We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amic Gala
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel JS Palma Stay(Can Pastilla)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Roc Linda(Can Pastilla)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Helios Mallorca(Can Pastilla)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balear(Can Pastilla)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel(Can Pastilla)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nautic Hotel & Spa(Can Pastilla)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AluaSoul Palma(Can Pastilla)
US$157
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Embat(Can Pastilla)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Playa(Can Pastilla)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
46
98
94
36
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
98
94
36
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair concertain charmthe busel arenalplenty of choicepalma airportstayed for nightsmallorcareceptionistchannelstelevisionpromenade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

ALL I CAN SAY IS, I FEEL ROBBED AS IT WASN'T CHEAP. Booked this last minute with sunmaster 7 days half board, for 2 adults & 1 child(11yrs). Flight was with easyjet with transfer bus(don't pay for the transfer as you would be cheaper getting a service bus to & from the airport it's only 10/15 mins) On arriving at the hotel our hearts sank, from the outside it looked tatty and dirty, reception staff where helpful enough.
Our room was very small as was our balcony(barely room enough for 3 chairs) , they had crammed a 3rd bed into what was clearly a small room for 2 people(the decor reminded us of Carry on Abroad).
Hoping that the food would make up for the accommodation, we went to have our evening meal which for the majority of the 7 nights consisted of: Some liquid that may have been soup(nothing labelled), salad, various shapes of pasta(1 per night) to have with the same red coloured sauce(3 nights running), something grey in colour coated in breadcrumbs, chips & fish?(again in bread crumbs), tinned fruit & tubs of ice cream(if you want a drink with your meal you have to buy it from the dinning room - even water). Breakfast was no better- stale rolls, 1 type of cheese, 1 cold meat choice(slimy), warm milk for the cheap cereal, toast, powdered fruit juice & cakes. pastries etc.
BEWARE OF THE LADY THAT SEEMS TO BE IN CHARGE OF THE DINNING ROOM!
IF YOU ARE THE TYPE OF PERSON THAT LIKES TO MAKE UP A WEE SANDWICH AT BREAKFAST TO HAVE LATER ON - SHE'LL CATCH YOU!
I WATCHED HER TAKE SANDWICHES OFF 2 GERMAN COUPLES THEN GIVE THEM A ROW!
I also watched the same said lady pick up various food items(without gloves or tongs) & move them to other baskets to make room for the new trays.
The pool is tiny & well shaded by the afternoon but the hotel is very close the the beach, it also seems to be on a main road as the traffic goes all night(Planes came in very close and low by the hotel on Mon night The noise was deafening at 1am.

Things to do:
Beach- 10 out of 10, the sea is warm and the water is shallow, life guards on duty, seems safe to leave your bags without worrying.

AQUALAND, get the number 23 bus from behind the El Cid Hotel, it'll take you straight to the waterpark. The park has some good rides, the rides all have inflatables so you don't need to hire them. It was 68 euros for 2 Ad +1chd.

LAND TRAIN- 12 euro's for the 3 of us, it goes on a loop from C'an Pastilla to Arenal and back.

RICKY'S BAR- A god send, great service, great food and good chat, we enjoyed the quiz every night as there wasn't much else to do at night if you have with kids.

I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SMKworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We chose this hotel because it was one of the cheapest in Can pastilla and it was in close proximity to the beach which appealed to us. We were traveling on a budget and to different destinations. We wasnt expecting much and really dont think that it desereved to be called a three star hotel. The room was small, small bathroom and a balcony. The balcony however did not get any sun and was facing/right next to the cafateria which was unpleasent. We didnt go onto the balcony becuase of cats trying to get in everytime we opened the door. The room iteself was falling apart. Only one light worked, the headboard wasnt connected to the bed nevermind be the right size and the wires for the lights had cables showing. We dealt with this however but didnt enjoy our stay. We had paid for breakfast and there was a poor choice and couldnt find anything we both liked for most of the stay. The staff seemed nice however although there was a language barrier and we did have an incident with one of the maids. the room is cleaned every morning which meant we had to be out of the room and one time we had nipped back into the room to get something and ended up being demanded to empty our own bin and sort out towels by an unpleast cleaner. There was however a very polite cleaner which i belive was named along the lines or eve or eva. The pool was hideously small but you did have the oppotunity to go to the other hotel across the road to their bigger pool and use it. The big problem for us came when we was checking out and was asked to pay for the hotel whereas we thought we had already done so online. There was no mention about this when arriving at the hotel and the small print in the booking form was very unclear to us. However, we paid our 343 euros (which was for two people for a week) and this messed our budgeting which was to last us a month of traveling and being 17/18 year olds we were expected to at least be told about the price on arrival instead of when we was leving for the airport to be there two hours before. For a three star hotel i would see this as a very reasonable price but i think the hotel is close to two stars. We are currently staying in a youth hostel which is extremely well kept and 100% better than this hotel. Some travellers would not want to stay in a youth hostel but it suits us and i would advise anyone on a budget or travelling to different destinations to do so. Overall, we had an uncomfortable stay even with our low expectations. Most staff are nice and will try to help if they understand which was great but i would never go there again and would advise people not to.

Room Tip: If you really want to go here, something that would improve your stay is to go their ajoning hotel which is across the road and is much more spacious and has a larger pool. Also to request at least the second floor so you can have use of your balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grace w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is a really nice place to stay in Can Pastilla. It is great what you get for the price you pay. The food is fine, the rooms are clean and the beach is near. Staff is very friendly and they will always find a way to help you even if their English is not perfect. The bus stop for Palma is just across the street, which is also a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jovana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Very nice hotel. Close to the beach. Very good service for good price

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Radek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

If anyone has read my previous reviews, you'd see why they were not so great! This 3* hotel, was excellent for the price. We could not get into our usual Hotel so chose this one instead and took a chance.

Ok, from the small street it's in the initial appearance isn't as inspiring as those set back with their own drive, but from the moment you walk in, the service from the staff is really pleasant and polite, very welcoming! We stayed here for 3 days for a long weekend, the location was perfect for us, easy access to the Beach, shops, bars and restaurants, plus bus stops just a minute away!

Rooms were clean and tidy! Which is a must for me. They are not particularly big and the layout could be a little better, but is functional! Beds were not Hard and uncomfortable, air con, TV, Wardrobe, balcony, safe box (deposit required) available...what more do you need to just sleep in when out enjoying the views and local amenities at all other times. No tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, but the Hotel does have a 24hr Bar, reasonably priced and they are more than happy for you to take drinks to your room.

We stayed just Bed and Breakfast, It's a basic Breakfast buffet, but more than adequate unless you want a fry up. Toast, Yoghurt, Fruit juice, tea, coffee, croissants, cheese and sliced meats, some cereal and a few other Continental choices. For me this was a case of not trying to be more than it is, which is why it works!

The decor throughout is ok, it is maintained and room improvements were being made to some rooms during our stay, which for me is a good sign that they know that there is always room to improve, instead of settling for just what they have. (keep it up Gala!)

A few niggles, in case this may bother you. The road out the front can get a little busy, but we stayed on the 3rd floor so wasn't so bad, so would recommend 3 or higher. The lift in the hotel is small, four people could be a squeeze and is a little jumper as of an old design, but is in good working order, but if lifts are an issue for you, keep this in mind. (Personally we just thought it was funny)

I have already recommended this hotel and will certainly consider using this again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank REAL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews