We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After reading all of the rave reviews about this hotel we were expecting something really special. However there were some aspects of the hotel which were not very good.
Our room was extremely small and tucked in a back corner and we had a better view of the room next to us on the corner than we had of the sea. We couldn't sit out on our balcony due to the cigarette/cigar smoke which constantly drifted onto our balcony from the other room. Not acceptable if you are a non-smoker. There wasn't any room for us to stow our suitcases and as a result we couldn't move comfortably around the room without banging into them. Definately not what we would expect from a 4 star hotel.

We ended up coming away from our holiday feeling a bit cheated. From reading other reviews, it would appear that we were obviously very unlucky with our room allocation. If we all pay the same rate for the holiday then we should all be given the same quality rooms which offer the same holiday experience.

Strangely there was no mirror above the dressing table although there were 2 power points. How are you expected to use hair styling appliances without a mirror? I know there were 2 other mirrors, one on the wardrobe which was next to the entrance door and in a dark area with no power points close by, and the other in the bathroom. But I always go on the side of safety when abroad and don't use electrical appliances in a steamy bathroom. Especially when there is no extractor fan to remove the steam. Also a bit difficult to use if your partner is using the bathroom.
The lack of sunbeds are always an issue where ever you go, especially when we watched people putting towels on the sunbeds from 5am. We also saw people coming from the beach who were not hotel guests coming early to reserve sunbeds. We were never able to get a sunbed during our stay and had to pay for the ones on the beach. The management say that sunbed reservation is not permitted and that towels will be removed by hotel staff. We never saw any being removed even though the pool cleaning staff were working on the poolside when the towels were being put out.

The range of food on offer in the restaurant was excellent and the restaurant staff were wonderful. The pool bar staff were always friendly even though the all-inclusive range of drinks was not great. It was possible to buy real cocktails at a lower price which compensated.

On a final note, our First Choice rep was never anywhere to be seen. There wasn't an information board anywhere in the hotel, although there was an information book. However, when we looked in the section marked 'departure information' it was empty. We ended up having to contact the 24hr helpline to get our return coach pick-up times. We will not be travelling with First Choice again if this is the type of service that they offer.

Please don't be put off by this rather negative review. Only a few customers will be allocated the rubbish rooms so the majority will have a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms and lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that has been caused which does not reflect the quality of service we wish to offer you.
The hotel is non-smoking but some guests smoke on the room-terrace without our permission.
If you had applied to the reception or the management, maybe we could have solved your problem, a room change is often possible.
The sunbeds reservation with towels is not allowed and towels may be removed by hotel employees (the lifeguard does this every morning).
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel,
Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    352
    129
    36
    15
See reviews for
307
511
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really nice hotel, plenty of sun beds and good food. Staff extremely helpful and rooms lovely and clean. Entertainment okay on a par with similar resorts and hotels, really depends on what you like. This is our second visit and must admit entertainment a couple of years ago was much better. Taxi to local lively family friendly town only about 5 euro. Would certainly recommend location and hotel for stress free relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We would like to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
OLIMAROTEL GRAN CAMP DE MAR team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Have just come back from a week at this hotel, cannot find anything negative to say, great location had a lovely room with a sea view, food very good plenty of choice. Hotel was spotless and all staff very helpful and cheerful especially bar staff. We had a brilliant holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your feedback.
Please visit us again and recommend us. See you soon in Mallorca!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 7th to 14th June. After arriving much later than we had hoped due to luggage problems at Palma airport & 40 minute transfer actually taking over 2 hrs we were tired & very hungry. The receptionist said that the restaurant was closed but we could get snacks from the pool bar. As we had booked all inclusive we were expecting a lovely selection of snacks however we were told no chef until 5 pm but we could have cake, there were 3 different types of cake 2 of which had nuts so we had to find somewhere else to eat & pay for it. This proved very difficult as there are only a couple of bars in the resort.

Our room was on the 2nd floor with a nice sea view, the room not terribly big but perfectly adequate. We noticed the air conditioning wasn't working so we enquired at reception only to be told it comes on at certain times. It was nearly 30C. We went to the restaurant for our evening meal & my husband who has AF was so hot because there was no air con in the restaurant either that I really thought I was going to have to take him to hospital. However we spoke to the deputy manager & she said they would put a fan in the room & she would see if she could get the air con to come on more frequently. Other guest too were grumbling about the lack of air con. The next day we were advised that the air con timings were being changed. When we were in the bathroom we could here the conversation of the guests upstairs so clearly, so be careful what you say! There is a small fridge in the room & the TV gets ITV & BBC.

The pool area is a good size but there are not really enough sun beds for everyone & 1 parasol for about every 15 sun beds. Also you do need to be up by 8am to reserve a sun bed. There is another area by the sea, it's on concrete but there are more parasols there, also requires reserving early. There is a nice area with sun beds & plenty of parasols but it is for the use of "exclusive guests". This turns out to be German guests who are able to reserve the area through their tour operator, other guests can use it if there is no white paper on the sun bed unfortunately there were never any beds without the white paper on it until the very last day. The most annoying thing was that although reserved they weren't always being used. The sandy beach is in the next bay but only takes a minute or so to walk to it. The water is crystal clear. There is a life guard on duty all day & all areas were being constantly checked. The island day trip boats come into the resort. Private boats also come in to use the beach or restaurants & if they tried to get too close to the beach or swimming area they were seen off.

Another area is under pine trees & the hotel have placed comfy sofas & chairs there, it's a lovely area to take your afternoon tea or coffee after your meal in the shade.

The pool bar serves drinks all day but not cocktails unless they are paid for. The staff are very friendly & one young lady seemed to work morning noon & night & was always smiling.

The food was amazing, just amazing. It's all cooked in the dining room so fresh & clean, it is so plentiful & varied. We even had lobster one night as well as a chocolate fountain & jars of pick & mix sweets. There is an outside dining area which is very popular & unfortunately some very rude guests do not grasp the concept of queuing & just push past everyone to grab the next vacant table. If you require a picnic for a day out then just ask & you are given foil to make up your own picnic & bottles of water. Bottled water is only available after 7 pm.

The cleanliness of this hotel is just first class, all areas were being cleaned constantly.

Entertainment wasn't too bad, not brilliant but ok.

The resort is small & very pretty, only a few shops. There are taxis at the end of the road & a bus stop.

We enjoyed our holiday & felt really relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGNO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Mallorca.
For clients on “all inclusive” basis we provide this different services:
normal breakfast from 07.30 to 10.00 o´clock
continental breakfast from 10.00 to 12.00 o´clock
lunch – buffet from 01 pm to 02.30 pm
coffee and cakes from 03.30 pm to 05.00 pm o´clock
dinner-buffet from 06.30 o´clock to 09.30 pm o´clock
snacks cold or hot from 12.30 pm to 03.30 pm and from. 05.00 pm to 06.00 pm and from 10.00 pm to 00.00 am o´clock
The sun beds reservation with towels is not allowed and towels may be removed by hotel employees ( the lifeguard does this every morning).
All inclusive clients can drink following cocktails without paying:
Piña colada, tequila sunrise, love on the beach, passion cocktail, vodka sun, strawberry margarita, fruit punch, meringue and copa cabana.
Picnic: according to a state law and for health and hygiene reasons it is not allowed to the hotels to offer a picnic to the customers.
We would like to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location. Close to sandy beach. Food was varied and excellent. Not suitable for young people as not much night life for them. Good for families and couples also single people. Bedrooms are small but very clean and adequate

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M00nm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in OLIMAROTEL GRAN CAMP DE MAR and a wonderful time in Mallorca.
Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Gran from the 17th/24 June. as we were celebrating my birthday and our 50th wedding anniversary we were hoping for something special. We certainly got something special.

The food, the staff, and the rooms were first class. We thought the cleaners were thorough to the point of obsessive. The man who hosed outside in the mornings never missed a speck.
We also think that the pool bar staff should have a special mention, as they worked their socks off all day, and with a smile.

Also thank you to the Hotel for the bottles of champagne on my birthday and our wedding anniversary.

If you can find fault with this hotel you have to be very picky indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time in Mallorca and a pleasant stay in our hotel.
Thank you very much.
Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

just got back from staying at this great hotel. We went with me my husband our daughter her partner and my granddaughter who is 15 months. I was very, very impressed with the staff and the hotel. Yes the rooms were small but you could not hear any other guest at night . The hotel was very clean and the cot for the little one was excellent again very clean. The staff were very friendly. The air con worked ,the food was great I can not say anything wrong about the place me and my family would go back again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in OLIMAROTEL GRAN CAMP DE MAR and a wonderful time in Mallorca.
Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.2 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
Mon Port Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port d'Andratx
576 reviews
41.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar

Property: Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
Address: Avda Gabriel Covas Alemany, 2, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olimarotels offers you experiences of relaxation and comfort in a unique destination in the heart of the Mediterranean. With their friendly atmosphere, the philosophy of our Hotels revolves around the satisfaction of every guest. Our attention to detail, comfortable amenities and more than 25 years of experience allow us to achieve our goal: to provide a holiday experience you will treasure forever. The Olimarotels are certified according to ISO 9001 (quality management system) and 14001 (environmental compliance) standards, in addition to being the first European Hotel Chain to obtain the Global Hotel Security seal of approval. Fully renovated, the Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you an ideal stay that will stay in your mind forever. Hotel Location Located in the municipality of Andratx, one of the most visited townships on the island of Mallorca, our Hotel enjoys a privileged location, right by the sea and yet very close to the Serra de Tramuntana, declared world heritage by UNESCO, or the island of Sa Dragonera. The Hotel is also close to the attractives sports marina in Andratx and Puerto Portals. The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is distinguished by its location right on the coast, in a heavenly setting and flanked by two beautiful beaches: Ses Dones and Camp de Mar. Thanks to its exceptional location, the Hotel has some special characteristics to perform various leisure activities. Only 25 km away from Palma de Mallorca and 3 km away from the towns of Paguera and Andratx. Service at the Hotel: The Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar offers you the following services and facilities: restaurant-buffet, 3 bars, chill-out area overlooking the sea, exclusive solarium area, outdoor and indoor-pools, spa & wellness centre, fitness room, tennis court, multi-purpose court, bike storage, garage, childrens' playroom and playground, "only adults" solarium-terrace with bar service, reading and TV rooms, conference rooms, WiFi throughout the Hotel. Gastronomy in the Hotel: The gastronomic offer at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar is based on quality, themed buffets and a touch of creativity that will delight all palates. We have three show-cooking stations and a restaurant service where guests can choose between half-board or all-inclusive options. Half board-plus: If you have booked this option, we offer you a rich and varied breakfast buffet, a dinner buffet with delicious dishes including a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol. Twice a week we invite you to a breakfast with sparkling wine and also several times a week we offer themed buffets. All inclusive: in addition to the half board services we offer you a selection of national and international drinks with and without alcohol, continental breakfast, hot snacks, lunch-buffet, coffee, tea and pastries and cold snacks. Pool Snack-bar: here you will find all kind of drinks and cold or hot snacks. Bar-salon: at the end of the day we offer you all kind of drinks including delicious cocktails and the chance to enjoy the shows or to dance with live music. Sports, entertainment and pool in the Hotel: Some of the sports that you can practice are: table tennis, bowls, sjoelen, darts, tenis, mini-football, basketball, beach-volley (high-season), several kinds of gymnastics, water-gymnastic, dance classes, hiking (except july and august), canoes or kayaks (high season). In addition to all of this the animation team offers you many other activities. The Hotel offers repair station and storage for bicycles. The Andratx Golf Course is located just 350 metres from the Hotel. This is a chance of getting near to this amazing sport Daytime entertainment for children from age 4 onwards. Several times a week, crafts, games and other (kids playground and playroom in the Hotel). In the evening children can enjoy the mini disco. Babysitting upon availability. Spa center with indoor pool and relaxation activities, ice fountain, whirlpool, changing rooms, relaxation area, sauna, turkish bath, "Kneipp" corridor, and showers. Wellness: beauty treatments, massages (4 individual cabins for treatments) and a hairdresser that can be combined with health, relaxation and beauty. Outdoor and indoor pools, we also have 2 outdoors whirlpools Several times per week, magic and dance shows, tributes or dance with live music. Hotel rooms/accommodation: the Hotel offers you its 412 comfortable rooms, most with views of the sea, balcony, Wi-Fi connection, refrigerator, air conditioning, central heating, plasma TV with international channels, telephone, safe, or laundry service. The bathroom is fully equipped, with hairdryer and makeup mirror. The Hotel is also well suited to the needs of families and offers double rooms with connecting door. Double room with lounge (Suite): For the most demanding guests, our suites offer the best views to the Mediterranean and the finest decoration. The rooms have all the comforts of the double rooms, but are distinguished by their lounge, a second bathroom and a large terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimarotel Gran Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing