We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Magaluf !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We only got back today and stayed for a week, me, my husband and four year old son. We stayed bed and breakfast for 7 nights and we had a lovely time. The hotel is modern, very clean and the entertainment is amazing. The entertainment staff are very friendly and brilliant with the kids. Food was lovely too, lots to choose From. We had dinner there on the last night and I would definite go for half board next time. They have exercise classes every day and different activities for the children every day. The hotel is a mixture of family and young people too and is a two min walk from the beach, bars and restaurants. Only thing I would say is the drink in the hotel is exspensive and would be nice to have a kettle in the room. We are booking for next year as we had a very nice holiday and would recommend others to go here.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with a giant swimming pool, enough sunbeds that you don't have to fight for them (or get up at 4am to reserve one)with outstanding food and service, stop looking at other hotels NOW! We have just returned from our third successive year at Guadalupe and it has never disappointed us. The food is reason enough to choose this hotel over others, the sheer amount of choice is incomprehensible, if you find you don't like anything on offer, then you are either an anorexic or fanny fusspot. Try it, I guarantee you'll love it....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Cavin V,

Thank you very, very much for such a nice and funny comment! We are pleased you had a perfect holiday for the 3rd time with us and keep enjoying it. We also appreciate your high recommendation of Sol Guadalupe to all the travellers.

Regarding "gaining weight": just in case somebody having this fear, we have plenty vegetables, fruits and diet products to choose from))).

Looking forward for your 4th visit.
Best wishes,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Sol Guadalupe with my children aged 9 and 10 and my in laws. The hotel was clean, the staff were all helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were great was as there was so much choice !The entertainment however was excellent.There
was something throughout the day for adults and kids and every evening a show or an artist (after the kids disco). We will definitely go back. Thank you to the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRoskell98 l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Its a very nice hotel, reception area is modern and the staff very helpful. The Animation team work hard to reach all ages of clientele. The variety at breakfast will not disappoint. Our bedroom was ok and maids came in daily to clean and change towels. Our room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan, the fan worked better than air conditioning. The Wi-Fi was expensive at the hotel! The pool was cleaned daily, you cannot go on the sun beds till after 08.30 in the morning and they are all gone by 09.00. The pool bar has a good selection of drinks. There was quite a bit of noise in the early hours of the morning, but no more than you would expect for Magaluf. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor do not have a good view of the pool, you hear lots of noise from bar area, so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were looking for a fuss-free 5 night beach holiday for two older family adults. Magaluf was not our first choice but it wasn't too bad because the hotel catered well.

Pros: comfortable, clean, easy layout, close to beach and restaurants, buses, pirates show, airport (30mins). All guests are accommodated. Price is reasonable for location and services - but don't bother comparing to international standards, it's not a luxury 4*.

Cons: not soundproofed anywhere, you'll hear next door talking, parties from opposite hotel (if you're not facing poolside you'll get very, very loud music, banging, yelling, even fireworks all night), scraping from ceiling, echoes in corridors, noisy waterworks. We had 2 sleepless nights before we could change rooms. Wifi is not free or reliable, no loungers by pool after 10am.

Location: slightly less seedy bit of magaluf, just off the main strip. 5mins walk to beach, shops & restaurants. Not far from attractions (10mins) and Palma city (30mins). Buses are very good - 104 &106 are good for the other beaches, marine land (104) and Palma City (106). 3 euros 15 to Palma each way.

Style: clean, modern, purpose built white rendered block. Inside spaceous, modern, open plan, easy to navigate. No charm or character but comfortable for masses.

Atmosphere: relaxed, airy, plaza-like. Family, couples and young crowds are catered for. Comfortable facilties and accommodating. Disabled guests and elderly accommodated well.

Rooms: standard room. balcony small but ok. Bathroom ok size but bidet meant toilet is very tight with sink. Two soap dispensers and a box of bathroom basics as well as decent hairdryer. Wardrobe has full mirror and good storage.

Facilities: good working order. Wifi is not free and does not always work. Pools are ok but no free sun lounger after 10am (try after 4pm). They are uncomfortable too. Entertainment is cheesy but good quality for families most days.

Staff and service: generally friendly and professional. However you can queue for while at reception when there's large groups and service can feel rushed/inadequate. There's no real sensible queuing system. Maids are polite and work well to keep rooms and buildings clean.

Restaurant and Food: efficiency, cleanliness, food variety is priority. Staff are very helpful and quick. Food is hit and miss but you will find something enjoyable. Lacks music relaxation. You'll need 2 euros for water at dinner and you need to call over someone for drinks.

Overall with the noise aside it was comfortable and clean throughout. The facilities were decent and it was well located. We wouldn't choose this one again but if you're not bothered by major noise and you are family/disabled/elderly it is pretty decent for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First time at this hotel, for myself and my 15 year old son, it was a fantastic hotel.
very clean, the staff were very helpful and the entertainment team worked so hard throughout the
day and evening, the food was plentiful with many choices on the menu at meal times throughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a pool view which was amazing.
plenty of sunbeds around for everyone which is a bonus.
I even participated in the classes the hotel had to offer which was great fun,my son enjoyed the
water polo each day. Suggested to my son on numerous times to go to beach or water park but wanted to stay within the hotel, the hotel is near to the bars, shops and part of magaluf beach.
All the staff were amazing down to the cleaners. The only thing i would say is would make life some what easier with an extra bonus of having wi fi, i feel the charge is a bit steep 8 euros a day for one device..also in certain areas wi fi wasnt as good,.that is the only fault i had. I would definately go back again without a doubt.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor, i requested this as i dont like rooms to high up due to a medical condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked here as a last minute holiday with my kids through Jet2.

On arrival the reception was fully air con which was welcoming given the 30 deg heat outside.
Check in was efficient though due to our early arrival our room wasn't ready. We were advised an hour, so we left our bags in their secure room and went to the bar and explored the ground level. After an hour our room still wasn't ready, so without fuss they put us into a different room to save us waiting another hour. I think check in is 2pm and we had arrived by about 11 ish.

The 4 lifts were fast and efficient. The room was clean and adequate for sleeping and changing etc. The balcony was the right size to have a drink whilst waiting for the kids to get ready! Room had a digital tv with a few UK english channels, a fridge and safe (I think I paid 12E for the safe). The wardrobe space was enough as was the shelving. The bathroom had a normal sized bath a decent mixer shower and also a bidet. Toilet paper was basic recycled rubbish, but I always take my own! The soap and shower cream dispensers worked and mositurised well. With the balcony doors shut, we weren't disturbed by the nearby nightlife. We could set BCM (biggest club in Magaluf) from our balcony!

The pool area was a good size and pool depth was max 5ft. Plenty of sunbeds and no fighting to throw towels down. The hotel is multinational so not the usual Brits trying to reserve all the beds by 6am (yes Brits are worse than Germans!). We usually got to the pool after breakfast about 10am and had no problem getting 3 sunbeds and parasol.

The animation team were the usual cheerful lot trying to get people exercising and playing games etc...you can take it or leave and no pressure. As with the multinational nature of the place, they could speak several languages.

The poolside bar was well stocked and not overly expensive. Cocktails about 6E, cans of soft drinks and beer 2E. The poolside snack bar had a reasonable choice of food and sensible prices.
There was a massage table on a terrace just up from the pool at very reasonable prices with a professional masseuse. Basic massage 20E for 30mins and was very relaxing. They also did other types such as swedish, aromatherapy, thai etc.

We booked half board. The restaurant was large and food was buffet style. Breakfast had the usual english stuff, fruit, continental, cakes, breads, hams etc. You couldn't go hungry. The fruit was so fresh compared to the shriveled stuff served in many British hotels. The dinner buffet also catered for different tastes and even my son who is terribly fussy was able to eat plenty. There were a few theme nights such as Spanish, Chinese etc. There was always a grill on the go for steaks/chops/chicken/fish depending what was in that day.

The shows were the usual mixture of funny and cheesy rep stuff.

There was a decent games arcade with a few electronic games, air hockey and pool table. Internet area (1E for 15mins). Wifi had to be purchased, but I had prepaid for 4G data which was cheaper and served the purpose of reading skysports, skynews and facebook on my phone/tablet!

The hotel was about 10 mins walk from the beach which was clean and not noisy. 10mins to The Strip where the busy bars and clubs are and about 10-15 mins to The House of Katmandu park.

20mins private car transfer time from Palma airport.

Tip: Dont use the Spar shop across from the hotel main gate as the prices are all marked up with labels over the printed prices esp newspapers!

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I think Sol hotels generally have a good standard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca by Melia
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#18 of 28 in Magaluf
1,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#12 of 28 in Magaluf
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Guadalupe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe by Melia

Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Sol House Guadalupe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £53 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Guadalupe is ideally located only 200 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. The hotel is offering leisure and entertainment services designed for all ages. Enjoy the spectacular lagoon-style pool with whirlpool as well, 2 kid's pools (one of them with slides) and 1 semi-covered pool. Modern and comfortable rooms completely refurbished with balcony overlooking the pools, the mountains or with sea view. Sport activities programme, entertainment with live music, shows and musicals for all ages. Mini club with creative games, crafts and sport activities. 24-hour self-service kitchen for families with babies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Guadalupe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe By Melia Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing