We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standard”
Review of Sol Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Guadalupe
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good standard”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is located close to Magaluf center, at about 5 minutes walking to the beach or to the area with bars and disco clubs, but secluded enough to not be affected by their noise during the night.

Avoid 1st and 2nd floors (poor view due the therrace and noisy) - in addition to the 1st floor there is a closed terrace (see picture). The best rooms are those with numbers from 1-10 on each floor and of course on the upper floors (larger balcony, partial sea view). Rooms #10 and #12 on each floor are located near elevators, so it's a little more noise. All rooms #01 - #33 (or 901-926 on the top floor) overlook the pool, the rest overlook the street/parking.

The rooms #10 on each floor are the largest (junior suite). Rooms are large, recently renovated with new furniture, with down tiles that mimic wood, as well as in the bathroom. In room there is a sofa bed for 2 persons (in junior suite).

The bathroom is large with plenty of glass, including part of the wall to the room, equipped with various items (razor kit, shower cap, but no body lotion or shampoo).

Parking costs 5 EUR/day, vault costs 30 EUR/week and WiFi costs 1 hour - 4 EUR, 1 day - 11 EUR, 3 days - 20 EUR, 7 days - 30 EUR.

At check-in you get a Kathmandu pass, which offers one free admission to The House, a round of 18-holes mini golf at Golf Fantasia in Palma Nova and 50 % reduction in other Katmandu Park attractions.

The staff was very helpful, on arrival we got cold dinner in the restaurant (we had check-in after midnight). There are artistic programs and sport contests for children and adults during daytime and evening shows. The pool is very large with a jacuzzi and pool snack-bar and two swimming pools for children.

The restaurant is large, with international cuisine and plenty of sea food. Food is very good and varied. Decent price for drinks at lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st and 2nd floors. The best rooms are those with numbers from 1-10 on each floor and of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    647
    199
    66
    40
See reviews for
530
763
64
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice hotel, very close to the beach.
The food was excellent . A lot of atractions for young peoples in Magalus, clubs, pubs and also a lot of shopping places.
Magaluf is a location where 90% of tourist are coming from England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

make this simple rooms perfect but walls thin bathroom very good glass shower door not curtain 32 inch flat screen tv for when u r getting ready ie back round noise staff great food all types but great breakfast full english etc close to manos pub great boozer not too loud just right get over to bennyhill great staff great music too ive been going to magaluf every year since 2004 stayed in the hotel 3 times this will be my fourth going back in june 2014

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

after coming here for the 5th time we were gona try somewhere different, but after a lot of hard thinking,we change our mind and decided to book up here again for next year, this hotel is the best in magaluf lovley staff and lovley rooms the staff all very friendly and help you with anything and also the food is delicious and also lovley position for the beach 5 mins away. once again sol guadaloupe for been a lovley and welcoming hotel,and see you all next year x

Room Tip: book a room with a pool view as round the back can b a bit noisy with the young folk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roastbeefdinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been holidaying in Magaluf/Palma Nova for the last 20 years and this is by far the best hotel in the resort. So much so that we have stayed there 6 times now!! We have stayed there in July, August and September and regardless of which month, the hotel was just as fantastic ion each stay. The hotel underwent a complete refurbishment in 2007 and the facilities are amazing.

Location: The hotel is ideally situated for couples and families. It is 5 minutes from the beach and main shops and restaurants. It is perfect because it is out of the way of all the Magaluf rowdiness but only a 5 minute walk to the strip. Pirates is just at the end of the road, and Western Water Park is about a 15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi journey. Katmandu house and mini golf is 5 minutes away.

Rooms: The rooms are a reasonable size and have bath, shower, satellite tv, and air conditioning. Most rooms are twin rooms but there are a handful of double rooms if you ask when booking. The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bedding. I would definitely pay that bit extra to have a pool view as rooms at the back of the hotel are exposed to more noise from the neighbouring hotels (Sol Y Vera and Mallorca Rocks Amartments).

Pool: The pool area is amazing. The main pool has got to be the biggest pool in Magaluf and features a jacuzzi in the centre. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and some on a elevated terrace for those who can't get up early enough to reserve theirs. In the height of the season (July/August) I have got up as early as 6.00am to reserve sunbeds! The pool doors don't open until 8.30am though so if you just turn up at 8.30am and run you should get a decent spot! (It's a nightmare, I know, but this isn't the only hotel I've been to where you have to get up early for sunbeds). There is an indoor pool which hardly gets used because of the fantastic weather. There are two kids' pools, one for young toddlers and a larger one for the older kids. The larger pool has three dinosaur slides which my little one loved. Just by the kids' pools is a small play area with slide/climbing frame.

Entertainment: The day time entertainment is good and includes getting involved in Sangria making, 'guess the weight of the melon' aquaerobics etc. In the afternoon the reps get out a water carpet that the kids (and some adults!) run across. This is great fun to watch and take part in. The night time entertainment is also good and includes a kids mini disco, bingo, and good quality tribute acts. There is a kids club for the children but I can't comment on this as my little boy isn't old enough to go but the reps are fantastic with the kids at the disco.

Food: The food is excellent in the hotel and there is always plenty of choice. I am a fussy and I never go hungry! On a morning there is a full English buffet breakfast, continental breakfast, cereals, fruit and hams. Tea, coffee and juice is available at no extra cost. Dinner is 6.30pm to 9.30pm and again is buffet service. Drinks, including water are available at an additional cost. The foods available vary but there are certain items which are on each night, for example chips, pizza, pasta. There are always a selection of cooked meats, two choices of soup, and vegetables. Often there are themed nights such as Chinese, Mexican, etc. I have read reviews that the food wasn't hot enough but at the end of the day, it is a buffet, it is going to cool down, but I always found the chefs kept replenishing the food so it was always fresh and warm.

Staff: The staff in the hotel are lovely. Reception are always happy to help, as are the maids and restaurant staff and entertainment reps.

I really cannot recommend this hotel enough. The hotel was number 1 out of all hotels in Magaluf for a number of years until the new Sota Vento apartments took the top spot. One thing to note is the Sota Vento apartments are very trendy and catered towards young party animals so they won't stay at the top spot for long! You can stay in Magaluf for cheap, but if you are wanting a hotel that is fantastic, far enough out of the madness but not too far so you have to walk for ages then it is worth paying extra to stay here. I would never stay in any other hotel. Do not be put off by the "Shagaluf" association, the resort is fantastic and a brilliant place for kids and families. Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Request a pool view as the rooms on the back of the hotel tend to be a little bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emma_jayne_turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have been staying at least 2 times a year in this hotel since 1984 and I have always felt comfortable and safe .All the staff are friendly and helpful. Although it is a little more expensive than others in the area it is definitely worth the extra .It is near the beach and night life but far enough away from the strip to not be bothered by all night noise . The area is more civilised than the strip area.The double glazing keeps any unwanted noise out . A wonderful job has been done recently on the public areas and pool .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Dolores D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Guadalupe, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi John H,
Thank you very much for your fidelity in our services year after year, choosing our hotel to enjoy their vacation days, after all this time we are happy that you feel right at home.
Also thank you for a review about the hotel and staff. Keep customers happy with our service animates us in our daily work.
We are waiting for you here next year, as always.
Regards,
Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in Sol Guadalupe in june 2013, for 7 nights. We had a pool view room which was not so noise like the garden view which are faced the apart hotel near. The location of the hotel is very good, not in the middle of resort (where all the "action" is), but close to the beach and bus stop. We had half board which was an excellent choice for us. The food was gorgeous, varied and tastefull and they meet every taste without doubt. The staff in the restaurant is fantastic, they are running all around to fulfill every expectation. The room was quiet small, a little bit dated, but was ok for a good sleep after the tiresome days. The pool was ok, we spend just one day there. The bus station for Palma is 2-3 minutes away and the journey to Palma takes 50-60 minutes. From there you can reach every point of the iland in maximum one hour. It is very true that Magaluf like all the resorts in the south of Majorca is full of large groups of young people who are very noisy and almost every time drunk, but we survived and we have spend nice time in Majorca staying in Sol Guadalupe Hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seems to be quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Dolores D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Guadalupe, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Michelle1373,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holiday, last June.
We are pleased that you liked our hotel for the localization, the food and the staff, especially the restaurant staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards,
Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 28 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe

Property: Sol Guadalupe
Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Sol House Guadalupe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Guadalupe is ideally located only 200 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. The hotel is offering leisure and entertainment services designed for all ages. Enjoy the spectacular lagoon-style pool with whirlpool as well, 2 kid's pools (one of them with slides) and 1 semi-covered pool. Modern and comfortable rooms completely refurbished with balcony overlooking the pools, the mountains or with sea view. Sport activities programme, entertainment with live music, shows and musicals for all ages. Mini club with creative games, crafts and sport activities. 24-hour self-service kitchen for families with babies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Melia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing