We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A Charming Retreat'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca'n Reus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca'n Reus Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'A Charming Retreat'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Have stayed in this delightful hotel on a number of occasions and each time it just gets better. The rooms all have their own character and if you want one with a view, it is worth paying the extra to wake up and see the morning sun shining across the valley on the stunning mountains. The hosts, Sue and Nick are charming and very helpful, without being too obtrusive. Sue in particular likes walking and is happy to suggest walks suitable to your ability.

The breakfasts are a tasty mix of Majorcan and continental food and with as much as you want to eat, there really is no need for lunch. The views from the terrace as you sit down to your fresh orange juice and fruit are fabulous. Nick’s weekly BBQ is a must – well done Nick! And with their charming team of girls who have been there from the start to help make the place run smoothly , this is surely an accolade to Sue and Nick.

To add to the hotels excellent location, Fornalutx is in one of the most beautiful villages in Majorca with some lovely buildings and side streets. It never seems to get too crowded. The village also has several very good restaurants with excellent quality of food. Soller and Porto Soller, only a 15 minute drive away, are both interesting and delightful.

In summing up this hotel, I would say it is ideal for anyone who appreciates the character and warmth of small hotels with charm and quality. The perfect place to chill out and relax.

Keep up the good work Sue and Nick.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a mountain view room to wake up and see the morning sun shining acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    37
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk. UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

A lovely village in a stunning position. The hotel, however, in spite of a lovely breakfast and a very comfortable bedroom, l'ofre, with a spectacular view to the mountains, left a bit to be desired. The garden furniture was falling to pieces, wheels collapsed if you tried to move the sunbeds. The mattresses were filthy and umbrellas broken. Rubbish, broken chairs, furniture etc., was on view. The owner, Nick, appeared occasionally, but we got the impression he didn't like the general public!! We were all lectured one morning at breakfast as to how to protect his property for the night of the village fiesta. Warned about the riotous behaviour of the youngsters, as he announced his departure to London!! The girls who had to run the place in his absence were lovely, friendly and efficient. It would be so easy to make this place excellent.

Room Tip: Got to be a room with a view of the mountains. Top floor the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLG0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canreus, Owner at Ca'n Reus Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello

We are sorry that your stay with us was unsatisfactory.

In light of your review we have freshly laundered all the garden furniture coverings. We also inspected all garden furniture and fittings for damage. A wheel was found to be broken and was immediately repaired.

We were unable to find any other damage to the furniture however, and we would be grateful if you could email us at info@canreushotel.com with more information.

The umbrellas seem to be working fine. They are articulated umbrellas, which mean they are supposed to rest at an angle to make it easy to change the direction that gets shade. This does give them a 'drunken' appearance at times.

We are sorry that Nick rubbed you the wrong way. The Guarda Civil visited our house that morning and warned him about potential trouble connected to the festivities. We have a duty of care to keep all our guests (and our business) safe from harm.

Thank you for reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The location, the traditional building and the attentive but relaxed local staff tell make this hotel. We did not meet the English owners, but judging by some of the other reviews on here we did not miss much. If you have young children we would advise against visiting - ours are 6 & 11 and the pool was smaller than we imagined and all the seating and sun beds in the garden area were very close, which probably explains the 'no jumping in' rule. The English neighbour was also less than pleasant about our children having fun in the pool - there seems to be some history here! We would also NOT recommend the self catering accommodation next to the hotel - this is actually the hotel owners' house although this was less than clear in the description. The lack of air con / too much clutter / cleaning & upkeep issues / 4 floors of accommodation etc made this very difficult with a young family. That aside: the hotel rooms are air conditioned & extremely clean, breakfast was lovely & varied, the views are breathtaking, the village gorgeous and the staff are charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed and Ca'n Reus for 5 nights in August. We were in Mallorca to hike and Fornalutx is a great location to start from. First about the service; it is five+ stars; we got great help with our hikes and the staff had no issue with serving breakfast one hour early for us. They also made excellent baguettes we could bring with us for lunch. In the evenings they helped us out with dinner reservations. I stay a lot at hotels in my work and this is among the best service I have ever experienced, friendly, knowing and very flexible. Second about the breakfast; it is excellent and well prepared. Great start to the day! So to the room; we stayed in L'Ofre. It has a stunning view over the valley but the only place to really enjoy it is when you are in bed ... the room is pretty small and when you have such a fantastic view (and pay some extra for it) you would really like the possibility to enjoy it from a balcony or have some nice chairs that you can sit in and just soak up the scenery in privacy with a drink. Beds were absolutely OK, the bathroom was also good and the room was clean and nice, all standard from my perspective. So room comes out at 3 and the rest at 5+; all in all a four star review. As a comparison; we stayed three nights in Estellencs at Hotel Maristel (4 star). We had a stunning sea view, a balcony, great service, the rooms were spotless and large, breakfast very good and the price was 2/3 of what we paid here. Estellencs is also a very nice small village with nice restaurants but maybe the fact is that if you want to stay in Fornalutx you have to pay a little bit more for the pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Can Reus is the perfect place to recharge your senses if you work in a stressful environment. spent five days here last week, and it was a splendid place to relax and unwind, in the peaceful surroundings overlooked by the tramantuna mountains and olive groves. Hear the tinkles of the goat bells in the distance, as you languish beside the pool. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the breakfast and the terrace are a wonderful experience every morning.

Room Tip: choose one of the rooms with the view over the mountains, towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 288yorkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Ca'an Reus for five days in the summer of 2013, now wish it had been longer. A wonderful experience from start to finish - not only a stunning hotel with beautiful views in a gorgeous, authentic location but fantastic service with a truly hospitable, friendly and welcoming environment. I honestly could not thank Sue and Nick (the owners) enough for making the whole trip such a delightful experience. They (and their staff) went out of their way and beyond the call of duty to provide a reliable service as well as recommendations of activities and attractions in the area, which are expertly informed and well worth following. From starting the day with the most sumptuous array of breakfast foods I have ever seen (I've never been so keen to wake up before) to boating, mountain walks, visiting the beach, lounging by the pool and perhaps finishing the day with a barbecue and daiquiris on the terrace on special occasions, I could not recommend Ca’an Reus more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We loved the village and the views from the Hotel are stunning. On entering the room we were impressed with the space, airiness and cleanliness.
Unfortunately the room was directly below the kitchen which meant that a lie in was not an option due to the noise. It also had a problem of a sewage type odour at the terrace end. Both of these issues are probably only particular to the one room.
I would not stay in this hotel again. For me the host was the issue, it almost appeared that we inconvenienced them by staying. Having said this, reading the other reviews our experience may be isolated - i would go back to the village, but would find alternative accommodation!

Room Tip: If you do consider this hotel, ensure you dont stay at the level below the Kitchen/breakfast area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddies1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornalutx
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
0.0 mi away
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fornalutx
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Can Verdera
Can Verdera
#2 of 4 in Fornalutx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#9 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.4 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
1.6 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca'n Reus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'n Reus Hotel

Property: Ca'n Reus Hotel
Address: Calle Alba Nr. 26, 07109 Fornalutx, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Fornalutx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca'n Reus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca’n Reus can be found in the prettiest village on the island, Fornalutx, surrounded by lemon and orange trees and olive groves.This rural hotel offers spectacular views over the Tramuntana mountain range, comfort and warm hospitality. It is an ideal venue for walkers, for those who want to explore the island and for those who simply want to relax by the pool in the hotel garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ca'n Reus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca'n Reus Hotel Fornalutx, Majorca
Ca n Reus Fornalutx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing