We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. All of the staff without exception were polite and helpful (and brilliant with our children aged 3 and 6). The room was very clean and well equipped. The pool was lovely (if a bit cold!) and we spent quite a bit of time here. The food was ok but plenty of choice - be warned chips are on offer every day, our kids only choice! The harbour is a two minute walk away and Es Trenc (the bigger beach) is about 10-15 minutes walk away. Our children particulary enjoyed the kids disco held every evening. All in all a great family hotel, in a great location with lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithkids62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
89
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We have just got back from a lovely holiday. When we first got there the staff where lovely. They made sure we got something to eat even though food had nearly finished. The rooms where clean and we had a lovely outlook over the stage and pool area so only a short walk to put our towels out. Our two girls loved the breakfast especially the pancakes. The food was amazing and different dishes ever night. The only slight niggle was that we only had one english tv channel cnn not that we watched tv all the time. On my birthday they made me a homemade cake and the hotel manageress, the chef and the head waiter brought it to me at breakfast with a candle in it, what a lovely touch. Great holiday would love to go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna_michelleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

The apartment was roomy and clean. Having a small kitchen and a micro wave is always very convenient when you travel with kids. The SPAR supermarket is within short walking distance , is clean and has a very nice assortment in baby food. We took half board and the food was really average. Total lack of fresh food. Definitively not 4stars. (between 2 and 3 stars ?)The kid's buffet was anything but healthy (french fries and nuggets all the time, no vegetables). Aside from this, the service was friendly and efficient. And it is not convenient to go to a restaurant with small children after a beach day, so it is up to you to make the balance between convenience and average food.

The hotel is very close to the beaches and the cute little harbour promenade. Colonia san Jordi is a very pleasant place (the opposite of el Arenal) and has a very nice natural environment. No high buildings, no ugly lound music and groups. Nice promenades along the sea have given us very nice souvenirs.

We recommend the cafe / restaurant closeby "Strandkorb" : very good and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elodieguillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

Not sure we can add too much more to the previous review, other than to say that we had extremely similar experiences.

Travelling with small children (5yrs & 3yrs old) always seems like hardwork; finding decent restaurants with plain food that our slightly fussy older daughter will consider, is stressful, and booking unknown accommodation, always has the potential for disappointment - but none of this applied in this case.

We travelled during peak holiday period in August and booked half-board directly with the hotel after reading various reviews on TripAdvisor, etc. Didn't have any real issues with language or being understood by any of the staff, despite our very bad spanish and no german. Our eldest daughter quickly learned how to make friends despite not speaking german or having any conversational spanish.

The restaurant has two seatings for dinner - we choose the earlier one. You'd have to be really fussy not to find something good to eat from the extensive selection at dinner and breakfast, which changed daily.

The environment was relaxed and with soooo many small "continental" children around, even until the end of the entertainment (23:00) there were still plenty of kids around for our two to play with. The kiddies disco for 30mins+ every evening went down a storm.

After an uncharacteristcally late breakfast, we spent all of our days at the pool and, even though the apartments and hotel were full, it never seemed crowded nor did we have to fight for sun loungers, etc. The hotel provides towels to use at the pool for a small deposit, and you can change them for clean ones as often as you like.

My wife took an easy bus journey from just outside the hotel into Palma to go to art museums and shops - way cheaper than the guided tour coaches offered.

In the 10 days we were there, we only heard a handful of english accents, but didn't feel any loss at this or the limited TV choices - There was a spectacular thunder storm one one evening, but apart from that the sun shone; the temperature didn't climb too high during the day, and the nights were cooler and seemed mosquito free.

One German couple we met, with daughters the same ages as ours, had stayed three times during the last six years and said that the standard had increased if anything.

We're going back next year!

  • Liked — Decent sized apartments, clean pool area, good food selection
  • Disliked — Children's club - a bit too informal (no check-in/out)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaye-OakFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

It's a standing joke between me and my husband that when I book a holiday I normally manage to find the naffest one going!
Not this year! Oh yes I finally got it bang on the money.

This Aparthotel was a jem. We arrived at the hotel via a taxi booked three days prior to our arrival (you email the hotel direct and they will arrange it for you and get you the price and email you back). Ours cost 96 Euros round trip for three of us.
When we got there the hotel looked very smart, the receptionist admitted her limitations of her English, however we understood her perfectly well, we were shown to our apartment. Now let me tell you this is normally the moment I dread, I sent my husband in first just to check! He said it looked lovely so I dared to enter... what a pleasant welcome. A lovely clean apartment consisting of a bedroom with twin beds, bedside tables and a two double wardrobes, large bathroom with sink/mirror/vanity unit, bidet, toilet and shower over the bath. A kitchenette area with a double hob, a microwave, fridge, sink and the usual utensils. (note to self...must take washing up liquid, tea, coffee and sugar next time!)
The living area in ours only had one sofabed as we only had one child with us (but the pictures show two sofabeds) another double wardrobe, a television and table and chairs. (TV only has two English speaking channels CNN and another Financial News channel). There was a balcony and four chairs outside with a drying rack for towels etc. Our room (as do most of them) overlooked the pool which was lovely to wake up to each day!
The pool itself was clean and child/adult friendly. There was the large pool which had a sloping entry for kids, a 15-20 ft deep plunge type pool which was approx 5ft deep, the water from this cascaded over the edge into the large pool. Over the back was a baby pool as well, something for everyone!
There were plenty of sun loungers, and considering
a) it was the peak season and
b) it was full of Germans
there wasn't one reserved lounger in sight!

The Germans very much dominated not only this apartment and the sister hotel opposite, but very much the entire resort. I didn't have any problem with this as I really wanted to get away from brits abroad and most of the other residents spoke English. In fact whilst we were there we were one of only 3 English couples, I would say another 20% was Spanish and the rest German. I would say we only came unstuck on a couple of occasions with not understanding however there was generally someone on hand to assist.

There was a small supermarket across the road for lunch, drinks and nibbly bits open 9-9 Mon - Sat and 11-4 Sun.
There were a couple of parades with nicky nack shops , restaurants and bars. There were some lovely looking beaches in the area, all within walking distance, but I'm not into sandy crevices for days afterwards but each to there own!

The evening entertainment was .....well pretty average but hey I can wear that when everything else was so nice!
There is a kids club but it's not your usual book them in/out type, it's a bit more free and easy. However we had to giggle when at the evening kids disco they recited the music man with everyone re enacting flying aeroplanes in a circle to the Dambusters music!!
The restaurant was well stocked with an assortment for Veggies, meateaters and kids. Lovely puddings and a great choice for breakfast.
You see the Matre De on your first evening and he will ask you where you want to sit (we requested outside as it wasn't as hot as inside) and there you sit every evening but at breakfast you sit anywhere. The wine /drinks you order are signed for each night and charged to your room.
The bar staff are very friendly, Carmen was a great hit with our 4 year old and the more you make the effort...the more free drinks you get!!!
We will definately be going back again next year, and we really need to brush up on our Spanish, even though you may ask in Spanish you may get answered in German! But hey when in Rome....This was rated as a **** star and I couldn't agree more!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly and Vale For Money
  • Disliked — Entertainment could be better
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BexhillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

Last year we came across this fantastic small, unspoiled resort whilst staying in Cala D'or and vowed to stay for a few days next time we visited Mallorca. The resort, although small, has some good Spanish restaurants and excellent beaches on which you can walk for miles. Not a British bar in sight: excellent!

On searching the internet for accommodation there did not appear to be much choice and we ended up in this aparthotel despite it not appearing to be our sort of place (we prefer smaller hotels or privately owned apartments/villas with sea views). The apartment was large, very clean and well appointed (albeit a bit corporate) with a good sized balcony. As the cost of half-board was only a few euros more than b&b we decided to take the half-board option ( we would not normally do this as we like to go out of an evening to sample the local restaurants). As we were not due to arrive at the hotel until around 8pm we decided that we would go in for dinner the first night and see what was on offer. If not up to scratch we would go out on the other 3 nights of our stay. It turned out that we ate in the hotel every evening. The food was wonderful.

We were, I think, the only British guests the others being mainly German and the staff did not always have a great command of English. However this gave us a chance to practice our very basic Spanish which was a bonus.

We are so glad we booked this hotel and would most definately consider going again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — quite a lot of children
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank farfromeasytoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

We booked this hotel and flights separately,after staying in majorca last year.We arranged our own transfer from the airport with balearic transfer, approx £75 round trip.We were collected in a brand new people carrier and driven straight to the hotel.We arrived about 1am in the morning and were greeted by the night receptionist who spoke better german than english. However we got by and discovered that a meal had been saved for us in the dining room, and we all had a welcome drink on the house.
We were really impressed with the cleanliness and size of the apartments.Bathroom was large with bidet and a vanity unit with a hairdryer and a decent shower over the bath.Kitchenette had fridge and two hobs to cook on. The lounge had two large sofa beds which the kids slept on.Our balcony overlooked the pool, and was big enough for the four of us to sit and eat outside. Our bedroom had two large built in wardrobes and a vanity unit and another window overlooking pool.
Breakfast was a feast, there was something for everyone.Childrens cereals, linseeds,sunflower seeds,oats, ham, cheese,bacon ,sausages, omelettes cooked to your request, panini's, fresh bread, croissants, pain chocolat, and scotch pancakes.
On our first day round the pool, there were no sun beds free , so we asked at reception, and we were shown to the hotel across the road where there were an additional two pools, with no one around them. We spent most of our holiday here,as it was a delight to have a swimming pool to ourselves. There was a cafe with fantastic bar staff that served snacks etc. The staff really cared about the guests and after a storm had swept a lot of debris into the pool, they were straight on the case to return it to its former glory. The pool was crystal clear and did not smell of chemicals.No-one got ear infections or sore eyes.
The harbour beach was 1 minute walk from the hotel.It was sandy and the water was clean. Around the bay was another beach, es dolc - beautiful! Child friendly, snack bar in the middle of the beach.On the day it rained we booked the hotel jacuzzi .You have it all to yourselves for an hour. Evening entertainment was the usual mix of flamenco dancers, singers and transvestite show. Could have done with some more nightlife,specially as the main shopping centre of colonia san jordi consisted of one street! Dinner was as superb as breakfast and we had the head waiter fix us up with an outside table as soon as one was available. There was free champagne and spanish liquers on gala nights. Bar staff were attentive, but the bar closed about midnight. Hotel lobby had a phone booth available for guests to use at a much reduced rate.The hotel only had half board, we would have preferred all inclusive as last year it was definitely worth the money. You can never be quite sure whether your holiday will live up to your expectations, but the hotel was definitely 4* and our stay was everything we wanted it to be - we struck gold!

  • Liked — friendly staff and well equipped comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — not enough night life - everything stops at midnight
  • Tips/Secrets — forget the diet!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank londonisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia de Sant Jordi hotels
0.3 mi away
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort & Spa
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort &...
#1 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Universal Hotel Marques
Universal Hotel Marques
#2 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Universal Hotel Romantica
Universal Hotel Romantica
#6 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
THB Sur Mallorca
THB Sur Mallorca
#3 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Universal Hotel Cabo Blanco
Universal Hotel Cabo Blanco
#4 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lemar
Hotel Lemar
#9 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera

Property: Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera
Address: C/ Rocio s/n | Colonia Sant Jordi, 07638 Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Colonia de Sant Jordi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Colonia de Sant Jordi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla De Cabrera Aparthotel Hotel Colonia De Sant Jordi
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla De Cabrera Colonia De Sant Jordi, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing