We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Guadalupe
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

This hotel should be at least a 4 star the food is amazing and plenty of choice. Huge swimming pool and a great location only a few minutes walk from pirates, the strip, bcm and western water park. I could not fault anything in this hotel and I have to say I did not notice any noise from hen and stag parties or nose during the night. The maids were cleaned our room everyday and we go fresh towels everyday. The rooms have not been refurbished like the rest of the hotel but we found they were very clean and a good size with balcony. The staff at reception and very friendly and helpful. I would recommnend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibu0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    639
    197
    66
    38
See reviews for
526
753
63
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Just returned this morning after a fantastic 10 night stay at the sol guadalupe. My boyfriend and i stayed here two yrs ago and thought it was great, but with the new refurb, upon arrival we thought we were staying in a luxury 5 star property. The hotel pool is huge and as always never a shortage of loungers. We were bathing generally up the top on the terrace (great if you wish to bathe topless). What i love most about the hotel is that everyone is so friendly and we met lots of people.. my boyfriend was normally wearing his arsenal gear, and i was the girl with the big frizzy hair.. if you have just returned you would not have missed us.
Any way back to the review, the only downside was the cost of the drinks at the hotel pool bar. For a large coke/lemonade it was 2.45 euros and with the poor rate of exchange currently at 1.13 euros to pound, it makes it a bit of a rip off. I would recommend popping across the road to the supermarket to buy drinks, so much cheaper... but just be discreet...
There were quite alot of stag / hen groups at the hotel but nothing that would ruin your stay. The only thing i dont like about the male groups is that they love to have a good old gawp at you as you walk past in your bikini and that can be quite intimidating, but after a little while they soon get bored!!
In reference to the earlier review, my boyf also heard the singing until 5am across the street at Manos (smile) but this is not something that would happen regularly so do not let that put you off.
If you fancy a trip to Palma, the hotel is in a great location. Turn left out of the hotel and you will see a roundabout. The bus stop is on the opposite side of the road on the right. There are several buses that go there (costing approx 2.75 euros per person). The L107 is the fastest as it goes striaght to palma on the motorway (20 mins), if that doesnt show up try the L105, or the L106 and a last option the L104 as this can take up to 45 mins. We took a taxi ride back, and this cost us euros 18. thought it would have cost us more..the reason we took the taxi home was because we missed the bus by seconds and you never know when the next one will show, as when we went to palma we waited for 40 mins. If you want to go to a shopping mall itself, the porto pi mall is literally 5 mins from palma central.... dont bother, .the only decent shop is Zara, and the others are a cross between clothing club and mad house. (lol) There is a Zara in the main town centre so you will not miss out!!
Back to the hotel again, if you need to wash clothes they do hav e a laundry facility on the 1st floor although my boyf said it looked 'dusty'... but if you are desperate this would be handy.
If you come with children the hotel really pulls out all the stops to ensure your kids have the best time. They organise pool activities for an hour or so in the afternooon and in the evening put on themed nights ie fright night, grease, live music etc very family orientated. You also get quiz and bingo nights there too. Oh i must say, did anyone see the Acrobatics show on Monday night. At the end, they gave you the opportunity to buy the DVD for 5 euros and only 2 people bought it!! I dont mean to laugh but the poor man must have been thinking ' tight wotsits'!! guess you would have had to have been there!!! but with such a large audience i think he was shocked that no-one wanted it! i mean to watch the act in the hotel is one thing, but to have it on DVD...nooooo!!! Well done to the two that did buy it... you are very kind hearted as im sure you only did it out of pity....
So im nearly at the end of my 'short' review. Last time we came we thought the food was 5 star, but not sure if it has anything to do with the credit crunch or their recent refurbishment has meant buying cheaper products, but the food standard seems to have slipped slightly. But that was just my personal opinion. Everything on the menu was edible and if you go for the half board package, it is definitley good value for money. The staff were so kind and we even tipped one of the ladies at the end (was only 10 euros)... she was over the moon.
My boyfriend and i went to an Indian restaurant on the beach a couple of times when we didnt eat at the hotel. It is called Nawaab and the food is great. Beautiful settings especially when the sun goes downs.... cost for the two of us was about 50 euros... epxensive but well worth it...
Oh just one last thing, if you are a party goer, then all the bars are about a 5-10 mins walk. We went to a bar called Alex's / and a club called tokyo joes. Great if you like rnb and hip hop.
Wish i was back there now, and to everyone we met, thank you for making our trip more memorable... x Feel free to mail me with questions, as you can probably tell, im filled with answers!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramelqueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We have just returned and had a fab time,more than impressed with refurbe very modern,staff really nice defo worth the money,however agree with previous review quite a lot of rowdy groups of both male and female parties and we booked up sunday to thursday to avoid the weekend,it did`nt spoil our stay but i did feel sorry for people with kids as these gropus had no consideration for others.We did hear about the group of geordies pleased we missed that LOL

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a 5 night break after reading reviews and also knowing that the hotel had recently been refurbished. The hotel itself was excellent and the staff friendly but to our amazement the day after we arrived which was a Tuesday there was stag and hen parties arriving on a daily basis. At one point there must have been aroung 100 of both parties and around the pool were a lot of disgusting drunk males and females. There was a crowd of about thirty Geordies fully intent on causing mayhem.
We will not come back to this hotel unless they change the policy of allowing these disgusting Brits to wreck everyones enjoyment of a holiday. I felt so sorry for older couples and couples with children
There was a group who sung there heads off until 5am across the road at Manos bar stopping everyone getting a sleep as it carried straight over to the hotel and these so called holidaymakers trying doors and running up corriders at 4/5 in the morning was like a holiday from hell.
What ever Sol is trying to achieve they are certainly not appealing to regular holidaymakers. Unless you are a drunken lout stay clear of this hotel.

The staff tried their best but in my opinion they should have ejected all the drunken louts.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soulmate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

This was our 3rd holiday in as many years to this hotel. Wonderfu.
The staff are so polite and welcoming - the holtel is spotless - THE CLEANERS ARE OUT IN FORCE ALL DAY, EVERY DAY - IN THE LOOS, THE LIFTS, THE ROOMS, ROUND THE POOL - FAULTLESS.
Good food, good location - and the ground floor - WOW - This is a 5* reception and 3* only by size of rooms, nothing else - it is that good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paudaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed in the hotel on the recommendation from a friend and we will be recommending to everyone we know it was great we especially liked the seperate toddlers pool and the kids club and the location of the hotel, nice restaurants at the seafront and a 10min walk into palma.........For shopping its worth a 20min journey into the centre of palma to the shopping centre. The water park was great too and this hotel only a few minutes away, great for families.

The only thing we should have done different was booked a family suite for the seperate sitting area as the room was a bit small for us but we will defo stay here again - already looking at going in august x

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

I have just returned from staying at this hotel for 3nts from friday 29th may- monday 01st june 2009 I was on my annual trip to magaluf for our girls weekend away there were 7 of us all ladies ranging from 27-34 years old we have been doing this trip for the last 3 years now and usually stay at the 4* Sol Antillas Barbados on half board but I was so pleased I decided to try this hotel the Sol Guadalupe it is far more elegant than its sister property and definately should be at least a 4* rating especially after its refurbishment.
There were alot of male groups ages from 30-65 years old which I found were no problem we were situated on the 7th floor and our rooms were lovely and clean and spacious enough for 2 pax in them comfortably, we have no regrets or complaints about this hotel at all and are planning to stay again next year as we were all very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magalufmassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 27 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe

Property: Sol Guadalupe
Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Sol House Guadalupe)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Guadalupe is ideally located only 200 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. The hotel is offering leisure and entertainment services designed for all ages. Enjoy the spectacular lagoon-style pool with whirlpool as well, 2 kid's pools (one of them with slides) and 1 semi-covered pool. Modern and comfortable rooms completely refurbished with balcony overlooking the pools, the mountains or with sea view. Sport activities programme, entertainment with live music, shows and musicals for all ages. Mini club with creative games, crafts and sport activities. 24-hour self-service kitchen for families with babies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing