We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond La Residencia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed for the weekend, so a quick in and out unfortunately for us. We thought the hotel was superb, the staff excellent and very attentive. Stefano in El Olivio restaurant was great fun and a delight. The location of this hotel is absolutely amazing and the village so pretty with lovely restaurants. The only downsides for us would be that the spa and rooms are very expensive and too many mobile phones were used around the pool despite many notices asking people not to.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    84
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
115
376
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Tucked into the base of the Tramuntana mountains in the picturesque town of Deia lies a very quiet, very romantic and luxurious hotel. La Residencia well deserves it's excellent reputation as a quiet, reserved resort with great service and beautiful surroundings. The grounds are manicured, the service is efficient , but not at a New York tempo, which only adds to its' charm. The English speaking staff enthusiastically indulged my less than fluent Spanish and were overall muy amable. The on site goumet restaurant El Olivo, had good food in a great setting, lit with large outdoor candleabras. For those seeking more Haute Cuisine, the one star Michelin restaurant Es Raco de Teix is a five minute walk into the charming town of Deia; both are worth a visit. The restauant next to the pool also serves delicious traditional Spanish cuisine including daily seafood specials.A third restaurant on site serves more casual fare than El Olivo on the terrace every evening as well as pre-dinner cocktails. Be forewarned that the Hotel is not on the water but a half hour walk or five minute car ride down a steep road to the Cala (Cove) of Deia. Only the most expensive of suites have distant ocean views with most rooms looking out at Deia or the dramatica mountains. The crowd during our visit in early September was primarily middle aged and plus Brits with a smattering of Americans, Spaniards and other Europeans. Laying around the pool reading seemed to be the most popular activity, although there were hikers, bikers and tennis players also. This little paradise comes with a hefty price tag but you will not be disappointed with the quality.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank echend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Having spent 4 days in this beautiful hotel, I would mostly agree with all the positive reviews. Deia is very pretty but so small - you can walk it in less than 5 minutes. We had a junior suite - a good size,nice terrace with views, but a little disappointing - a bit shabby and in need of a refurb, especially the bathroom which was very old fashioned, definately not 5* standard. This is a hotel to just chill and do nothing. Its so quiet you can hear a cockerill every time it crows across the valley and towards the end of our stay we were a bit fed up with whispering and to be frank the general atmosphere was too quiet for us. Food is good, we found the staff very helpful and friendly. We hired a car to get out and about - valldermossa is nice for lunch and a spot of shopping - bigger and as pretty as deia, but more life! Having researched the restaurants beforehand our experiences were a little hit and miss - El Olivo superb food, service, expensive, setting magical so worth it for a treat. Sebastians very good food and cosy. Es Raco des Teix, OK, expensive, food fancy, not much atmosphere. Xelini awful (did we go to a different Xelini to the other reviewers!) service terrible, food inedible, cold and the meatballs were almost raw inside. We were there for 4 days, had a lovely time, but any longer and we would have started to get bored, and so for these reasons would not go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We had a lovely stay at La Residencia. We were upgraded upon arrival. The people at reception were terrific, they suggested all sorts of activities and nearby restaurants. Deia is simpy beautiful. The rooms at La Residencia were large and full of light. Service was nice and the breakfast buffet tasty and filling. Free wifi, which is something that all hotels should have!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Nestled in the hills of Mallorca, La Residencia is a real treasure. Smaller than a hotel yet bigger than a b&b, this hotel is like a second home.
The two pools (one indoor and one outdoor) and the hotub are always clean and refreshing. No matter what room you have, there will definitely be a great view. The staff is the nicest staff I have ever dealt with. Food is great. Overall this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysthereinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibu
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I stayed at La Residencia for five nights with my wife and a couple of friends. We had the most relaxing time ever!
We first got a little nervous when landing in Palma with hundreds of "not so glamorous crouds" from England and Germany.....But as we left Palma and got closer to the hotel, things looked better by the minute!
The village of Deia is too small to accomodate touristic buses!!!!!!! Therefore no groups of tourists in leather shorts!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel La Residencia is probably the closest one can get to living in a spanish house with all the services and comfort of a ***** hotel.
It is still quite rustic and the service can be "a l'espagnole", but it is part of the charm.
The bedrooms are gorgeous in their simplicity, their are three pools including a gorgeous indoor one in case your skin needs a break from the blasting sun!...(the pool staff is pretty slim )
The restaurant by the main pool is hands down the best and most authentic food in the property. Los Olivos (the fine dining restaurant ) is in a gorgeous setting but a little stuffy....Very good though.
Do not waste your time at the terrace, it's perfect for a drink, the food there is "continental", and the staff there is a bunch of kids doing their internship.....
We rented a car thinking we would explore a little. We did not leave the place, relaxed the whole time, slept by the pool, got pampered at the spa,.
We did not turn the tv on the whole ,didn't read the news, just relaxed.
There is a great tapas bar in the village (Xellini), we had dinner there a couple of nights among the locals, it was a blast!
The crowd at the hotel is mostly english, slightly older, there was a few young families. But not much entertainment, so this really a place to chill!
Most of the guest we met were repeat custommers and i am planning to be one too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeje68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had not visited since 2000 when the hotel was owned by Richard Branson. We were interested to see how things might have changed under the ownership of Orient Express. We were not disappointed. The only changes were the new suites built on the hillside behind the spa and a new entrance drive which makes arrival by car rather easier. All was very much as we had remebered and there is still the magic of the setting and the interest of all the different levels of the gardens and the lovely large pool, plus the smaller one. Our only regret was that dinner is no longer served on the Son Fony terrace. We used to enjoy the stunning mid-summer sunsets while dining in informal surroundings, a good contrast to the more formal, excellent and much improved El Olivo. The Son Moragues terrace was a disappointment, so much so that even having paid for dinner each night as part of a five day dinner inclusive option, one evening we went to one of the excellent restaurants in Deia.

Despite this one regret, it was good to see an old friend unspoilt and just as good as we had remembered from the past. There were a few minor glitches in the service, mostly relating to the Son Moraues, but these did not in any way spoil our enjoyment. The managers drinks party on the lawn as the sun starts to go down is still as magical as ever and we left after five days feeling totally relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deia
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
823 reviews
42.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Deia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
791 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residencia

Property: Belmond La Residencia
Address: Calle Canals s/n, 07179 Deia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Deia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the Mediterranean, nestled beneath the Sierra de Tramuntana, Belmond La Residencia is set in two manor houses from the 16th and 17th century. All the 67 rooms and suites are exclusively designed and decorated in typical Mallorcan style and some suites feature a private swimming pool. For the ultimate of privacy, guests can choose to stay in the hotel's private villa, sharing all the facilities with the hotel and located just a few steps away in the charming village of Deià, a secluded artists' haven. Dining opportunities on property include the gourmet El Olivo Restaurant, the Cafè Mirò and the relaxed Pool Restaurant located just beside one of the pools. Guests at Belmond La Residencia have plenty of possibilities to relax and regenerate. They can linger by one of the two outdoor swimming pools, be spoiled with an exclusive treatments at the award-winning Spa, which includes an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym and six treatment rooms, or they can enjoy a fully-equipped fitness centre and two superb tennis courts with a resident tennis coach. A complimentary boat excursion is available daily during summer months to explore the most beautiful corners of the coast. And to enter the deepest spirit of Mallorca, the hotel offers an exclusive donkey trail with its resident donkeys in the hotel's own olive groves followed by a picnic with traditional Mallorcan dishes. Moreover, the hotel boasts an art gallery with temporary art exhibitions and art classes with the resident painter and sculptor. A Kid's Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of funny and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Deia
La Residencia Hotel Deia
Belmond La Residencia Deia, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing