We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Wave House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Located Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Best Hotel in Magaluf for location,millions been spent on it recently.
Needs staff to be more polite and cheerful,then it will improve its
reputation as other Sol Hotels.
Ideal for all amenities,including B.C.M....The Beach...The Strip
..Go to the Pirates Show..( Breathtaking ).

Room Tip: Get a room from floor 2 up,( more private )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Brian m,
We appreciate the comments that you gave us, these, will help us to improve our Customer Service . Sorry if you felt that the attitude of our staff were inappropriate, obviously we work on it and also we will do our best in order to update some of our facilities. Hope to see you again. Kinds Regards, Sofía Llambías E- Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    192
    86
    38
    35
See reviews for
115
202
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
egham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, with totally refurbished rooms, which are of a high standard. The addition of the "wave pools", bring a unqiue product to the resort of Calvia, which i am sure the surfers will enjoy, overall a fantastic new product.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank cameron333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Hello Cameron333,
Thank you very much for your kind words about Sol Wave House, It is very important for us to know that we pleased your expectations. We hope to see you soon. Sofia Llambias E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here with a girl mate for 5 days, was a lovely hotel as it had just been refurbished.
Although it was a very badly run hotel as the security guards were watching you like you was in prison all the time.
If you wanted to sit by the pool you had to buy a drink and if you wanted to sit on a sun lounger with one of the hotel towels on it the staff would run over and ask to pay 5 euros for it!!!!!
Also if you were sitting by the hotel pool you get the staff coming over and asking you if your staying in the hotel and ask to see your room card which was annoying too!!
its close to all the bars and clubs if your going there for that and very close to the beach which is a minuite walk through the back of the hotel.
Also the wave surf machine which is the high light of this hotel didnt work once when we stayed there and also lots of work being done on it and drills and banging noises!!
People who stay in the hotel are very posh/essex look allikes so if thats you then your fit in lol.

Room Tip: ask to choose a pool/sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Hello Lozchar,
Thank you very much to communicate your opinion about the hotel, we believe that it is only listening to your comments and suggestions that we can improve our service every day. About our VIPs sun bed (white ones) cost 5€ per day, but the other one (brown ones), are for free if your are guest of the hotel, and you are not obligate to buy a drink. I want to say sorry for the inconveniences and I hope that we give us another chance and see you again in the hotel in the future. Kinds regards, Sofía Llambías E- Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandaff, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The staff are very rude to start with. The management have no consideration for guests who's flights are leaving at night. My flight was at 11 at night and the hotel decided to kick us out at 12 in the noon. I did not feel valued at all. Seriously atleast mention this when customers are booking so they are prepared for it the night before they are about to leave.. is 35 degrees outside where are the guests expected to go with all there luggage.? The staff can be rude especially the security. When I complained about it the lady who barely spoke any english said '' Its our policy cant do anything about it ''. Manage your customer expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unknown1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hello unknown1_12.
Thank you very much for trusting us and spend your holidays with us. we are sorry that not everything met with your expectations. About the time of check out, it's always at 12 noon but we have a courtesy room with a shower and as well a luggage room, so you can enjoy the rest of the day without worries. if you want to, you can get directly in touch with me personally to give response about your comments. Kinds regards. Sofia Llambías E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I am a bit confused as we stayed at the HM Royal Beach, I guess they are the SC apartments not the Sol Wave Hotel which looks decidedly more glamorous. This place is pleasant enough, great location (we went as a couple for a weekend) and it was literally on the beach with lovely balcony ovelooking the beach and sea. The entrance to our room overlooked the nightclubs but as it was from the hallway we never noticed the noise as we never went out there unless to gain access or leave our room. The room was adequate for what we needed, we didnt really bother with the staff as we used it more as a base and ate or drank outside of the hotel. The main strip is a short stroll alongside the beach so great if you want to party then have a pleasant stumble home.

This is my first time to Magalluf, as said I was with my husband so did not want anything too wild, but was pleasantly surprised by the clientèle on the beach directly in front of our apartment. They were mainly young Europeans so only the occasional typical Brit on a stag weekend, but nothing rowdy or unpleasant. (I am sure if we were out until 4 or 5 in the morning we would have seen this on the strip, but this can be avoided).

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend here, nice clean place, beautiful white sandy beaches, lovely water for swimming. My husband went on a stag weekend and enjoyed the atmosphere intended for rowdy stag and hens, but also as a relaxing weekend away too.

Although the apartments were located perfectly (must mention Daquiri palace for cool blended ice cocktails, delicious and refreshing), must bear in mind I think these have some privately owned apartments which are a let down. We were next door to a trashed apartment that had underwear, used condoms and general dissaray all over the balcony which was not cleaned for the duration we were there (not pleasant, would have been worse if I had my children with us). I think these need to be serviced as part of the lease in order to maintain standards but apart from that it was a lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wales4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Hello Wales4
Thank you for having time to give your opinion about our Sol Wave House, we are happy to know that you enjoy your couple weekend, hope that we visit us again. Kinds regards E-Guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

4 girls aged 20 stayed here between 9th-16th June.

Hotel is approximately a 20 minute transfer from Palma airport.

On arrival the hotel looks rather closed in, but is a relatively large size. You have both lift and stair access to the main reception which is located on the first floor of the hotel.

Checking in took rather a long time, as your passports are required to be scanned in to the hotel's computer system, and none of the staff members seemed to speak much English. At least when we arrived at approximately 11am we could check in to our room straight away, rather than having to wait until 3pm.

Here are the good and bad aspects of the hotel and its surroundings:

Sun Beds - BE AWARE, staff members will try and charge you to stay on the hotel sunbeds. They seemed to have no clue as to what the rules are for the hotel!! On the first day, we were charged 4 euros per bed for the whole day (which is good compared to the beach prices). The second day we were told by a different staff member that we either paid 3 euros per bed, or bought a drink from the bar. The third day we were just asked if we were staying at the hotel, and just to show our room card in order to get the sunbeds for free!! Remember to show your card so that you don't get charged!! There are also 'shade-beds' which come at a cost of 30 euros per day! Not so happy about other people who arent staying at the hotel being able to come in and rent beds also.

Computers - There are 6 new wide-screen computers with internet access at the hotel reception, two of which werent working during our stay. Prices are 2 euros for 15 mins, 4 euros for 30 mins and 5 euros for 60 minutes. Dont try and enter money into the computer machine slots, you have to pay at reception who will print you off a user name and password to enter.

Location - The hotel is right at the bottom of the main strip and just opposite BCM square so can be quite noisy at night times, but perfect if you have come to Magaluf to party. Hotel is much closer than the Jungla and Mallorca Rocks, and a number of times we were told by other people who were staying at the other two hotels that they wished they had stayed here for the good location.

Staff - Most staff members spoke poor english. I had to count out our room number on my hands for the receptionist to understand what I was asking. There are always security guards patrolling the premises which was comforting if there were any problems. The room maids always knocked really early in the morning too, so make sure you put your 'do not disturb' sign on the door if you have had a late one. It seemed that our bins and bedding were only changed every other day aswell if you had missed the morning call.

Broken Things - I'm guessing these were only because we had stayed within the first two weeks of opening but a number of things were wrong with our room. The door handles were wonky! The air conditioning units broke 3 times during our stay, after it breaking the 3rd time we decided to give up asking for it to be fixed. The water pressure in the toilet was too weak that the toilet would not flush. After getting it fixed for the 4th time it finally worked and stayed working for the rest of our stay. On entering our room the fridge did not work, had to ask reception for a key for it. You do not get charged for the fridge or the air conditioning! The wave/surf machine was just being completed when we arrived, and was completed by the end of our stay. It seems that a second one is being built, so our view was spoilt by a huge marquee that was put up half way through the week.

Bedrooms - We stayed in a junior suite on the first floor of the hotel, and to be honest the rooms were faultless. We had two large bedrooms (4 double beds in total), a kitchen area with bar stools (containined microwave, toaster, sink, fridge and cutlery/crockery) and a large bathroom which had a walk in shower (very powerful), toilet, sink, large mirror and a bidet. There were ants in our bathroom though! We had a large balcony which had a table and 4 chairs on and a rack to dry towels/clothes.

Pools - There are actually two pools in the hotel, we didnt find the second pool for two days, make sure you walk down the steps to find the second one. The top level pool has the red shade beds around it and gets rather busy in the day time. The larger pool is downstairs and is slightly deeper. Both very nice and clean!

Access to Beach - the beach is directly behind the hotel and is absolutely gorgeous. White sand and clear sea. Perfect location if that is what you are looking for! From this point you can get onboard the party boats and also hire out water-sport equipment.

Extras - We also went to a concert at Mallorca rocks which is about a 5 minute walk, and went to Western Water Park which took us 20 minutes to walk. This is well worth booking through your travel agent beforehand as we got it half the price. Is 25 euros for an adult on the gate, plus you have to then rent out your own rubber rings etc. to go on the rides!

Restaurants - we ate at the hotel once, but it was rather expensive (3 euros for just a bowl of chips). Three of my favourite places we ate were The Boatyard (along the beachfront and do really nice cocktails), Puerto Ricos (along the beachfront and has the nicest waiter), and Flavours (run by an English family at the bottom of the strip). All served English food at reasonable prices.

If you are looking for a relatively cheap night out, at the beginning of the strip is a manned stand that let you pay approximately 20 euros to gain entry to 5 different popular clubs on the strip which includes a free bar until 4 am (Boomerang, Tokyo Jo's, Honeyz and can't remember the last two).

If you stay at this hotel, be prepared for random PR people to disturb you while you are sunbathing even in the hotel surroundings which gets so annoying! We ended up just giving them money just so we could be left alone!

I would 100% recommend this hotel. It is very modern and has amazing views and is in the perfect location for if you want to enjoy the clubbing scenes of Magaluf, or just if you want to enjoy the beach and the sunshine. We had perfect weather all week.

I will also mention that when we arrived at Palma airport and told the Thomson rep that we were staying here, she said we would be impressed and we really were. After being the only people getting off the coach, I think we couldnt have picked a better hotel to stay at. Some people were even calling it 'Posh W'.

We got this hotel for £400pp for the week, I'm guessing this will rise significantly as people realise how nice this hotel is. One of the reps told us that to book and stay at this hotel when you get out there costs almost 200 euros a night!

Stay before it gets too expensive - brilliant hotel!!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balcony access to the decking and pools. Higher level rooms have proper balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hello Serena 8.
Thanks for your remarks about our hotel that help us to improve our Customer Service and we are glad that you enjoy your girls holidays 2012. I apologize if the infrastructure and service was not appropriate, we will work on it so that, in your next visit, everything will be to your liking. Kinds Regards Sofía Llambías E- Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was not sure what rating i should have given as i had the best party weekend getaway experience for a long time, will definitely go back! *** IF YOU WANT PEACE AND TRANQUILITY AVOID MAGALLUF!!! :)

5 stars for the experience // my weekend in Magalluf in general - amazing for party loving people, the crowd is awesome, the feeling is unbeatable!

4 stars for the hotel if i consider the concept - a party hotel right at the beach with great music played almost whole day, a wave generator and hot girls lying around.

3 stars for the hotel itself - (though it is unfinished, still under renovation)

1. PROS - looking at other hotels from the outside this seems to be the best in town
- the sea view is amazing - the hotel right is right at the beach
- the room was generally fine with generous balcony, especially the main room
- the strip is right at the door, the biggest club in town is a few minute walk, definitely the best spot
- athough it is right in the middle of the chaos it is surprisingly quiet
- got late checkout for extra - big plus!
- lots of shops and pubs and restaurants, taxis and stuff around

2. CONS
- extremely expensive - if not the town and the atmosphere nothing would justify the price not even the 100gbp i paid for the suite and it is now more expensive as i saw
- though it is under renovation some details are just ridiculous including the doors and some other details
- cleaning is mixed quality - when i got there there were problems though im not really interested in hospital style cleaning

Room Tip: sea view only!!! though i think all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clubber x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Wave House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hello Clubber X Thank you so much for sharing you impressions about the hotel and also the island, after your description, I can add very little, just to say thank you for your nice words.
Hope to see you again here at Sol Wave House. Kinds Regards Sofía Llambías E- Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
2,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Wave House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Wave House Hotel

Property: Sol Wave House Hotel
Address: Avenida Magaluf 18, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Royal Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Wave House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels & Resorts presents Sol Wave House, first Tweet Experience Hotel, located on the beautiful sandy beach and in a great entertainment area. Enjoy our wave pools (*), sporting events, performances and DJs sessions. Our spectacular solarium of 2640 m2, offers panoramic sea views. Relax at the infinity pool, hammocks or Balinese beds VIP (*). Free WiFi access, stay connected , meet new people, be aware of exactly what's going on. Join our community and share your moments #SocialWave. Have a cocktail in our BANZAI BAR overlooking the sea or have a snack along the seafront promenade, overlooking the Infinity pool. The spacious and modern rooms with surfer design, equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV 32 '', mini fridge, free safe, hairdryer, power shower, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and furnished terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Wave House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Royal Beach Magalluf
Hotel Hm Royal Beach
Royal Beach Hotel Magaluf
Sol Wave House Hotel Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing