We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the mountains”
Review of Ca'n Reus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca'n Reus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A wonderfully relaxing weekend with friends at this lovely hotel. Fantastic breakfasts, comfortable rooms. Excellent service and welcome. The hotel is situated in one of the loveliest villages in Majorca, with good views. A real gem. We have all stayed before and will keep returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELIZABETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Olive Odyssey weekend in January. It wasn't like a holiday at a hotel at all, more a weekend house-party with old friends. As the Irish would say the craic was good, the hospitality was spot on and the entire experience quite inspiring. We've already tried the recipes from the Mark Fosh demonstration and there is still some drops of olive oil left in the second bottle we brought home with us, as we explore further cooking with olive oil. We will be returning to Fornalutx in June this year.

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view - you're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed twice at Ca'n Rues. Indeed I had such a brilliant time last year that I took couple of my friends along this year. Situated in picturesque surroundings, the hotel is situated in the heart of Formalutx and its stoned cobbled pathways. It is very easy and convenient to get there from central London: Victoria-Gatwick-Palma via Easy Jet-45 -60 minutes drive from the airport. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfortable. The choice and quality of food and wine served at the hotel are excellent. In particular, the breakfast is hearty and simply first rate: complimented with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly brewed coffee. Both Sue and Nick are avid hikers and know the area like the palm of their hand. Thankfully, they are also brilliant organisers who enjoy guiding their guests to local attractions and beautiful trails. Superb hosts, they attract a wide variety of very interesting and pleasant guests from all over the world. As such conversations I had the good fortune of taking part in, whether at meal times or in the afternoon in the beautiful garden by the pool by trees bearing delicious clementines, were eclectic and truly informative. Having said that, the atmosphere of the hotel is well balanced between warm/friendly and serene/private. I found Ca’n Reus to be an ideal place for the rejuvenation of mind and body. I look so forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NA4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our stay at the traditional style C'an Reus hotel was very pleasant. Sue was very welcoming on our arrival, generous and friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains. Breakfasts were exceptionally good, with a different large choice every day, usually served on the terrace overlooking the garden, pool and mountains. No evening meal was available the week we went, perhaps due to Sue's departure to London. All in all, a wonderful week, not least because the village is close to where we spent our honeymoon many years ago.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Asprospiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We went to this hotel (I know some reviewers call it a B&B but the grounds and amenities make it a bit more than that) for the first time in mid-January. It was a perfect getaway from the miseries of London post-Christmas. Spectacular setting, pristine village, good food, great walking - the main reason we came. The proprietors had organized an "Olive Weekend" and we joined in picking olives, taking them to the press to make oil. Very interesting group of people were staying - another plus. I like a hotel where you can make some interesting conversation with fellow guests at breakfast. Proprietors are extremely knowledgable on local walks and very helpful with maps and detailed itineraries. You can walk easy or hard in the mountains round about. It is also simple enough to get to Palma - or other beaches. We only visited for a weekend. I think our next trip will be a bit longer and when the weather is a bit warmer and Fornalutx more alive in the evening. Time on the summit/time on the beach. This place is highly, highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longtimexpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from the Olive Weekend which was perfectly organised. Welcome dinner on Friday excellent with particularly good company from our fellow guests. In Palma, Michelin Star cooking demonstration and perfect food served with unlimited excellent wines. Evening Spanish Guitar recital in Entrada high standard. Walked to Sunday lunch at farm in the next valley for a true Mallorcan feast. A busy perfect weekend arranged and hosted by Sue and Nick. All inclusive excellent value.
We will be back .
Our favourite place for Autumn, Winter and Spring walking. Great Spanish Breakfasts you can't get at home set you up for the day! Extensive mountain walking, challenging if you wish. Advice from the hoteliers who will also do guided walks is brilliant. Winter evenings return to log fire and afternoon tea. Lovely village. Comfortable, clean, air conditioned rooms.
Great hospitality from Nick and Sue ( The owners ).

Room Tip: If you intend to sit in your room; book one with a view; its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank considine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The accomodation is fine, rooms are quite small with half of them facing the building opposite which is about 6ft away so you can hear conversations/tv etc.. Highlight is the back garden with the pool and the view. For some reason everyone in the village seems to like to use power tools in the morning though which reduces the ability to enjoy the view.
Main issue was with the hospitality from the owner. The gentleman Nick seems to want to give Basil Fawlty a run for his money with a constant face on him like a wet weekend, an inability to even say good morning to his guests and the impression that the guests are a bit of a nuisance to him. The other staff who work there also seem fairly cold and business-like (obviously rubs off). The only time he spoke to us was when he wanted to sign us up for the weekly meal that they cook there and charge for, unsurprisingly we declined.
Decent but overpriced accomodation run by a couple of upper class brits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peach731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornalutx
0.0 mi away
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fornalutx
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Can Verdera -Only Adults-
Can Verdera -Only Adults-
#2 of 4 in Fornalutx
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Guia
Hotel El Guia
#25 of 37 in Soller
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca'n Reus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'n Reus Hotel

Address: Calle Alba Nr. 26, 07109 Fornalutx, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Fornalutx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Price Range: £107 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca'n Reus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca’n Reus can be found in the prettiest village on the island, Fornalutx, surrounded by lemon and orange trees and olive groves.This rural hotel offers spectacular views over the Tramuntana mountain range, comfort and warm hospitality. It is an ideal venue for walkers, for those who want to explore the island and for those who simply want to relax by the pool in the hotel garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca'n Reus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca'n Reus Hotel Fornalutx, Majorca
Ca n Reus Fornalutx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing