We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3star hotel - 5star service”
Review of Hotel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First impression of the hotel was the beautiful location on seafront with raised terrace bar. Next (and most importantly) was the lovely warm welcome at reception followed quickly by the bar! Those with issues about plastic glasses need not worry - you only have to ask for a small beer.
We were so chilled in the bar that it was quite a while before we went to our room. Although not huge, the rooms were kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and the power shower and proper hairdryer were a bonus.
We were all inclusive and couldn't fault the food, always beautifully cooked and fresh. Choice of soups, meat, fish, pasta and vegetarian option at dinner each day with plenty of cheese, cold meats, bread, tapas, veg, salads and fresh fruits. Tables were cleared in a flash and we never had to wait to be seated.
Fruit, yoghurt, pastries cold meats, lovely warm bread as well as hot food for breakfast. They don't display fried eggs, but you only have to ask the lovely chef/cook of the day and they will happily fry one for you.
Antonio, the owner, is all over the place - bar, restaurant, reception, unloading lorries , dancing with his guests, and he does all he can to ensure that his guests are happy. Perhaps that's why all of the staff are so friendly, efficient and helpful. We really felt as if they were genuinely pleased to have a chat and a joke.
There were lots of nationalities staying at the hotel and we were in the minority, but a few words, a smile and hand gestures meant that we managed to communicate with Russians, Germans, Austrians and French guests.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leenv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We feel very happy that our guests, like you, write so nice and detailled comments, and share their good experiences with everyone.

Our main target is achieved: satisfy our guests with our services, and with our good attention with all of you.

All the team sends you many greetings, especially Antonio who reads, every day, all comments and he felt very proud and happy to read yours.

Thank you again,

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Welsh couple who stayed for a week starting on Sept 7 2013. Had a lovely sea view room, the best in the hotel and really enjoyed our stay and will be back in 2014.
Sea/beach views from the rooftop solarium (with Jacuzzi) impressive and that area was very quiet in the day time when we stayed there. Hotel has recently been refurbished and public areas looked very smart. Staff, from receptionists to cleaners very, very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. Breakfast was lovely (although you have to ask for cooked Bacon and Eggs if you want them), so that was no problem. We were half board and in our view the evening meal was a bit hit and miss, but mostly edible and we ate there every night.
Loads of shops in vicinity and further, very clean beach and shallow sea too. Resort train (motorised on roadway) would take shoppers the length of the resort for a 9 euro charge (return for two people) which went all the way to Arenal. So plenty to do. Entertainment at hotel was on for 2 nights of our 7 night stay which was ok by us.
We usually stay in Palma Nova and fancied a change. The resort is catered more for Germans, Norwegians and Finish holiday makers, and we hardly heard a British accent, but that didn't bother us as, for once, we actually felt like we were 'abroad'.
The only thing we weren't happy about was that the door to the rooftop solarium wasn't locked at night and we could hear some hotel revellers up there late into the night and on a couple of occasions after midnight.
The hotel would also benefit from a gym (even if it was a small one).
We will be definitely returning and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AfordCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Many thanks for your very nice comment, for the 5 points and the title speaks for itself.
We love to receive this kind of writing, we are so pleased to satisfy our guests, That is our main target, of course.

We take note of your suggestions and complaints, we can understand that it has been disturbing the noise upstairs at the rooftop solarium. Many guests want to enjoy the night light to relax in the Jacuzzi. But we have taken the decision to close that door every night from 23:00. It's only fair, all our guests have to have a good rest.

Thank you very much again for your recommendation and your wish to come back and visit us.

All the team send you friendly regards,

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we stayed here from the 9th september for 1 week stayed all inclusive. found all the services and staff very nice and helpful.wonderful location on the beach and very quiet .only problem they cater for the germans i think we were the only english family there,so if you want fried eggs and bacon for b.fast you have to ask the chef.plus there is no fridge or kettle and you certainly need a table on the balcony every other hotel has a table to put your drinks on,and yes plastic cups its an all adult hotel perhaps you should treat us like adults.the views are out of this world from the roof terrace but beware the was hot tub very dirty. all in all a very good hotel and would definetly go again.if your disabled like i was your wheelchair does not fit in lift if you cannot get out from it.take the train ride along the coast, don't go to arenal more like magaluf very noisy.the hotel was fully booked but only had entertanmaint on 2 nights.

Room Tip: if your disabled ask for room 207 facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

First, we really want to thank you for the very good note, 6 points is the best we can imagine.
We are glad that your stay was nice.
It is true that we receive a majority of German customers, but we assure you that the our english guests are very wellcome, this summer we had the pleasure to receive many more than other years, and many were very happy and they also shared their good experience.

We take note of all your suggestions, any feedback is important and they should serve us to improve, even provide better service.
(in fact, we have already replaced the plastic cups for crystal glasses. we use much plastic in summer for guests to take drinks to the beach)

Thank you very much again, and we really want to see you very soon.

All the team sends you many greetings,

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Perfectly situated just in front of the beach and blessed with friendly, warm and helpful staff who make you feel welcome and at home. We passed 10 days basked in brilliant sunshine and the Can Pastilla area is quite a fun place with a variety of shops and restaurants nearby. The Playa Hotel also offers live shows on the Wednesdays and Sundays that are well animated. The singer Kenya, from Cuba, who performs every Sunday is of International standard and brings the house down with ease. I am already planning my return next year 2014.

Room Tip: I like the sea view and so choose a room facing the sea in front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you so much for a so great and positive comments about us and about our services.
We are very happy to get our customers compliment us as you do.
It's a great reward for us that you share the good experience you had with us. We feel proud of our work and effort.

Next summer much and better.
All the team wishes you all the best.

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very special and fine hotel just by the Beach, very friendly staff, fine and clean rooms, perfect surroundings for friends, lovers and everybody who wants a relaxing holiday by the beach, near Palma. The hotel souladakis have at least 4 stars - I give my best recommondations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are delighted to read a comment so good and nice about us.
We're getting one of our main target, that our customers have a good experience at our hotel and share it with everyone.

Thank you very much on behalf of the whole team that we are.

See you soon!

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We just came back from this hotel, vacation was lovely but we have some suggestion to improve quality in Hotel Playa. The rooms really aren't clean enough, floors are wash horribly,in the bathrooms it seems they clean only toilet. Even after leaving tips for the maid nothing change.. I work in the cleaning myself so I know how clean hotel room should look like.
We had room in a first floor and was extremely noisy, we could hear everything whats going on in the reception, no sound isolation what so ever.
The food was good, except the breakfast which was the same EVERY DAY. I heard other guest complaining about this also. We had All Inclusive but it wasn't worth the money. I drink only wine which you can get only in the restaurant during lunsj and dinner. In the bar you get only beer and spirits. Doesn't work for me :)
TV has only one channel in English!
Location and renovated part of the hotel is the best features of the Hotel Playa. Roof top terrace very nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

First we want to thank you for letting us your comment, and for taking the time to write about us.
All comments good or not so good must always serve to improve our service. And the best way to improve is that our customers let us know what more they liked, such as the perfect location beachfront, the nice renovation of the hotel and also our very nice rooftop with deck for sunbathing and our jacuzzi. But also the least, as the room cleaning. We have a daily cleaning service, our waitress spent many years working with us and we can not understand what could have happened, but of course that will transfer your complaint to concerned department so we do not receive this comment anymore.

We work every day to vary a maximum our breakfast which we serve on the terrace, usually like a lot to most of our customers. We feel sorry that you were not satisfied.

For the subject of the drinks included in the all inclusive, it is true that wine is only served in the restaurant, but in the bar there is a wide range of other beverages, other than beer, local spirits also, sodas, juices and coffees.

You can be sure that we consider each of your suggestions for further better our services.

We send you very best regards from Mallorca.

Myriam Paty
Manager Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My parents,partner and i stayed at the Playa from Aug 28th to Sept 3rd..Its a lovely location Hotel and overlooks the beach..the rooms are basic, modern and clean..think a small table is necessary on the balcony for guests to put drinks on etc...we loved the rooftop terrace and hot tub which had superb views of the sea...we were all inclusive the food was fine but not a great choice to choose from.. but you will always find something that you can eat...the staff work very hard to ensure you have a nice holiday..we would have liked a bit more entertainment on as their was only two nights of this...we would however still return to the Playa and would highly recommend it for a holiday and look forward to returning in the near future...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 307donna_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelplaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We really appreciate the time you have spent writing your comments about us.
It's nice to read that your stay was good, that you enjoyed our services, liked our nice terrace upstairs with these so nice views and also our all-inclusive service.

We take good note of all your suggestions and you can be sure that we will consider them.

All the team are very proud to read comments like yours, it is true that we all work a lot to improve every day and always we do all our best to get good feed backs, like yours.

Thank you very much again, many greeting from all of us.

Myriam Paty
Hotel PLAYA***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.6 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Arenas
Hotel Las Arenas
#9 of 24 in Can Pastilla
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa

Address: Calle Pollacra 1 | Ca'n Pastilla, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only for adults over 18. Refurbished since 2.013. Specially designed for cyclists, businessmen and holidaymakers in a relaxing atmosphere and with wonderful sea views. Located just in front of the famous Playa de Palma. Enjoy of the open air's large terrace in front of the beach having your favourite drink and with Snack-Bar's service. All the rooms refurbished since 2013. Heating and air conditioning. Most of them have sea view and balcony or terrace. Our Buffet's restaurant (refurbished in 2014) offers bed & breakfast, half board or all inclusive's service. You can enjoy your breakfast at the Snack-Bar's terrace overlooking the sea. On the rooftop, you will discover a relaxing Solarium's terrace with impressive sea views and you can enjoy sunbathing, having a shower or enjoying the tub (whirlpool). Large and modern Cycling Station with capacity for 77 bikes. Enjoy your stay together with Hotel Playa's Team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Playa Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing