We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel whala!balmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel whala!balmes
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small hotel ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A bit small and the food wasn't that nice. There was never enough staff on so you had to wait to be served at the bar because the barman was serving in the restaurant. The rooms and public area's were always clean. Maybe some music or a bit of entertainment would have been nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jojomars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    83
    51
    28
    21
See reviews for
40
101
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for a terrific holiday. We had an amazing time just like last year. Send our best wishes to Enrique, Marylo, Fermin and all the others from your great staff. See you again next year :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HrHaugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was a very nice family holiday. Hotel is very close to the beach but on a very quiet street. Nice food,very nice evenings of international cusine(japanese and Italian). Reception was very friendly and helpful,especially Szymon helped a lot. Pleasant atmosphere and nice people.
We will recommend whala!balmes to our friends and relatives who would like to travel to Majorca.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Артём Я
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, very close to the beach within walking distance, the room is average but cant complain for this value is fine, the food there are superb,the kitchen chefs are very good and friendly likewise most of the staffs except the barmen need to be more friendly,polite and respectful towards customers, Ive found it so difficult to approach the barmen for a drink despite am an all inclusive customer who do not consume alcohol drinks. It gives the impression that the barmen own the place and at time is not polite especially the one his name starts by F, he needs more training to approach clients and learn to leave his stress and focus on giving a good service afterall the all inclusive clients are not staying for free...apart from this bad experience overall the hotel is superb, very good kitchen and you can take beach umbrella from hotel to beach no need to buy, ive left mine there coz I didn't know the hotel provide client.
I will suggest the hotel to provide Internet (wifi) free as client can get it for free near the beach (opposite hotel java) and at least a bottle of water in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank avinash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent 10 fantastic nights at this hotel on a half-board basis. The room was large and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side but it had everything we needed, so it wasn't a problem. We had a room on the side of the hotel which didn't have a balcony but the good thing was that our room was never in full sunlight and therefore it never got too hot in there. The food at both breakfast and dinner was varied, plentiful and always piping hot. The staff at this hotel are the friendliest group of employees we have ever encountered on a Spanish holiday. Always smiling, happy to chat and sorted out problems/answered queries immediately. The hotel is perfectly situated. Close to the shops, bars, restaurants and the beach. It's only 10 mins from the airport which is easily reached on the number 21 bus. We'd never been to C'an Pastilla before but we have fallen in love with the resort and will definitely return there and if possible, we will be staying at the Whala!Balmes again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for it at the time of booking as there are only a few rooms with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a fifteen night stay at this hotel. We had a great room overlooking the street and got the sun in the afternoon. The bathroom however was small and not really suitable for people with disabilities. The staff were brilliant, really friendly and went out of their way to helps the food was very good, plenty of choice and more importantly hot. We stayed on a half board basis and paid for our drinks which were reasonable and served in glasses, however if you are on an all inclusive basis drinks are served in paper cups. The downside of our stay was on our second week the Spanish students arrived approx 150 from Barcelona having finished their exams, they were very noisy and disrespectful to other guests in the hotel, the hotel staff did their best to control the situations there was a security guard at night patrolling the corridors to ensure we got a good nights sleep! If you have a disability please be aware there is no disabled access Into the hotel only steps.Overall we had a lovely time and would definitely stay again although not from mid to end June when the Spanish students arrive

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street ours was 412 some rooms have no balconies and face a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Pat111h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our 1st night we arrived at 11.30pm to be told our room wasn't available for some reason and that we would have to stay in their "emergency" room for the night. This room was tiny, no balcony, opening window with laundry view, 2 different height single beds pushed together with such thin mattresses, it felt like we were laying straight onto wood! Our toilet and shower was across the corridor in another room which was a pain. We complained at reception in the morning and to be fair, the lady was very apologetic and said our "booked" room was still occupied by other guests. She told us to have breakfast and come back after 11.00am which we did. The room was still not ready, so we had to put our cases that were still packed from the night before, behind reception and we went out for a couple of hours. We got back at about 1.20pm and our room still wasn't ready. In the end, it was 2.30pm before we could get into our room, which eventually was ok.
On another note, the food was ok but the snacks advertised in the "all Inclusive" are a bit non-existent. Only cheese, Salami and bread were normally put out during the allocated snack times (which was only about an hour and a half slot in the day) and so the restaurant was empty. You had to ask if you wanted a burger or hotdog cooked.
One big problem was the "all Inclusive" bar. My partner and I are not big drinkers but all inclusive guests who want a beer are actually served it in a paper pepsi cup with such a massive frothy head on it, you would be lucky if there was 1/4 of a pint in the cup. No glasses were used for all inclusive client's which wasn't very nice. The same with the coffee, there was a pukka coffee machine behind the bar that any "paying" customers were given. All Inclusive guests were given half a cup of instant cappuccino from the Nescafe machine beside the pukka coffee machine. It didn't seem fair that guests were treated differently to "cash paying" guests. The 2 barmen (who were very moody and a bit like Basil Faulty) were also very elusive and there were often guests walking around the hotel trying to find someone to serve them. And to top it all, the bar closed at 11.00pm every night, whether you paid or were all inclusive. This meant guests ended up going out anyway to other bars for drinks.
All said and done, on the whole, once our room was sorted by the lovely lady behind reception, we enjoyed our stay but wouldn't pay for "All Inclusive" again of we were to stay at Balmes again.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you are offered an "emergency room" as many people were during our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bindysue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Pastilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa
Hotel Playa
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautic Hotel & Spa
Nautic Hotel & Spa
#9 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel JS Palma Stay
Hotel JS Palma Stay
#2 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Arenas
Hotel Las Arenas
#10 of 24 in Can Pastilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
BQ Amfora Beach Hotel
#3 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#4 of 24 in Can Pastilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel whala!balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel whala!balmes

Property: Hotel whala!balmes
Address: Calle Bellamar 7, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel whala!balmes is a 3 star hotel that offers its clients a pleasant stay by the sea thanks to its superb location on the beach front of the Playa de Can Pastilla, near Playa de Palma. Our restaurant offers breakfast and dinner to our clients. As well as its 120 fully equipped rooms, the hotel has 1 outdoor swimming pool, which includes an area for the children, loungers and umbrellas. At the hotel's restaurant the guests can enjoy a buffet style dining, and there is a snack bar for those who prefer something quick to eat by the pool. The hotel includes a bicycle rental service. WiFi Internet connection is available in all hotel areas. The hotel's proximity to the Palma de Mallorca Airport ( 5 minutes) and the beach, located just a few meters away, make it a perfect destination to enjoy the splendid climate of our island. The City of Palma, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel and it is easily accessed thanks to public transportation. for more information on bus lines and time schedules click here.A fun way to explore the island is doing a bicycle tour on the cycle route linking the Bay of Palma with the City of Palma. The tour offers a great variety of landscapes and environments where you will discover different beaches, restaurants, cultural attractions, etc. The route from Can Pastilla to the Parc de la Mar has a duration of 2.5 hours (round trip) and its approximately 26 km long. For a map of the route click here. We hope you have a nice virtual tour and we are at your disposal for any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel whala!balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmes Hotel Can Pastilla
Hotel Whala!Balmes Can Pastilla, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing