We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in great location”
Review of Hotel Marbel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marbel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value in great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This property has been taken over by a company called d hotels, and is being upgraded to a 3 star hotel. During the winter 13/14 closure they will finish off the dining room, and maybe modernise the bar.
As of October 13 , breakfast was still being taken at the sister hotel called the Calma, about 75m down the road towards the sea. This is a bit industrial 3 star, but has a decent selection, though more variety day to day would be nice. Given large numbers of French guests may be, the bread, croissants and baked goods were really very good ! The smallish pool and terrace of the Calm are currently also offered to Marbel guests.

The Marbel has a terrific startegic location that perfectly matched what I wanted from an early October 5 night break in ,Mallorca.
It was close to the airport , with a c 5 minute bus-ride on the #21 taking you directly to about 50m from front door for 3 euros each way. ( service every 30 minutes ).
The same bus stop was used by the popular #15 bus that runs every 15 minutes until late, and for 1.5 euros single will take you direct to rail/coach station or to historic centre of beautiful Palma in about 25 minutes.
The old fishing harbour of C'an Pastilla is at the bottom of the road, and from there you have a stretch of 5 or 6 miles of superbly maintained sandy beach running all the way round the bay to Arenal. The beach is lined by an immaculate and well lit promenade lined with wall to wall shops, bars and restaurants, as well as the excellent balnearios every 500 yards or so providing clean places for food, drink showers and toilets.
So from the Marbel, you can enjoy a bit of anything you fancy with maximum convenience.

I asked for a quiet room, and the street my balcony overlooked did indeed have very little happening, and was residential on the other side. You could hear the aircraft from the nearby airport, but with windows close, this was really a background noise only. It never interrupted my sleep or siesta , nor delayed me getting back to sleep after a night-time bathroom visit..

The hotel has a good sized cafeteria / bar and small terrace, with a few local regulars. Staff were helpful and there was a good variety of drinks at very fair prices. ( eg 2.5 euros for a large draft beer ).
Reception area is bright and of reasonable size, opening into a small lounge area with 4 large comfy sofas.

There is a lift to all floors - i was on third floor. The lift looks new, and the corridors have all been freshly painted and given parquet style laminate floor covering, and all the doors are new.
The newly refurbished rooms make a very food first impression. A good size for one, but maybe a bit tight for two. New furniture, lighting, beds and bacony windows. Average sized balcony that would benefit from upgrading to standard of the room.
The beds i think had foam rather than sprung mattresses , but i was very comfortable and slept very well.
There was a good flatscreen tv on the wall, but only Spanish language programmes. ( you need to ask for remote at reception, and leave a 10 euro deposit ).
The a/c unit was new, and worked really well with little or no noise. Control is from a panel by bathroom door.
The bathroom had also been refurbished with some modern appliances in a nice black/grey combination. The shower was fine, but there was nowhere to put your shampoo etc.. This was also a problem in the bathroom itself - some shelving is required around the washbasin area, as well as some hooks/a stand for toilet rolls.
Hooks at the back of the main door would also be an improvement, as hanging space in the wardrobe ( and provision of hangers ), is very limited for 2 people.

The reception staff deserve a special mention. They were friendly and really went out of their way to help people with all kinds of info. ( The night receptionist on arrival was not the most cheerful, but warmed up after exchanging a few words. ) The ladies in the daytime were just excellent.

This was probably once a basic hostal , but has been brought very much up to date. It is now a good product, I would be happy to use again for this type of break in Low season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fussweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    22
    13
    20
See reviews for
21
29
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very clean and spacious rooms.

But the rudest staff I've ever come across. Checked in (after being ripped off by a taxi driver who charged €20 to get from airport) we were greeted by a man who sighed when we wanted to check in. Didn't look up, just let out a huge sigh!!

Gave us NO information about breakfast & checkout etc basically we interrupted his busy schedule of sitting there.

We missed breakfast as we didn't know when it was and only just checked out on time. After a long trip the last thing you need is someone sighing at you for checking in.

The room and bathroom was very nice, very clean and roomy. The tv was in the stupidest place know to man (on the wall, away from the beds so presumably you'd have to sit in the wardrobe if you wanted to watch the tv.

Out of all, that man checking us in set the whole standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Can Pastilla hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can't believe these other reviews are for this hostel in C'an Pastilla. We had to stay here as my daughter was taken ill at the airport and we couldn't fly for a couple of days. The reception areas were clean and even had sofas. The room was small but clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom looked new and was very clean. We had a Tv but couldn't find a remote but could probably have gotten one from reception if we'd asked. The beach at C'an Pastilla is beautiful and runs around the bay to S'Arenal and even on a beautiful sunny Sunday it was busy but there was still plenty of room as the beach is wide. The staff were very helpful and there was a cafeteria attached to the hostel which did really good coffee and very cheap.

Room Tip: Try to get one that is not overlooking the Main Street as it was a bit noisy - however it was a Satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we got placed here after our hotel double booked us . the lift was about 100 years old the rooms were filthy the breakfast disgusting .the man that checked us in wads rude .the only + was the lady that checked us ous was really nice

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were on vacation and do not expect too much from a hostel but beside that our tour operator said it was clean a good positioned.
During our stay someone (I don't want to point) took an iPhone 4 expensive cover. We desperately ask for it no one wanna answer how is it possible.
The enterier of the building was poor, old walls and some days was stinking. At the beginning the room was clean, towel changed every day, but after 3th day (with the tip included) the room was not cleaned 4 days in a row. I can see the dust all over the room. Pitty breakfast, every day same and dinner without beverages. Certainly I will not recommend further, nor I will back there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patnikot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amic Gala
Hotel Amic Gala
#22 of 24 in Can Pastilla
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#15 of 24 in Can Pastilla
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Linda
Hotel Roc Linda
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balear
Balear
#14 of 24 in Can Pastilla
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
BQ Apolo Hotel
BQ Apolo Hotel
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marbel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marbel

Property: Hotel Marbel
Address: Calle Plini 2, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marbel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marbel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marbel Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing