We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, fantastic location, good food”
Review of Hotel whala!balmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel whala!balmes
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed 6-13 Sept 2013 with my
Mum and 19 month old (left the hubbies at home!) Last minute deal, initially no balcony but staff were great and got moved when available room. I love salad and the salad bar was fantastic, Fermim the bar man realized I had a small amount of Spanish vocab (GCSE too many years ago) and encouraged and taught me. The blonde lady on reception was amazing and taught me how to do "el mono" the bun she had her hair in, and the dark haired lady was just so sweet and lovely. Can't wait to go back, perfect last
Minute deal

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is great. It is a little bit old, but it´s so clean and the food is quite acceptable. The service is great and the staff is always available for everything you need. The best thing is its location, in a quiet area only a few meters far from the sea. If you are a little bit short of budget, that¨s a great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeatrizC445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel whala!balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you again for the great feedback , I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from Mallorca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My sisters and I stayed here a week ago. Don't be deceived by the photo as the hotel is situated on a side street and does not look as big as shown. On our first day we were told they were fully booked and we would have to stay at another hotel for one night and come back the next day to check in. We asked for a taxi which we asked them to pay for as we were not walking to the hotel(which was walking distance).when we arrived at the hotel they said they were fully booked too and we were sent to the wrong hotel. We then walked down to another hotel.

We checked In the next day and the room was ok. Bathroom was clean You have to pay a deposit if you want to watch tv and wifi you also have to pay for. The food was very basic and tasteless. We decided to eat out everyday.

While some staff were polite some were not. They do not speak very good english and therefore gave wrong directions to everywhere.

The walls are very thin and you can hear everything - dogs barking and the cleaner pushing her trolley around. We were left one towel after room service one day and when asked for another two towels they said they had none. Which was ridiculous,

The pool is very small, the decor is outdated and I wouldn't dare use the pool. Very small.

Very close to the beach and restaurants which is the only perk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel whala!balmes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at whala!balmes. The opinion and feedback of our clients is really important for us as it is the best way to improve everyday. We are aware of the different issues with some of our facilities and are working towards improving them. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I do hope that you were able to enjoy your visit to Mallorca.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. The only downside to my holiday was the weather!
On the first night out room wasn't ready and we were put in a tiny room which didnt have its own bathroom. But the next day we moved into a good sized room with a balcony.
Do beware that not all rooms have balconies and ensuites.
The food was good most nights, only twice did i not enjoy the buffet.
The staff are really nice! I'm sad i didn't properly say goodbye or thank them.
The hotel is situated around 100m from the beach on the west end of playa de palma which is a great beach. At the other end is El arenal which a lot more livelier than Can pastilla.

We went all inclusive, there were only the basic spirits to choose from, the rest you have to pay for.
with all inclusive you get breakfast lunch dinner and snacks ice cream and usual drinks. I would strongly advise to go All inclusive in order to save forking out money everyday on drinks and food.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A group of us stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in June, check was fine, we had to wait to check in, but that was expected as we arrival at 11.30am, we were able to keep our luggage behind reception and get changed into our pool attire, so we didn’t sweat to death.. the guy behind reception was very friendly but the other 2 girls were abit stern and messed us about saying we would have to have a room without an ensuite, something changed?? And we got a room which was ensuite…

Rooms are really small with no air conditioning but, we did only pay about £38 a night all inclusive so you do get what you pay for.. we were only in the room to shower and sleep so it was fine..

The food was quite good, better than I expected, also something to eat.. salad.. fish chicken.. some people must be expecting Michelin star but again, you get what you pay for.. San Miguel was nice.. local vodka.. OK.. the bar staff were lovely especially Enrique.. the one guy Jose could be a bit moody as if he is doing us a favour by giving us a drink..

Location was great, right near the beach and shops….

Anyway the hotel was fine for a few days.. for a longer holiday I would go somewhere else..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor-AVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

positives:

reception staff pleasant, room not ready for 3 hrs, but took luggage till ready
area around pool small and shaded mostly by large tree, but this meant that it was peaceful, with no loud muzak or fun and games! just the way we prefer it.
breakfast was adequate, with a decent choice- only time we ate there as preferred to eat out as you are spoiled for choice and very reasonable prices.
central location, not noisy, safe area.
rooms cleaned everyday, but to basic standard, could do better.


negatives:

had specifically requested nice view, high up and had e-mailed twice to ensure this before arrival - yet got room on 1st floor (107), which had view of a line of dirty washing which was always full every day we stayed. with balcony wall impeding view. - it did get sun though!
stampede at breakfast opening at 8 am, supplies of sausages, scrambled eggs disappear immediately, then a wait for replenishment.
sign up stating you are NOT allowed juice with breakfast unless all inc. and staff police this rigorously.
found hair in my food, first breakfast, which was off-putting, so just ate fruit.
bathroom was tiny, awkward shape with fitting badly situated, making it even smaller, leaking shower made floor slippy, constantly needing mopped.
walls paper thin so you could hear everything - and i mean EVERYTHING!!
bedmats on top of beds grubby looking with holes, and basic blankets- old threadbare towels, all needing renewed.
no entertainment at night- but that was a positive for us - but others may not agree.

All things considered, we would not return to this hotel as the rooms are very basic, the pool area is too small as there is no room to put up a lounger anywhere, they are in a pile, unused, as they would block the path where the tables/chairs are placed round the tiny pool.
Also, there are far nicer hotels with better facilities in this area for the same money.

Room Tip: do not pick room 107 as the view is blocked by a line of dirty washing exactly facing you and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madgeayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hell, I'd love to write a nice review about this hotel, but never actually got to stay there!

I stayed 1 week self catering and 1 week all inclusive in Alcudia and opted to spend the last night in Mallorca before flying home (early flight) at Balmes. I was travelling with my wife and a 13 month old and didn't want to have him travelling too early in the morning. I booked the hotel two months in advance, forwarding my home number, two mobile numbers and an e-mail address.

I had booked a taxi transfer with a child seat to take us from Alcudia to Balmes arriving early in the afternoon. When we got there we were told that there was a "problem" at the hotel which they were careful not to expand upon. At no time did they try to contact us about their "problem". As a sweetener they upgraded us from B&B to Full Board and would transport us to the new hotel at their cost.

When we explained that we had a baby who required a child seat we were told it was not a problem, until they contacted the taxi company, who informed them it would be a problem. One of the reception staff who has a baby seat in his car offered to bring us himself, then he noticed that we had baggage for a two week stay that you wouldn't dream of taking onto a Ryanair flight, so he offered to do the run twice.

We were moved to the Hotel whala! Ambos Mundos, which was further from the airport in Playa De Palma, a hotel, and entire area, which cater exclusively to the German market (I'll do a separate review on this hotel).

Just a warning to you beforehand, the full board carrot isn't worth the hassle. Make sure they make it worth your while! Go all inclusive and get them to pay for the wi-fi access at €10 per day (which you loose in the move) at the very least, and a taxi to the airport at their cost wouldn't be unreasonable either IMO.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank jimfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
450 reviews
0 mi away
HM Alma Beach
HM Alma Beach
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roc Leo
Hotel Roc Leo
#14 of 24 in Can Pastilla
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
BQ Apolo Hotel
BQ Apolo Hotel
#6 of 24 in Can Pastilla
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel whala!balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel whala!balmes

Address: Calle Bellamar 7, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Price Range: £73 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel whala!balmes is a 3 star hotel that offers its clients a pleasant stay by the sea thanks to its superb location on the beach front of the Playa de Can Pastilla, near Playa de Palma. Our restaurant offers breakfast and dinner to our clients. As well as its 120 fully equipped rooms, the hotel has 1 outdoor swimming pool, which includes an area for the children, loungers and umbrellas. At the hotel's restaurant the guests can enjoy a buffet style dining, and there is a snack bar for those who prefer something quick to eat by the pool. The hotel includes a bicycle rental service. WiFi Internet connection is available in all hotel areas. The hotel's proximity to the Palma de Mallorca Airport ( 5 minutes) and the beach, located just a few meters away, make it a perfect destination to enjoy the splendid climate of our island. The City of Palma, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel and it is easily accessed thanks to public transportation. for more information on bus lines and time schedules click here.A fun way to explore the island is doing a bicycle tour on the cycle route linking the Bay of Palma with the City of Palma. The tour offers a great variety of landscapes and environments where you will discover different beaches, restaurants, cultural attractions, etc. The route from Can Pastilla to the Parc de la Mar has a duration of 2.5 hours (round trip) and its approximately 26 km long. For a map of the route click here. We hope you have a nice virtual tour and we are at your disposal for any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel whala!balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmes Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Whala!Balmes Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing