We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Certificate of Excellence
Glos
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“October family holiday”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location just ten minutes from the airport - bliss when you commute back home. Could not really hear the planes either. Just a track to cross to the beach which was wide and uncrowded.
Great room with kitchenette (no kettle) but only one English tv channel. Food was varied and high quality (even for a veggie)and the chefs really wanted to please you. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Indoor pool was fun for my five year old but the evening entertainment was lacking with 20 mins of mini disco then nothing...two nights there was a singer and brilliant flamenco show but other than that a bit dull. Lots of cycle hire shops at 5 euro a day so plenty to do plus the aquarium is only out the back of the hotel - which was a hit with my son. Little shop at the back of the hotel was much cheaper than the seafront shops. We would stay here again and met many nice people staying here.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlosAcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    158
    60
    17
    23
See reviews for
195
93
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sizewell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mother, father, 8 year old son - friendly helpful front desk staff.
Friendly, helpful restaurant staff.
First class variety of food - we took half-board.
Clean hotel throughout - fresh towels and room service every day.
Sea view.
Clean, well maintained hotel pool.
Daily kids entertainment for a couple of hours.
Beach literally out of front gate and across the road - 30 yards?
Beach 'combed and rolled' each night - lovely and clean.
Beach and general area devoid of drunks and undesirables - a family place!
Hotel mini-market half the price for same items in mini-market on the sea front.
You can watch the planes come in or take off all day long - depending on climatic conditions.
Will definitely go back.
(The comments of a seasoned non-snob traveller!!)

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view - the outlook from the rear is pretty drab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWatsonTibshelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lakes, U.K.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Definitely five stars based on what we wanted. What did we want then?

(1) A week by the beach, which is not overcrowded and too noisy, but 'happening'
(2) A quiet apartment (the boy is 12, we want separate rooms) with a good view and nice bathroom
(3) Clean and secure accommodation
(4) Close to the beach
(5) Not far from the city (10min ride on cheap and regular bus number 25 from across the road) - Palma requires a separate review - we do want to go back
(6) No fuss, not so expensive breakfast
(7) Clean safe pool with a bar nearby :-)

So we got all this, and very nicely too, thank you Fontanellas Playa. But we also received very pleasant service, the fantastic Aquarium practically across the road, lovely clean beach (water depends on the weather somewhat) and as much nightlife as we wanted. Which is not too much nowadays, I have to admit, but music bars, jazz in the vicinity and in Palma (check out Hotel Saratoga jazz club), and great food were much appreciated.

The place itself was very clean, pleasantly smelling (don't laugh, this is important for me), fresh towels abound and very importantly with most helpful, competent service.

Highly recommended.

One practical tip from a phone/iPad geek: the hotel WiFi which you can get for a week for 15Euro is OK. We were hoping to get a data card for our WiFi (MiFi) dongle (Huawei 586) and the prices quoted by the mobile phone shops in town were ridiculous. The cheapest option was to use the hotel WiFi and (when out and about) our O2 'travel allowance' (just be careful with this and switch the data roaming off when not necessary). So don't waste your time on chasing mobile phone shops (unless you know something I don't, or something changes drastically), it is much better spent pottering around the really great city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, sea-view room. Given enough notice they will do this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirdCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great week spent here with 2 teenage children (2 week would be too long to be entertained). The food was very good, 2 gridled hot dishes everynight and a carvery meat every other night (canapes otherwise or chinese type snacks). The entertainment was awful, parrot show that lasted half an hour and a reptile show for about the same time were the highlights of the week ! But great location on the sea front and safe promanade to walk down after dinner. Loads of sun beds , pools small but big enough for a dip but not for a swim, sea calm in the morning and breakers in the afternoon which was great fun.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and only pay a deposit and on arrival you settle the bill...........best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizbell499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Separate bedroom for the parents, kitchen and dining area and a nice bathroom.
New towels every day if you need. (only pick is that some days the rooms weren't cleaned until 15.30/16.00 wich I think is kind of late...)
Pool area is nice, two "deep" pools, and one for the small children with the deepest water no higher than 0.5m. And the beach is just across the strip.

The breakfast is the best in Mallorca so far, fresh pressed orange juice and a chef frying eggs and pancakes. Lots of different fresh baked breads, meats and cheeses, fruits and cereals. Dinner is also very good and has variety in both cold and warm food, fish, meats and salads.

The location suits us very good, as it's practically on the beach, and just 15 min. to Palma with the bus (5 min. back with a taxi). And the area is (a lot) quiter than Arenal.

We had a great stay in 2012, and an even greater stay in july 2013.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank InaHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in May The hotel was excellent and the food varied and very good Although we gad an apartment it was well worth the extra for half board This hotel also did snacks at lunchtime and these were adequate and reasonably priced The staff were first rate and very helpful Altogether it was a hotel I would return too
Unfortunately crime in Playa de Palma is prevalent If you are a victim do not expect any help from the Policia Local who as a law enforcement agency are worse than useless My wife is a former police officer in Strathclyde I in Aberdeen The Policia Local have no interest in doing other than writing crime reports In our case they did not take a statement nor were they at all interested even after being told that my wife could describe and probably identify the miscreant They were a disgrace to their force and made the criminals life a lot easier

Room Tip: we were in 129 - a good sea view and no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Arrived earlier than expected and was given room 010 on ground floor. View from room not worth writing about but located next to the supermarket which had it's good points especially when they baked bread. Accommodation spotless and possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Sky tv but only 2 English channels (news) as the hotel caters more for Germans.Excellent choice of food for breakfast and evening meals. NO ENTERTAINMENT on the 8 days we were there which didn't really bother us. Did not experience any issues with staff infact opposite to the other reviews. 2 euros each from airport and 1.5 euros from hotel to Palma which due to the bad weather (rained 7 days out of 8) we travelled to every day. 12km walking/cycle path into Palma outside hotel. Plenty of tourist shops & restuarants on sea front. We found staff to be helpful and pleasant but hubby got told off on last day for not putting his cycle in the basement. Would certainly stop there again as it was convenient in every way ie cycling, getting into Palma and oh beach across from the road/cycle path.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#4 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.7 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa

Property: Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Address: Calle Caravel.La S/N, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#4 Spa Hotel in Can Pastilla
#6 Luxury Hotel in Can Pastilla
#7 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa Hotel Playa De Palma
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa De Palma
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing