We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Playa yesterday. We were in room 115 which had a side sea view. The rooms are extremely minimalist but very clean and suited us for only a few nights. The aircon was free and even in June was needed at night.

Breakfasts were great, very continental, but the hotel mainly caters for its German guests. We only found one other English couple whilst we were there. I can't comment on lunch as we were Half board, but there was always plenty to eat at dinner time.

There is NO POOL, contrary to some holiday websites. There is a jacuzzi on the roof terrace but that is it.

The beach opposite the hotel is beautiful, cleaned daily. You can hire sun beds but they are quite expensive. Cheaper by far to buy an umbrella and use the inflatables that have been left at the hotel.

The promenade stretched down to S'Arenal (which is a bit lively) just under 5km and the other way, we walked to Palma in around 2 hours which is well worth a trip.

Very cyclist friendly and you can hire bikes everywhere.

Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyJules73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We needed to upgrade our room on arrival as the original room ( on the left hand side when standing with your back to the beach) would hardly ever see any sun on the balcony. Our second floor beach facing corner room had sun all day but the best rooms were on the top floor and had private terraces with sun beds.The rooms are sparsely furnished and the bathroom needs some storage facility as the single glass shelf is inadequate. The beds are firm but comfortable. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and there is a good choice. Evening meals again had a fairly good choice and the quality of food is fine. We were made to feel like criminals by the female head waiter when we helped ourselves to the wine on tap not realising this was for All inc guests only. There is no sign to indicate this. Most of the staff were very pleasant although only a few spoke any English.
Overall pretty good value with the plus being Adults only the minus being no swimming pool. There is a Jacuzzi on the roof terrace which is quite useful for a quick cooling off dip.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms have afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 956Jonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice clean hotel but definitely needs to cater for the British alot more.only a couple of the staff could talk moderate English.rooms where OK but could do with some drawer space as there wasn't any.my wife and I requested a seaview room which we did get but at an extra €160 for a ten day stay.we where with friends who needed a disabled room which they had asked for and received.at an extra cost of course.the food was more for the Germans than the English,good job they had chips on every meal,never eaten so many chip butties. Food leftover from breakfast was made into something different at lunch and what was leftover at lunch was made into another concoction for the evening meal.no English sausages at breakfast,got proper fried bacon on 2 occasions otherwise it was swimming in oil and fatty. Had baked beans on one occasion. The bar opened at 11am until 11pm for all inclusive and you had to pay for drinks 11 till midnight. Very poor service throughout the day,we paid for a litre of sangria as it wasn't included and believe it or not we had to wait for over an hour before we received it.we got a German speaking American called Tom to go and sort it for us.the girls behind the bar had to help in the restaurant during meal times so were not able to serve us during meal times as they were busy collecting pots and dishes. A group of 30 danish folk turned up on Friday 23rd May the day before we came away and the boss finally left a girl behind the bar for a little longer to look after them.we had 2 evenings with entertainment out of ten days.first night was a so called DJ and the next one was a female singer,not bad but was spoiled by a drunken loud couple who were asked to leave the bar because the Germans had complained. Thought you went on holiday to chill and enjoy yourselves. The couple were English and were singing and dancing to the music.(not allowed in germany I don't think).your asked to be out of your room on departure day by 12 noon which my wife and I were but our friends had to collect some things from a local shop and when they came back to the hotel at 5 past 12(disabled couple this is)they were locked out of their room and had to come back to reception and asked to be let back in to collect their suitcases. One last gripe from me was that if you were still sat in the bar at midnight you had to drink up or have your drink transferred to a plastic glass because you weren't allowed a glass after midnight then they turned the lights out and was basically told to go to bed.if you are wheelchair bound then this hotel will be no good as a wheelchair will not fit in the lift unless you fold it down.overall we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms do not get the sun until 5pm ish but fabulous view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy260162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Playa is only 10 min drive from the airport, very convenient. A nice hotel by the beach, good breakfast, small but clean rooms. Very hard beds and a little noisy aircondition. Entertainment one of the evenings we stayed there was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank 1974Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here May 2014. Myself my husband and another couple. The hotel is exceptionally clean the staff never stop and are very polite and helpful. Good food always plentiful and hot. The location is beautiful, quiet and laid back. Not much night life but the Rat Pack Bar plays non stop music and the couple who own it are British. Would definitely go back for a chilled out holiday.

LS

Room Tip: Sea views cost extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staff was polite and helpful. The bike garage was very good. The room was fine but lack refrigerator (a large (-) when you want somthing cold in the middel of the nigth). There was high noice in the dining aeria due to hard surfaces (ekko). and the bar earea could be a bit more cosy (a few plants or a bitt more dimmed lighte) But had a nice stay, and may com back.

Room Tip: The Room i had was with balcony to the backyard and suited me fine - Quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schtainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Playa for eight days cycling guiding and vacation.The location is in the quietest area of Can Pastilla. The 9 km beach is across the promenade. Hard to beat the location.
Room/Hotel
The hotel is of a minimalistic modern design, straight forward, clean and comfortable. Though it was easy to fall asleep after a long day on the bike, my room on the 4th floor was truely quiet. The balcony faced Palma and the warm afternoon sun. I miss having a refrigerator.
Food
Very good. The breakfast and dinner buffets had a wide variety of healthy food choices. It would be nice to have a greater selection of local wines (both red and white).
Price
Very reasonable.
Service
Antonio, Myrjam and the rest of the staff are A1 and second to none. Great service. Friendly and personal. For our group, the storage facilities and bicycle garage worked perfectly.

Would i stay there again? YES.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
0.6 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa

Address: Calle Pollacra 1 | Ca'n Pastilla, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
#1 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range: £70 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only for adults over 18. Refurbished since 2.013. Specially designed for cyclists, businessmen and holidaymakers in a relaxing atmosphere and with wonderful sea views. Located just in front of the famous Playa de Palma. Enjoy of the open air's large terrace in front of the beach having your favourite drink and with Snack-Bar's service. All the rooms refurbished since 2013. Heating and air conditioning. Most of them have sea view and balcony or terrace. Our Buffet's restaurant (refurbished in 2014) offers bed & breakfast, half board or all inclusive's service. You can enjoy your breakfast at the Snack-Bar's terrace overlooking the sea. On the rooftop, you will discover a relaxing Solarium's terrace with impressive sea views and you can enjoy sunbathing, having a shower or enjoying the tub (whirlpool). Large and modern Cycling Station with capacity for 77 bikes. Enjoy your stay together with Hotel Playa's Team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Playa Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing