We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful isolation”
Review of Lluc Monastery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lluc
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lluc Monastery
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delightful isolation”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

we stayed with friends, they were in the stable block ( porxets ) and we stayed in a apartment in the main monastery building.The apartments are very clean and modern with a shower, fridge and electric cooking rings.The downside is that the doors to the monastery are locked at 11pm until 6am which on a light summers night is frustrating, there are no pots pans,plates or cups provided.Fresh linen/towels are provided on request, just take the old towels to reception.
The porxets look quaint and the fittings are basic, the second bedroom is actually a converted store with bunk beds, it can be hot inside and the windows are covered in flymesh which in our friends case had holes and did the flies take advantage!!.
The restaurant attached to the monastery is good but pricey, we found the staff in the restaurant at the end of the main courtyard Can Amitger to be disinterested and the food mediocre.
The setting is beautiful and there are many walks radiating from the monastery, make your own food and eat outdoors in the courtyard ( we carried out table out )..Also throughout the main summer months it is illegal to light fires in the BBQ areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    50
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
60
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Wonderful setting, basic but spotless and spacious rooms, great value. They have a little restaurant, a cafeteria/cafe with outdoor seating, BBQ pits, vending machines, a garden, trails nearby.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lgonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The monastry is located in high up in the mountains and gave us a fantstic base from which we explored the island of Majorca.
The room was basic yet clean with a small kitchen that didn't have any pots pans or even plates ( no problem for us but we did take a little kettle for tea and coffee in the evening).
The view from our window was tremendous and and it was great to come back after a day of exploring in the August heat to a cool room ( up in the mountains) where we could relax and get a good night sleep.
The room was very reasonable in terms of cost and we found the staff very helpful.
We would certainly stay again and would recommend this venue to others

  • Liked — The peace and Tranquility
  • Disliked — No cooking utensils
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coccium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

my wife and I booked a nights stay at Lluc with a view, we hoped, to finding that inner feeling. And we are very sad to report that it just did not happen. The place it´s self is beautiful, the setting is spectacular, but the secular seems to have been taken over by the commercial.
The rooms are of a hotel standard, and the complex houses several bars and resturants.
Perhaps the clicking of cameras detracts from the true meaning of such a place.
Even the lighting of a candle has taken on a 21st. century conatation with gas cannister candles taking over from the real thing.
Perhaps we, the visitors, are made to feel too comfortable and the true meaning of a religous retreat has been lost.
I hope we dont sound too negative, its a very subjective thing, and as we said the setting is spectacular.
For others it may work, but we did leave with a sense of missing out on what we were seeking

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank firemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

basic rooms are not the point - the real joy of this place is being alone in the monastry after the crowds have gone. Its not glamourous and the restaurant is more tourist canteen than rustic retreat, but well worth a look, only for the silence which is enforeced after 11 pm and diverse range of guests, and the price - which is mega reasonable.

  • Liked — locatiion/ quiet
  • Disliked — goat bells ringing out all night
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank cityjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lluc
3.3 mi away
Finca Es Castell
Finca Es Castell
#1 of 1 in Caimari
308 reviews
3.3 mi away
Can Furios Hotel
Can Furios Hotel
#1 of 1 in Binibona
202 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ca'n Calco Hotel
Ca'n Calco Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moscari
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
10.5 mi away
Citric Hotel Soller
Citric Hotel Soller
#32 of 37 in Soller
341 reviews
9.0 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lluc Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lluc Monastery

Property: Lluc Monastery
Address: Placa Peregrins, 1, 07315 Escorca Lluc, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Lluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lluc Monastery 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary of Lluc, in the district of Escorca, is one of the most famous locations in the Tramuntana mountain range. Surrounded by mountains and woodland the Sanctuary welcomes thousands of visitors each year.It is the ideal place for nature lovers, walkers and those who want to get away from it all and relax. The guest accommodation consists of 81 rooms and 39 apartments with kitchen, all of which have private bathrooms, central heating and TV. The individually decorated rooms are bright and spacious. Whichever you choose you are sure to have an unforgettable experience,imbued with the peace and tranquillity of which we are so proud.The rooms with views of the mountains allow visitors to experience unique sensations: the scent of the countrysideat dawn, the beauty of sunset and the silence that reignsin the mountains at niqht. The rooms overlooking the lovely central courtyard are just as appealing. In eitherof these room types guests can appreciate the dignity and beauty of these emblematic buildings and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this important religious and cultural centre. All of the restaurants can cater for any type of celebration or event. Their menus include a wide choice of traditional Mallorcan cuisine, prepared with the finest of local products. Within the Sanctuary there is a beautiful church where visitors can hear the famous Blavets boys choir, as well as a botanical garden and a museum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lluc Monastery Hotel Lluc
Lluc Monastery Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing