We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Barrigon Xelini

El Barrigon Xelini
Ranked #14 of 27 Restaurants in Deia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Willersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the third visit in as many years and will be our last!
They could not find our booking which strangely enough happened last year. Unfortunately the waitress knocked over my wife's red wine and a bottle of cola which did nothing for the looks of my white linen shirt and pale shirts. We were offered some fabric spray and a scourer but all I wanted to do was go back to the hotel and change.
Once the food came, we were further disappointed! Meatballs and mushrooms were cold, patatas bravas came with minimal sauce and they brought us the wrong pepper dish off the menu.
The correct one was then cold!
Needless to say, didn't leave a good impression and there are far better places to eat in Deía.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    119
    37
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Really enjoyed our meals here, good variety of tapas to pick from and some excellent wine choices. The terrace is lovely at night but the bar area inside is really pleasant also. Good staff and service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch last week. Lovely little shaded outdoor terrace. We ordered a couple of platefuls of food and some drinks. Chicken with garlic sauce tapas was delicious, but after waiting an hour our ham and cheese plate still hadn't arrived. Despite all other diners around us who ordered after us having been served, the waitress still assured us we hadn't been forgotten and our dish was still being prepared. I don't like being lied to, and Euros12 was very steep for the small helping of bread with tomatoes, oil, cheese and ham which eventually arrived with no apology. Wouldn't return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanglemould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigginsBoy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here as a family several times. The food is good (not great). For the price of the dishes I'm not sure what some reviewers expect! Staff were friendly and efficient. We only ate outside, which meant we needed to book at lunchtime to be sure of a table. Felt far more authentic than many of the other Deia restaurants - and was free of some of the very loud show off types we saw elsewhere. You can't go wrong here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had been looking forward to this meal as menu and place look great. We ordered 3 tapas dishes, salad and bread. So glad we stopped at that.
Meatballs arrived cold. Lamb dish luke warm, and king prawns nothing special. Was all on the cold side and lacked flavour. We weren't in the mood to complain so ate up, paid and left.
The service was ok but felt very stressy as waiters appeared to be over busy, rushed and was not the welcome and relaxed atmosphere we would have liked.
Haven't had another bad meal in Deia apart from this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Barrigon Xelini also viewed

 

Been to El Barrigon Xelini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing