We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June break 2014”
Review of Hotel Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“June break 2014”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival was pleased to see how clean and modern the hotel looked.
Room nice size but no balcony just a door! Asked for another room no problem, still at the back of the building but got a balcony , the problem was the noise from the generator it droned on and on!!!! No sleep,
New room again no problem,this time got a bit of a view, the food is ok to good! Always found something to eat.

I could go on and on but in general ,this hotel is geared for German clientele,so unless this suits you then I would not recommend this hotel for the English, there is no pool ( it is advertised on some sites has having one) there was only entertainment on 2 nights ( female singer very good & a disco another night) advertised has having entertainment every night?
There is a roof terrace with small jacuzzi but it's 5 floors down to get a drink!

In conclusion , nice and clean,pleasant staff, right on the beach,beautiful area, great holiday

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndawn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    186
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
53
359
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Before I start I want to make clear that this Is one of the best small hotels that we have been to and yes we will definitely go back.Any negative points I bring up are minor and did not spoil our holiday and will not spoil yours so If you want a really nice holiday get booking.We arrived at the hotel just after midday I timed It from the airport to the hotel 5 minutes exactly and €15 lighter well €20 with the tip.It Is a capital city so I suppose It was about right.We had paid €110 for a sea facing room and It was worth every euro.If you are going to get one then you want a corner one on the L'Arenal side.This Is because the sun rises behind the Hotel Playa and shines on the balcony at 8.45 am (in early June) and then you have It all day.The corner sea front rooms are slightly bigger and they also must use them for the disabled holiday makers.The door opens out wards and there Is a sliding door Into a great bathroom with a seat to sit down to have a shower.A wheelchair would have no problem In this room.It should be noted that you will not get a wheelchair onto the balcony because the opening Is too small.Our room 207 there was a problem with the lock on the patio door because you could not lock It.I have worked In the UPVC Industry and It's clear to me that the locks are not fit for purpose It was no problem because being on the 2 floor no one could get In through our balcony.the All Inclusive Is a must for what you pay for It and I must say the Mahou larger was divine It's part of the SanMiguel group say no more.During the day It was a pain trying to get a drink though,you would go to the bar and there was no one there and they serve the drink In half pint glasses.On an evening when It's warm your cold drink produces condensation outside of the glass and drips onto the table.Many times we would go to an empty table and the waitress had taken the empty glasses but not wiped the table so It was all sticky.The ash trays should be emptied with the glasses It's offensive to non smokers.The food was great although no soup for afternoon lunch which was a shame because It was fantastic I looked forward to It every evening.Its mainly German guests and the German women looked very smart for evening dinner but they don't have much Influence on their menfolk who thought t shirt shorts and flip flops were evening wear.The snacks for All Inclusive was poor on average 6 biscuits 2 slices of bread with ham or cheese cut up Into bite size pieces. The coffee machine at breakfast Is the best I have tasted from a machine fast & hot but unfortunately half way through the week we were presented with our breakfast on the patio and had to make do with Lukewarm coffee.Breakfast on the patio Is a nice Idea but If you were just sitting down when someone was finishing their breakfast you had them blowing smoke all over you It was back to the bad old days,so we ate Inside but still nice.The Internet In your room great value at €5 per day or €20 for the week.We got It for the week but It was very weak & slow I could not download any British newspapers onto my IPad but we kept In touch with our children via Facebook and was OK for watching the news etc.The best value In Can Pastilla Is the Wally / noddy train It's €4.50 and for that you go to almost the marina at L'Arenal and around and beyond the marina at Can Pastilla.There are 3 trains you can get off once but your ticket Is valid for any train.Its a bit bumpy but the most comfortable train was the one with a pointy face like an express train.The rooftop hot tub ,surrounded by sun beds was brilliant ,we were by ourselves most of the time.If you like watching the aeroplanes this Is the place to be you can see the control tower from the roof It was brilliant.If you got too hot just put your head over the side and you will soon cool down.Some reviewers have complained that the staff don't speak very good English,It makes me laugh we are In Spain get to Blackpool If you want to be understood.Part of the charm of Spain Is trying to talk Spanish like Dos Cerverca Por favor and I'm sure the Spanish appreciate you are at least trying.The young ladies working behind the bar were all lovely girls ( the type of girl to bring home to your mum.)We arrived on the 2 nd June for one week It got very warm about 30 deg by the end of the week and my wife ditched her cardigan halfway through the week,before then she had It on walking around on an evening.As I said earlier don't be put off by my minor niggles you will enjoy.In the words of Arnold Swartzeneger I'll be back.Ps The safe Is In your room €22 per week pay €25 get €3 back when you leave.Almost forgot we had to leave home for the airport at 7 am so we would miss breakfast so they opened up for us and turned the coffee machine on and brought fruit and sandwiches so that we went on our way full. To be fair they gave us a couple enough food for 4 people. You don't get that service in some large hotel chains. All in all a superb hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful and they really look after you. Here's to the next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Playa yesterday. We were in room 115 which had a side sea view. The rooms are extremely minimalist but very clean and suited us for only a few nights. The aircon was free and even in June was needed at night.

Breakfasts were great, very continental, but the hotel mainly caters for its German guests. We only found one other English couple whilst we were there. I can't comment on lunch as we were Half board, but there was always plenty to eat at dinner time.

There is NO POOL, contrary to some holiday websites. There is a jacuzzi on the roof terrace but that is it.

The beach opposite the hotel is beautiful, cleaned daily. You can hire sun beds but they are quite expensive. Cheaper by far to buy an umbrella and use the inflatables that have been left at the hotel.

The promenade stretched down to S'Arenal (which is a bit lively) just under 5km and the other way, we walked to Palma in around 2 hours which is well worth a trip.

Very cyclist friendly and you can hire bikes everywhere.

Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyJules73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We needed to upgrade our room on arrival as the original room ( on the left hand side when standing with your back to the beach) would hardly ever see any sun on the balcony. Our second floor beach facing corner room had sun all day but the best rooms were on the top floor and had private terraces with sun beds.The rooms are sparsely furnished and the bathroom needs some storage facility as the single glass shelf is inadequate. The beds are firm but comfortable. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and there is a good choice. Evening meals again had a fairly good choice and the quality of food is fine. We were made to feel like criminals by the female head waiter when we helped ourselves to the wine on tap not realising this was for All inc guests only. There is no sign to indicate this. Most of the staff were very pleasant although only a few spoke any English.
Overall pretty good value with the plus being Adults only the minus being no swimming pool. There is a Jacuzzi on the roof terrace which is quite useful for a quick cooling off dip.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms have afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 956Jonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice clean hotel but definitely needs to cater for the British alot more.only a couple of the staff could talk moderate English.rooms where OK but could do with some drawer space as there wasn't any.my wife and I requested a seaview room which we did get but at an extra €160 for a ten day stay.we where with friends who needed a disabled room which they had asked for and received.at an extra cost of course.the food was more for the Germans than the English,good job they had chips on every meal,never eaten so many chip butties. Food leftover from breakfast was made into something different at lunch and what was leftover at lunch was made into another concoction for the evening meal.no English sausages at breakfast,got proper fried bacon on 2 occasions otherwise it was swimming in oil and fatty. Had baked beans on one occasion. The bar opened at 11am until 11pm for all inclusive and you had to pay for drinks 11 till midnight. Very poor service throughout the day,we paid for a litre of sangria as it wasn't included and believe it or not we had to wait for over an hour before we received it.we got a German speaking American called Tom to go and sort it for us.the girls behind the bar had to help in the restaurant during meal times so were not able to serve us during meal times as they were busy collecting pots and dishes. A group of 30 danish folk turned up on Friday 23rd May the day before we came away and the boss finally left a girl behind the bar for a little longer to look after them.we had 2 evenings with entertainment out of ten days.first night was a so called DJ and the next one was a female singer,not bad but was spoiled by a drunken loud couple who were asked to leave the bar because the Germans had complained. Thought you went on holiday to chill and enjoy yourselves. The couple were English and were singing and dancing to the music.(not allowed in germany I don't think).your asked to be out of your room on departure day by 12 noon which my wife and I were but our friends had to collect some things from a local shop and when they came back to the hotel at 5 past 12(disabled couple this is)they were locked out of their room and had to come back to reception and asked to be let back in to collect their suitcases. One last gripe from me was that if you were still sat in the bar at midnight you had to drink up or have your drink transferred to a plastic glass because you weren't allowed a glass after midnight then they turned the lights out and was basically told to go to bed.if you are wheelchair bound then this hotel will be no good as a wheelchair will not fit in the lift unless you fold it down.overall we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms do not get the sun until 5pm ish but fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy260162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Playa is only 10 min drive from the airport, very convenient. A nice hotel by the beach, good breakfast, small but clean rooms. Very hard beds and a little noisy aircondition. Entertainment one of the evenings we stayed there was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank 1974Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here May 2014. Myself my husband and another couple. The hotel is exceptionally clean the staff never stop and are very polite and helpful. Good food always plentiful and hot. The location is beautiful, quiet and laid back. Not much night life but the Rat Pack Bar plays non stop music and the couple who own it are British. Would definitely go back for a chilled out holiday.

LS

Room Tip: Sea views cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
0.7 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#8 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#4 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa

Property: Hotel Playa
Address: Calle Pollacra 1 | Ca'n Pastilla, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Can Pastilla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only for adults over 18. Refurbished since 2.013. Specially designed for cyclists, businessmen and holidaymakers in a relaxing atmosphere and with wonderful sea views. Located just in front of the famous Playa de Palma. Enjoy of the open air's large terrace in front of the beach having your favourite drink and with Snack-Bar's service. All the rooms refurbished since 2013. Heating and air conditioning. Most of them have sea view and balcony or terrace. Our Buffet's restaurant (refurbished in 2014) offers bed & breakfast, half board or all inclusive's service. You can enjoy your breakfast at the Snack-Bar's terrace overlooking the sea. On the rooftop, you will discover a relaxing Solarium's terrace with impressive sea views and you can enjoy sunbathing, having a shower or enjoying the tub (whirlpool). Large and modern Cycling Station with capacity for 77 bikes. Enjoy your stay together with Hotel Playa's Team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Playa Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing