool in the Hotel: Some of the sports that you can practice are: table tennis, bowls, sjoelen, darts, tenis, mini-football, basketball, beach-volley (high-season), several kinds of gymnastics, water-gymnastic, dance classes, hiking (except july and august), canoes or kayaks (high season). In addition to all of this the animation team offers you many other activities. The Hotel offers repair station and storage for bicycles. The Andratx Golf Course is located just 350 metres from the Hotel. This is a chance of getting near to this amazing sport Daytime entertainment for children from age 4 onwards. Several times a week, crafts, games and other (kids playground and playroom in the Hotel). In the evening children can enjoy the mini disco. Babysitting upon availability. Spa center with indoor pool and relaxation activities, ice fountain, whirlpool, changing rooms, relaxation area, sauna, turkish bath, "Kneipp" corridor, and showers. Wellness: beauty treatments, massages (4 individual cabins for treatments) and a hairdresser that can be combined with health, relaxation and beauty. Outdoor and indoor pools, we also have 2 outdoors whirlpools Several times per week, magic and dance shows, tributes or dance with live music. Hotel rooms/accommodation: the Hotel offers you its 412 comfortable rooms, most with views of the sea, balcony, Wi-Fi connection, refrigerator, air conditioning, central heating, plasma TV with international channels, telephone, safe, or laundry service. The bathroom is fully equipped, with hairdryer and makeup mirror. The Hotel is also well suited to the needs of families and offers double rooms with connecting door. Double room with lounge (Suite): For the most demanding guests, our suites offer the best views to the Mediterranean and the finest decoration. The rooms have all the comforts of the double rooms, but are distinguished by their lounge, a second bathroom and a large terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimarotel Gran Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing