We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Barrigon Xelini

El Barrigon Xelini
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Deia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had been looking forward to this meal as menu and place look great. We ordered 3 tapas dishes, salad and bread. So glad we stopped at that.
Meatballs arrived cold. Lamb dish luke warm, and king prawns nothing special. Was all on the cold side and lacked flavour. We weren't in the mood to complain so ate up, paid and left.
The service was ok but felt very stressy as waiters appeared to be over busy, rushed and was not the welcome and relaxed atmosphere we would have liked.
Haven't had another bad meal in Deia apart from this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    118
    37
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ordered 5 tapas, none of which were particularly good. The meatballs were cold and had to be sent back, calamari just average, the most expensive bit of manchego I've ever eaten...
This is the second time we've visited as we went in 2012 when it was also pretty rubbish, some people just never learn!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaqs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great meal here, lovely wine and a broad range of tapas dishes. We sat in the garden area which was well shaded and had a pleasant atmosphere. We were very happy with the service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good tapas, friendly staff. Being Scottish we did not mind watching England get knocked out of the World Cup here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tapas on the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent menu, portions are large, but the servers advise well so there isn't too much. All dishes were tasty, especially liked the whitebait, croquettes, and the salads. We sat on the terrace both times, having booked which I recommend to get the best tables. The inside area of the restaurant is very nice too, also had a drink or two at the bar with friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunnySurreyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Barrigon Xelini also viewed

 

Been to El Barrigon Xelini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing