We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amic Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Amic Gala
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Very close to sea, clear and beautiful beach. Food is delicious, rooms are clean, stuff is very friendly, wi fi is free. Pool, hair dryer,tv,air conditioner, safe (2 euro per day). I really recommend this hotel! A lot of shops and restaurants are near by.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Juli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    88
    77
    29
    33
See reviews for
33
118
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights B&B, mainly because it was so close to the airport as my flight arrived at midnight. I had booked the Miraflores but it was not open yet and there was a notice saying to go to the Gala. I did not get a very good first impression because the room I was allocated was already occupied (and the occupants, who were on the balcony, freaked out a bit when I let myself in).

Then I couldn't find the next room It was down a corridor that looked in the process of being renovated. The room was ok though. I had asked for a room away from street noise but I was right on the street and close to the junction with a much busier street so I really needed my earplugs because of the early morning traffic. I would have tried to get moved if I had been staying longer. The bed was quite comfortable.

Breakfast was only continental but quite good. They didn't seem very strict on finishing time either (didn't switch the drinks machines off till a while after 10) and didn't seem to mind if you wandered outside with a coffee.

Can Pastilla itself, ie the area if you go right at the sea front, is lovely and quite Spanish with lots of sea food restaurants around the harbour and a great little sheltered beach that would be ideal with small children. If you go left at the sea front you are going towards Arenal. There is a wonderful beach that goes for miles but the further you go the more German it becomes. It is said to be the German Magaluf. Most of the bars and restaurants seem to be German-owned and have mainly german food and menus in german only. Their lager louts are as bad as ours and there was quite a police presence in one area the afternoon I was there. I found a lovely biergarten (big, with sofas and a fountain)on a back street though.

The daytime receptionists at the Gala were very helpul and printed some stuff out for me.

Overall, it felt a bit more like a hostel than a hotel but it grew on me over a couple of days and I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiouxieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The room had very poor sound isolation, I could hear people of next room as if they were inside my room.
Stayed 4 nights there. The two first nights the next room was occupied by german tourists who liked to watch TV in the middle of the night.
Then they left and have been replaced by two young men that made ring the alarm of their phone at 4AM and then talked loudly the next hour while preparing their baggage to catch their flight.
The last night they were replaced by two other young men who came back to the hotel completely drunk at 2AM, yelling in the corridor and banging to the doors. One hour later, this time from the room on the other side, a couple started to have sexual activity in a very demonstrative way, at least it hasn't lasted long...
So, as you can guess I never had a good sleep in that hotel.

Additionally, water pressure is pathetic and it takes a long time before you can have hot water for a shower.

Note that, as some other reviewers, I didn't choose that hotel, but I have been moved there because the hotel I had booked (Miraflores, same management) is closed for renovation. The management continue to take reservations on the Miraflores (that has a better rating), in order to fill the rooms of the Gala. Poor attitude...

Room Tip: Book in an other hotel if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CH_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Can Pastilla hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Visited the hotel for 4 days in May with my boyfriend. We initially booked Miraflores just across the street but it seemed to be closed... We got the room on the 3rd floor with a street view. Noise from the street and other room initially annoyed me but the mattress was so comfortable, i fell asleep quickly and had a great sleep every night. During the day also noisy from the street but we didn't really use the room. Room cleaned daily. It wasn't as dated as some people describe. Mirrored wardrobe useful for getting ready ;-) Breakfast was average, could do better really... Location great for the area, two minutes to the beach and promenade. There are plenty places for last minute snack just round the corner. Would recommend finding a bakery that's less than 5 minutes away. Great cakes!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skifi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We, as a few people appear to have done, booked the Miraflores which is the sister hotel of the Gala. However it just looked completely abandoned. Nevertheless we were happy being 'upgraded' from a 2* hotel to a 3*. The hotel overall is clean, quite dated and averagely disappointing. There are no double rooms, just 2 single beds shoved together, they're also like sleeping on what I imagine a prison bed would be like.

The location of the hotel is superb, however avoid getting a taxi from the airport as it costs €14 whereas a bus will be around €2-3 and will leave you 30 seconds from the hotel. The beach is also a 2 minute walk and is absolutely beautiful. You can venture to Arenal, however it's all geared very much toward German tourists.

If you have a good hunt around Can Pastilla you can find some amazing places for food etc. I think we visited the Manchester Pub on most nights, really friendly welcoming bar with lovely staff. For food I cannot recommend Rias Gallegas enough, complete locally run restaurant, although their English may not be much to shout about, the food is tremendous. For something a bit different in terms of nightlife try El Ancla. It's a shisha bar with excellent cocktails and an amazing chilled out vibe.

Overall, hotel average, area fantastic. Would definitely return but maybe to another hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here one night in September and I was really greatful it was only one night, the room Was furnished with old furnitures that was really run down and it was very warm and the AC wasn't working properly so it made no difference.
The beds were not really comfteble and made it hard to sleep.
The breakfast buffet was ok with the normal selection and the staff was pretty quick to clean tables.
The main reason this hotel is alive is that it is only 250 meters from the beach, so that is really positive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TegnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My heart belongs to Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked a late weekend break with Travel Republic to make up for the miserable British summer, and wanting somewhere without a long flight and transfer time, we flew to Palma and booked the Miraflores hotel in C'an Pastilla, somewhere we'd seen many times flying in and out of Mallorca, but had never visited. It was the "5 minute taxi ride" that attracted us, and we weren't disappointed. After an amazingly fast flight of only 1 hour and 55 minutes from East Midlands, we were off the aircraft and straight into a taxi (only travelling with hand luggage is always a bonus), it turns out that the "5 minute taxi ride" was wrong. It was more like 2 minutes! Basically, we left the house for the airport and 7 hours later we were on the beach. But we hadn't come from the Miraflores. That was closed. We didn't discover why, but we think it may have been for some refurbishment. We were directed over the road to the 3* Gala, the sister hotel of the 2* Miraflores. Nice reception area, very friendly staff, brand new lift. The rooms were a bit tired, but the beds were comfy and the room and bathroom were very clean. The aircon was included in the room price and there was a very handy fridge in there too. The only thing we had to pay extra for was the safe, but at €2 a day it was hardly expensive. If you're B&B at the Miraflores you'll eat at the Gala, and breakfast was adequate, cereal, hardboiled eggs, cold meats and cheese and lots of cakes! Lashings of tea, coffee and juice and we were set up for the day, which usually consisted of a huge walk in the morning then the beach all afternoon. Be aware that they are very old hotels, and they are a little tired, as is the rest of C'an Pastilla, but they, like the area, have a "down at heel charm" that was very quaint. The area was lovely, the beach was incredible and the paseo, from C'an Pastilla to S'Arenal was utterly amazing. I've never experienced a promenade like it, 3 miles of no traffic, just shoppers, strollers, power walkers, joggers and cyclists. You also need to be aware that this area is not geared towards Brits, there are very few British owned bars etc, it's far more German/Scandinavian orientated, but that didn't make it a bad thing in my opinion. If you want a holiday that will reward a good walk with a great atmosphere and no loutish Brits, this place may be an option! The cycle/foot path also goes the other way, all the way to Palma. It's a nice walk on foot, 9 miles to the Cathedral only took us 2 hours and was well worth the effort. We will definitely be visiting again. Maybe with padded shorts and cleated shoes next time too! Oh, and make sure you take earplugs, the main bus route runs right past the front of the hotel, and all that traffic that's missing from the front seems to go past the front of the hotel too. At times it was like being in the centre of Barcelona! But other than that, for what we paid and the value for money it was, we have absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carlosthejackal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Miraflores
Hotel Amic Miraflores
#15 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Linda
Hotel Roc Linda
#13 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautic Hotel & Spa
Nautic Hotel & Spa
#10 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#8 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amic Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amic Gala

Property: Hotel Amic Gala
Address: Calle Xabec 5, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amic Gala 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel in Palm Beach with direct connection to the Airport has 126 rooms, dining room, bar and lounge. Basic Internet is free in public areas. Hotel Amic Gala goes along with Amic Miraflores Hotel (opposite) so it will be able to use the swimming pool of Hotel Miraflores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Amic Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amic Gala Can Pastilla
Amic Gala Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Amic Gala Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing