We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite location with so many good qualities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond La Residencia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in late April for the second time, after a gap of 4 years. Pleased to report La Residencia has not lost its friendly first class service with excellent facilities and of course in a setting overlooking the village of Deya in the World Heritage Traumantana Mountains.
We particularly recommend the wonderful El Olivo restaurant, the best creme brûlée ever! and Shane the talented tennis coach.
What we don't like is the less than professional internet booking facility under the new management of Belmond, Our break was a special local resident offer known to the hotel staff but NOT known by the internet booking. A very prolonged booking process involving email and phone calls finally got us our reservation, but decidedly not a very polished 5 star process. We know how good the hotel is but first timers might have faltered at this first hurdle.

Room Tip: If you book this year avoid rooms on Valldemossa side of hotel as a major reforma of an adjacent hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookstours69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulisses M, Gerente geral at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your visit and for sharing your experience.

We are delighted to receive all the local community in our hotel and apologize if the reservation process was not as quick as it should be. Our promotions are updated and distributed in all the relevant channels and following your comment will make sure that they are correctly communicated internally.

Definitely El Olivo is a wonderful restaurant and Shane a great coach. All of us will be waiting for your next visit.

With best regards from the Tramuntana mountains.

Ulisses Marreiros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Glad to say that La Res has turned into a stupendous flower garden! This year the grounds are, as usual, a great credit to the gardeners but have been augmented by large numbers of flowers. The staff remain wonderful, the pools fantastic. Breakfast is thankfully back in Son Fony overlooking the pool. Still not a perfect hotel, but pretty good. What could be better? Some of the bathrooms are dated. The food and wine are overpriced for what is on offer. Wine cost for a glass more than a bottle in the real world, and for a bottle! Is this why so many 'clink' up the drive from the village shop? Cooking, The chefs signature dish is one many housewifes could easily replicated, prawns. An obscene cover charge is charged in the restaurants. Despite all of this, a wonderful place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank poggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulisses M, Gerente geral at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your visit and for sharing your experience in this forum.

Our guests are the best judges of our services and we are happy to read that you did appreciate the change to Son Fony for breakfast, as well as the landscaping that was done. We like to listen to you and fell honoured to have you as a guest, in this wonderful place.

Regarding the prices we have on our F&B outlets, they are in line with all the other establishments of the same category in the island, and reflect also the premium products we use. Definitely our chef as several signature dishes and the prawns are one of them, not due to any complicated cooking technique, but for the freshness and best way of cooking them. The lamb, the suckling pig, the monk fish among others, deserve for sure to be also tasted and would invite you to do so on your next visit.

We look forward in welcoming you back in your home in Mallorca.

Ulisses Marreiros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved this beautiful hotel. Food and service and ambience were beautiful. I highly recommend a visit in the spring to see all the beautiful flowers. Worth the effort to fly Delta to Madrid and Air Europa to Palma.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arriving to the small town of Deia is in itself a wonderful experience. The village is a picturesque pearl. Entering the compounds of La Residencia makes you even happier - and if you are so lucky that you can go to the reception, confirm your reservation and start to enjoy this superb oasis of perfect service, beautiful settings and efficient facilities you reach ultimate happiness.
That is even before you entertain the two restaurants. Calling Café Miró a café is a euphemism. The dinner there is great (the tapas are the best I've had anywhere in Spain). El Olivo is an experience of fine cuisine (and accordingly expensive).
To sum up: this is just the best!

Room Tip: The place is composed of several buildings up the steep slopes behind the entrance. I guess that eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hvilsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for a long weekend as guests of a good friend. Whilst we acknowledge La Residencia is a lovely hotel there were, in our view, significant shortcomings.
We thought the hotel extremely expensive for value offered, especially the quality of food in the restaurants. We also had issues with our account, and whilst the General Manager was most helpful in resolving these, we would urge all guests to check their accounts very carefully.
The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful setting with gorgeous, very well tended, grounds. It is just above the village of Deia and gives easy access to the village with it's shops and restaurants. All the amenities are first class with excellent swimming pools, a gymnasium and spa.
Our friends had a suite with a plunge pool and beautiful views of the coast. We had a junior suite which we found cramped and rather claustrophobic. The brochure said they had partial views of the sea - ours was from a tiny side window and one had to bend double to see it!
The big disappointment for us was the quality of cooking both in the signature El Olivio restaurant, and the less formal bistro Cafe Miro. Our party of six were on half board and we were so disappointed in El Olivio that we cancelled future reservations after the first night's meal. The prawns were, to our taste, raw and the main course fish, turbot was flabby and not well cooked. We moved to Cafe Miro where we had a mixture of the Tapas menu and classical starters and main courses. The waiter misunderstood our request and all the food, tapas, starters and main course all arrived at the same time. The third night we gave up and went to the excellent restaurant in the village - Sebastian (we highly recommend it!).
The service in the hotel was normally excellent, friendly and helpful. However, the breakfast service is a little slow and chaotic.
We think the half board option is not worth the extra cost and the better alternative is to have snacks and light meals at the hotel and visit the excellent neighbourhood restaurants.
Whilst La Residencia is a gorgeous hotel there were sufficient blemishes and disappointments for us to consider not returning. It is also eye waveringly expensive!
We finish by saying that the General Manager, Ulisses Marreiros, was most helpful when we registered our questions concerning our account.

Room Tip: Whichever one - check your bill!! Don't bother with a Junior Suite. Go for an ordinary room or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulisses M, Gerente geral at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your visit, as well as for your review.

I am glad to read that you have found our hotel a lovely one, with an excellent service and manicured grounds. For our Junior suites superior we do not have within our descriptions any mention of sea views, and regret if that was your expectation.

I regret to hear about the perception on the quality of the food. We use premium products in our hotel and prawns are a good example of it, where they are just cooked in the oven for 3 min, at 220 Celsius on top of salt, so you can taste all the freshness. I apologize if this dish was not correctly explainned, as well as the unfortunate misunderstanding with the tapas and mains. This episode will be used for training purposes and I thank you for mentioning it. Definitely Deià is a place with very good restaurants, with El Olivo and Café Miró being two of them.

In our hotel we do present the itemised bill to the guests in all the outlets, for all the consumptions made. Before the check out a print out is also handed to be re-checked, being the final invoice issued only after the approval of the guest. I regret if there was a misunderstanding, due to the flexible dining options we offer when guests are on halfboard.

I really hope the small glitches above, that we have immediately addressed, will not affect your wish to return to our little piece of paradise at a future date, and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards from Sunny Mallorca.

Ulisses Marreiros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Since our last stay a year ago there have been a few changes, all for the better. The main change is in the development of the 'cafe' in the main hotel into more of a bistro offering: a much less formal and slightly cheaper dining experience compared with the flagship El Olivo, though still with excellent cooking and a range of fresh produce with a particular focus on seafood. The best meal we had included the mixed seafood which comprised a very generous portion of sea bass, grilled squid and Soller prawns. This restaurant now provides a competitive alternative to some of the restaurants in the village, such as Sebastian.
El Olivo itself has changed in a more subtle way. The food is still amazing, particularly signature dishes like the saddle of lamb and suckling pig, but the atmosphere seems less reverential and more fun somehow.
The third change to note is that breakfast is now served on the terrace by the main swimming pool. This is sunnier than the previous setting (in the courtyard outside and inside the El Olivo) and obviously a bit more convenient if you are staying in the newer part of the hotel.
It is expensive, sometimes bordering on the cheeky (I thought 9 Euros for a tub of ice cream as a dessert at the pool restaurant somewhat excessive, for example) but they do make some excellent offers. In April the 'extra day' offer entitled guests who extended their stay from 3 to 4 nights to free lunch or dinner at the hotel (excluding wine but including the tasting menu for a small supplement). This represented a very considerable saving.
Staff remain charming and attentive and their ability to remember guests' names is remarkable. No surprise their volume of repeat business is so high.

Room Tip: Rooms, even 'superior' ones at the rear of Son Fony can be a bit dark. Some bathrooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It is a charming, perfectly located excellent hotel with welcoming staff. We cant wait to come enjoy another weekend there. Food is excellent. Lots of places to relax, read, nap on the property. The town of Deia is very charming! Have recommended this to many of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deia
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#3 of 7 in Deia
497 reviews
42.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
569 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
#5 of 7 in Deia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residencia

Address: Calle Canals s/n, 07179 Deia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Deia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Price Range: £359 - £1,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the Mediterranean, nestled beneath the Sierra de Tramuntana, Belmond La Residencia is set in two manor houses from the 16th and 17th century. All the 67 rooms and suites are exclusively designed and decorated in typical Mallorcan style and some suites feature a private swimming pool. For the ultimate of privacy, guests can choose to stay in the hotel's private villa, sharing all the facilities with the hotel and located just a few steps away in the charming village of Deià, a secluded artists' haven. Dining opportunities on property include the gourmet El Olivo Restaurant, the Cafè Mirò and the relaxed Pool Restaurant located just beside one of the pools. Guests at Belmond La Residencia have plenty of possibilities to relax and regenerate. They can linger by one of the two outdoor swimming pools, be spoiled with an exclusive treatments at the award-winning Spa, which includes an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym and six treatment rooms, or they can enjoy a fully-equipped fitness centre and two superb tennis courts with a resident tennis coach. A complimentary boat excursion is available daily during summer months to explore the most beautiful corners of the coast. And to enter the deepest spirit of Mallorca, the hotel offers an exclusive donkey trail with its resident donkeys in the hotel's own olive groves followed by a picnic with traditional Mallorcan dishes. Moreover, the hotel boasts an art gallery with temporary art exhibitions and art classes with the resident painter and sculptor. A Kid's Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of funny and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Deia
La Residencia Hotel Deia
Belmond La Residencia Deia, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing