We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but room very important”
Review of Sol Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Guadalupe
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel but room very important”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for a week. We had a really nice relaxing holiday. Weather was great and the strip along the beach has a great selection of nice restaurants. The only complaint we had was the noise from the adjoining hotels/apartments. There are 9 floors and we were on level 1 at the back of the hotel. (the front is the pool side). Everyone can't have the best view so we didn't mind this in itself. My wife is pregnant and we literally could not sleep with the noise from the hotel close-by.(sol y Vera apartments) There were groups of young men and women singing, chanting, roaring, shouting, playing music and loudspeakers at all hours out on their balconies, eg 5am! (Some people only want to have their own fun and don't worry about anyone else. There are plenty of bars and niteclubs available-no need to party in hotel) We politely asked for a room change each morning and on the third day we got moved to level 7- still at the rear but a bit away from the nearby hotel. This made a huge difference as we were able to have a good nights sleep to compliment very enjoyable day and nights. Also, we now had a double bed instead of two single beds side by side which is not good enough for a four star hotel. Magaluf is a party resort and is wild, but this side of the resort can be easily avoided at night for those who wish to do so. I would recommend both sol Guadalupe and magaluf for a relaxing holiday but only if we were guaranteed a double bed, and a good sleep.

The hotel is great. Very clean. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Great pool.5mins walk to beachfront. 15min walk to waterpark.20-25mins drive to Palma. (Went here by bus on a cloudy day-lovely city). Great selection of restaurants and bars- a definite advantage of being in a large resort.

Only negatives were 1) having two single beds instead of a double and 2) noisy neighbours.

Overall though, we really enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Pool side has best view and sun, and further away from nearby hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank formal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    685
    204
    70
    41
See reviews for
559
800
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel is really nice. Lovely decor and really clean. Definitely a step above some of the other hotels in the area. Great selection of food on a daily basis if you go half board. Really refreshing every time you walk into the cool lobby from the some times clammy outside. The rooms were good, Possibly a little small but well maintained and clean. Close proximity to the beach and plenty of the usual shops in the area. For nights out, BCM is just down the street and the strip is not that far a walk to get to. The one thing that really lets the hotel down is the bar, lovely to look at but thats about it. Poorly stocked, such as no oranges in the fresh oranges machine and not a good cup of coffee. Some mixers not in stock such as cranberry and no limes, just lemons. But the bar Manos across the road is far superior and worth a stop.

To sumerise, i would highly recommend this hotel on a half board basis, good value for money and on my list of places to return too.

Room Tip: Pool Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the Guadalupe. The hotel is lovely! It was extremely clean and well looked after and the staff were all very friendly. There is lots going on throughout the hotel, especially around the pool and for all ages too. There were many activities available for children throughout the day and at night which was run by the staff of the Guadalupe and they also organised water polo games, aqua zumba and volleyball, etc for the adults. However, if you are after a quiet and relaxing day then you will be able to achieve that too! The hotel is in a prime location with less than a five minute walk to both the beach and the strip. The beach is lovely and there are a number of nice places to eat on the sea front. The Pirate restaurant has a delicious lunch menu and the Daiquiri cocktail bar has a number of tasty drinks on offer. We didn't hear a thing from the strip or from people returning from a night out in the evenings but I can imagine that could vary depending on the guests in the hotel. We had a pool view room which was away from the strip so that may have been why and the back of the hotel looks out over two other hotels which are primarily occupated by young adults. But, if you are choosing to go on holiday in Magaluf, you need to expect some noise in the evenings!!
The hotel offers entertainment in the evenings including singers, dancers, tribute acts and flamenco dancers. They even decorated the whole terrace and pool area ready for a 'White Party!'.

The rooms were really comfortable as a base and were cleaned everyday to a high standard. They have a fridge, air con and a big ceiling fan so you are able to keep cool easily. Also, they have a big flat screen tv with access to English channels including BBC and ITV, which was great as we wanted to watch highlights of the Olympics. The only negative about the rooms were that the beds were a little hard and did give us both back ache towards the end of the week.

The hotel has three lovely pools and loads of space around each of them. There were always sunbeds available. The restaurant offers a huge range of food although this did get a little repetitive by the end of the week, but everyone will find something to eat, even the fussy eaters. If you like sea food, you won't go hungry! There is a large bar area and lounge which is modern and houses a number of computers wired up to the internet as well as TVs showing the news and English channels - ideal if you wanted to stay up to date with things back home.

We had a fantastic holiday here and will probably return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamGB927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week from 23 July and it was a really enjoyable stay.

The hotel is lovely, which is more than I can say for the resort of Magalluf. If you want a hotel that is nicely away from the strip etc then this is the one.

The hotel bar/lounge is fantastic and modern and even has bed type furniture to sit on (although you pay for this privilege).

The rooms are not massive but cleaned every day and have a fridge, air con, ceiling fan and a flat screen tv with 4 or 5 English Channels including BBC and ITV.

We paid for a pool view and it was well worth it because like many have said the rear rooms look over the Sol y Vera apartments and also Mallorca Rocks apartments and they are very noisy. We could not hear them from our room but when we went passed them on an evening you could hear the young crowd singing, shouting and playing their music very loud.

We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was very good with lots on offer and the food was very good quality.

We loved the pool it is very large and never crowded, probably because the children had their own pool. We never waited for a sunbed and although some people put towels out it was not widespread and there was always beds available. If you want to get away from the pool area there is a sun terrace again with lots of sun beds.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anybody who visits Magalluf although I would not be rushing back to this resort.

ps we went to the Pirate show which is nearby and can highly recommend it, unbelievable show.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor (you get a sea view) with a pool view. Even if you have to pay you won't reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here on my first time coming to magaluf and the Hotel is lovely, great pool area, spacious rooms, good staff, good food and range of it! Cleaners come often and go a good job, and it is in the perfect location for magaluf.
Just a few things to note, one thing that is really getting on my nerves lately is people staying in magaluf and complaining about the noise of guest playing music and coming in at 6am... you are staying in magaluf WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?? don't act like your upper class and have the right to moan about it when you go to stay in a party capital hotel that clearly states how close it is to the strip, don't be naive. It really winds me up, we had a written warning issued to us stating that if one more person complained our stay would be terminated, and we were definitely not extreme, it was just for playing music while we were getting ready and on our way out. So the hotel is great however i think they are confused about the type of people that stay in magaluf. for goodness sake don't go on a family holiday here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just home from the guadalupe. It is a lovely hotel with plenty of fun for all ages. I have never met as friendly staff from reception,cleaning staff,bar&waiters&entertainment team make a real effort to get to know you especially Silke,Christina&Joel. Check in&out very efficient-asked for 2 pool view rooms which were given with no problem. Lots of sunloungers available &pool area very spacious. My brother received champagne&truffles for his birthday which was a lovely gesture. Food a bit repetitive but plenty of choice.
What lets the hotel down is the noise at night from groups of young people who seem to run up&down the corridors shouting&playing music. We had to contact security several nights with neighbours playing music full blast in the middle of the night. Perhaps if groups were placed together on low floors this could alleviate the problem to some degree as it is unfortunate that this ruins such a fantastic hotel.
If the hotel could be moved to a resort like Santa Ponsa I would have no hesitation in returning but Magaluf and the young people it seems to attract would deter me from this.
If you can live without sleep at night then I fully recommend this hotel for it really is lovely&ticks all the good boxes otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 previously visited two years ago, love this hotel very family friendly, love the swimming pool, rooms are a good size with a fridge widescreen tv and balcony. It is close to the beach, local restaurants, bars, go karts and aqua park. Food was excellent fresh with plenty of choice for all ages only complaint is not everything was labeled and as I like to know what I am eating I prefer to know exactly what it is. Never came across any security staff during our stay only pool staff who were very friendly as were all staff. Looking forward to visiting Magalluf again and will certainly be staying in the Guadalupe......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandlyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#2 of 28 in Magaluf
1,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#9 of 28 in Magaluf
2,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe

Property: Sol Guadalupe
Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Sol House Guadalupe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Guadalupe is ideally located only 200 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. The hotel is offering leisure and entertainment services designed for all ages. Enjoy the spectacular lagoon-style pool with whirlpool as well, 2 kid's pools (one of them with slides) and 1 semi-covered pool. Modern and comfortable rooms completely refurbished with balcony overlooking the pools, the mountains or with sea view. Sport activities programme, entertainment with live music, shows and musicals for all ages. Mini club with creative games, crafts and sport activities. 24-hour self-service kitchen for families with babies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing