We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Universal Hotel Florida
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What an amazing holiday. The hotel was extremely nice, with the bedrooms possessing brilliant bathroom facilities, fairly good bedding and a spacious room that all 4 of us had room to keep our stuff around. The bar/pool was lovely, with the water always beautiful, the views to the sea were gorgeous, the bar staff lovely (always a good laugh as well, got a few chat-up lines written down for me by "Alejandro" in spanish which didn't work too well but hey ho) and lots of space for sunbathing. Food wasn't exactly michelin star but definitely good enough for what we paid, with some items more tasty than others but always a good selection. If I was to find negatives it would be the fact the hotel lies at the top of cardiac hill (good luck after a few drinks) and the early check out times (we had to get out of our rooms at 12 yet we didn't leave until 8) but we were still welcome to food/drink in that time which compensated for the wait. Overall, it represented great value for £450. The food was good, the drinks were nice, the staff were lovely and the hotel itself was fantastic! Definitely not the family based hotel it mentioned in previous reviews though, a lot of young people there and barely any families. Lovely hotel though and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room in the main building if possible. Also we were on the 7th floor and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Con1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Con1234,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that everything was to your liking and that our staff pleased you. Thank you for letting us be a part of your holidays here in Mallorca.
Hope to see you in once again next year to share with us your experience.

Best Regards
José Solaz ( Director )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went with a group of girls for a weekend stay and the rooms were not ready and we had to wait for over two hours. We were told that the hotel was full so we had to wait until they cleaned the room which wasn't a good start. Changed into swimsuits and went to the pool and two hours after one of the girls went to the reception to ask if the rooms were ready and she was told off because they thought she was wet. Got into the room and we were all delighted with the rooms and the view and it was nice and quiet till other groups staying there woke up and the music and shouting and screaming from next door just never stopped. Hotel staff were continuously up and down telling the groups to be quiet but no one took any notice and it was an absolute joke.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Maureen,

Really sorry to hear that your stay in the hotel Florida wasn't what you expected, normally when you book in a hotel the check in time is 14:00h, what we try to do is if the people that was in your room checks out early, then we give the rooms as soon as they are ready, but sometimes people has late flights and stays in the rooms until 12 noon, and then we need to clean the rooms. Also as you mention in your review the Hotel staff tries to do their best to keep the noise levels down so everyone can enjoy their holidays, but there is particularly people that just doesn't have any manners or respect. However its important for us to know so that we can continuously improve.
Once again my apologies, we hope that you will give us another chance of being part of your holidays here in Mallorca.
Kind Regards
José Solaz (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for one long week at the start of June. On arrival we were shown to the smallest room I have ever stayed in with very few facilities, 1 chair on the balcony and 1 towel. I think we had been put into a single room and they had managed to shoehorn a double bed in.

We arrived early afternoon and made our way down to Palma Nova which was really nice.

Headed back to our hotel room late aft only to experience the nightmare that was to follow. There was a group of lads staying a couple of doors away that we're running up and down the corridors chasing each other, screaming and slamming doors. This set the scene for most nights.

There was excessive noise every night with loud shouting/screaming and doors banging.

After the first horrific nights sleep we spent the next evening trying to find alternative accommodation further away in Palma Nova - the cost was going to be about £350 for the rest of the week so we decided to give it another night.

I explained the issues to the manager and he was very understanding and most apologetic and explained that the hotel seemed to be catering for more young groups every year.

The hotel needs to decide who they are aiming at as there were plenty of more mature couples who were also struggling with noise issues. It should be either all young/groups or none, as trying to mix the two will only ever cause problems.

On a more positive note, the food and staff were fantastic and it had the potential of a great holiday.

This is my only weeks holiday this year and I came back needing a holiday more than when I arrived.

Plea to the owners........please listen to your guests and staff and decide who you are marketing to!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CountHouseBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Horace,

I´m really sorry to hear that your stay wasn´t as pleasant as you expected, also I´m sorry about the incoveniences with the room.
In these moments we had a really big group of people in ages between 18 and 35 years old, That is very common in the months of July and August and they come to Magaluf looking for fun and party and live during the night.

Once again I apologize for a bad experience at the hotel,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from Magaluf with a group of friends. It was our first girls holiday and the best decision we made was to stay at this hotel. The staff were always on hand and were always willing to help. Couldn't have asked for better! Cleaners extremely friendly and trustworthy. We had no bad experiences whilst staying here! Food was good, bar staff amazing and cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant. Over all very friendly atmosphere! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank GG11334449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear GG11334449,

I am very grateful to read these words and pleased to know that the first stay at our hotel has been a good experience.

It help us improve and also helps other people to see the quality of our Hotel.

We hope that we will get to see you back with us sometime in the future.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

not bad for a 3 star! well looked after for a budget holiday. Great location, food is to a good standard and feels more like a restaurant than a canteen. Staff are polite. Views are impressive. Beach and night life is a 10 minute walk.

Be aware this is a hotel for the younger generation, in my opinion not suitable for young families.... expect to have your door banged by teenagers having fun like they are on a primary school camping trip for the first time :).... the trick is to join them!

Oh and Sue's bar just around the corner sells John Smiths!

Magaluf is clean and tidy in my opinion for a party town.... well worth a visit for a good blow out!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for your comments, it takes us improve our product every day.

We really appreciate the feedback and we are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We hope that we will see you back again,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent food, very friendly staff, excellent views and with it's own private beach.What more could I ask for. Right next to the party area but yet far away enough to not be disturbed by the noise. I had an amazing time and can't wait to go back again in a near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Paul,

I am very grateful to read these words and pleased to know that your stay in Hotel Florida has been a good experience.

Your positive valuation means a lot to us. That's why I would like to thank your gesture. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed at this hotel with a group ranging between 24yrs and 62yrs old. We stood out from the crowd of 18 yr olds but we were able to enjoy our stay mainly down to the kind and attentive staff, great views and location and the wonderful food. We paid a very good rate for the wonderful service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy you liked our hotel, especially the food, the the staff friendliness, service and the great views.

I would like to thank your gesture. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

José Solaz (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 30 in Magaluf
1,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 30 in Magaluf
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#20 of 30 in Magaluf
1,717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol House Mallorca by Melia
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#2 of 30 in Magaluf
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Torrenova 33, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Universal Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf
Universal Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing