We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back if....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Universal Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Universal Hotel Florida
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would go back if....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the night receptionist is a delightful man and the rooms are ok by Magaluf standards but the hotel must evaluate at sometime if they want the families or the cheaper hen and stag parties that come to destroy the hotel and keep the families awake all night with their horrible language around the pool. We would go back but only if we had a guarantee that such people were not placed near us or around the pool and I hope the hotel reads this because this is the main damaging aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review and we are very happy you liked our hotel.

I´m sorry to read that your stay wasn´t as pleasant as you expected. It is true that during the time that you were staying in the hotel,we had a really big group of people in ages between 18 and 25 but not always. Magaluf is known as a party place with many stags and hens, especially on weekends. Most have a great time here, unfortunately there are some people misbehaving.This is very sad because they are disturbing other guests from enjoying their holidays.

I apologize for a bad experience at the hotel,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    347
    139
    49
    66
See reviews for
63
325
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Short and simply review
Location: Fantastic location about a 5 minute walk to the strip, although it is on a huge hill, but do not let that you put you off
Rooms: The room was decent size for the 4 of us, quite simply in decoration but did the job. We had a large balcony with sea view
Pool: Pool is good size with enough sun beds, the pool is at its busiest at about pm, although the beach is a 5 minute walk
Food: Again the food is quite good, can get quite repetitive and boring but it will suit the needs of most people.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday at the Florida, would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazamcbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Hazamcbaza,

Thank you so much for your kind words to the hotel Florida, we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you in once again netx year to share with us your experience.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've been to the hotel Florida many times. It's always been a friendly place. Nothing is too
Much trouble for the staff. Going back for the third time this year in September .
The only downside is the sun doesn't reach the whole pool area until about 11or12 o'clock.
Not really a problem.

Room Tip: Pool view for afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Raymond,

Thank you so much for your kinds words, I see you in september.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've just got back from a 7 night stay in Hotel Florida which is a lovely, clean hotel with beautiful views on top of a steep hill.

On arrival we were told that our room wasn't going to be ready until 1pm (we arrived at 10am) so we changed and sat by the pool bar for a few hours (all the sun loungers were in use.) our room wasn't actually ready until nearly half past two which was very annoying and even then the maid was still in our room finishing off. Once we finally got into our room we were amazed with the beautiful view.

Rooms are very spacious and relatively clean, cleaned everyday (although not very thoroughly) our towels and beds were also changed daily unlike other hotels we have visited in Magaluf. One of the beds in our room was very uncomfortable and we took it in turns to sleep in it as in the morning you were guaranteed to wake up with pains in your neck and back.
We also stayed on the 5th floor which was SO noisy being directly below the restaurant we were woken up every morning hearing chairs scraped across the floor. Not great when you're hungover.

The majority of the guests in this hotel are foreign and quite rude in my opinion. I also found this hotel to favour the foreign guests and be a lot more tolerant of their bad behaviour.

Hotel Florida is definitely not a place for party-goers. The security guard that patrols at night is SO rude and shouted at my sister to shut up after merely tripping over a step! One night we caught him listening in at our door accusing us of WALKING too loudly. His attitude is appalling and it's no wonder he gets the abuse that he does from other guests. The night receptionist is amazing though and laughed off the security's behaviour with us.

The food is ok. Chips or potatoes for fussy eaters like my sister. Mexican night was a personal fave. The cocktails on offer were disgusting. The sex on the beach tasted like a cup of sugar and the piña colada tasted like sick so I just stuck with soft drinks at the hotel.

The staff and maids are all very very friendly and helpful and I can't fault them at all. Jose (the hotel manager) greets you at the dining hall for each meal and is so welcoming.

Although this hotel was nice it just wasn't for us and we wouldn't stay here again. I also agree with previous reviews that this hotel really should make up it's mind at who it's target visitors should be. There is no atmosphere with this hotel which really does put a downer on things. Also the hill is an absolute killer! Towards the end of the holiday we started getting cabs up (only €3.10) I'd say this hotel was definitely more suitable for older holiday goers, despite being in such a prime location for nightlife


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieExx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Frankie,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you liked our hotel, the cleanliness and the great views.
We will forward your good feedback to our staff, this will motivate our team to keep beeing that attentive and helpful all season long!

I´m sorry about the inconvenience caused by the security guard,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were a group of four hens in our late 30s and had a brilliant time. Food was excellent and drinks on all inclusive was such good value. Really recommend it but not so much for couples or families because it is a party resort!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmieCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear AmieCa,

Thank you very much for your comments about food, drinks and the hotel and thank you also for letting us be a part of your holidays here in Magaluf.

Hope to see you in once again netx year to share with us your experience.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Originally my mate and I were staying in Hostal Villa Sol which belongs to Hotel Florida but that place was so bad that we had to move after 2 nights of our week in Magaluf. We had to pay an extra 155 euros each but it was totally worth it as this also included breakfast and dinner. We couldn't believe our room when we opened the door. It overlooked the hotel pool and the sea and I'm not one for views but this was a nice one. There was a fan in the room which helped a bit with the heat there was also a TV for when you had enough of the sun. The only thing missing was a fridge but you could manage. It is at the top of the hill about 4-5 minutes walk from the strip so the location was great. There was also an ant problem in the bathroom so at least they stayed in there mostly but the cleaners came round everyday and usually sorted that out as well as changing the towels and doing the beds. The paid wifi didn't work great in the room but was fine in the main lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your comments about the Hotel, it help us improve, we are grateful that the next days in Hotel Florida were satisfactory for you.

We are very sorry about the room,

We hope that we will get to see you back with us sometime in the future.

Best regards

José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was the second girls holiday that I have been on in Magaluf and this hotel made it my worst experience to date.

Firstly, on arrival we were greeted by a rude receptionist who tried flirting with us and sarcastically said "he had picked out a room especially for 4 girls to stay in", even though we had booked 2 sea view rooms in November. When we arrived into this "special room" we was greeted by ants, dust and mould and further inspection of this room we discovered that there were 4 beds pushed together with a dirty bathroom and towels and the smallest shower basin I have seen, this was impossible to share between 4 girls.

We then went down to the reception and explained this was not what we paid for and demanded we have 2 rooms with a sea view in 24 hours of which he gave us free wifi which never worked within the hotel. We decided to try and not let this ruin our holiday to then be greeted by the manager at the hotel who practically laughed in our face when we said we couldn't get in our room and that he couldn't do anything about it.

The next day we went back to reception to make sure there was going to be a room for us in the morning to have been told it will be ready by 12pm, we turned up at 12.30pm to be told it wasn't going to be ready by at least 2.30pm we eventually got in the room at 3pm baring in mind we couldnt unpack until we got into our room. Whilst at the reception desk trying to get this sorted we overheard another group of girls trying to check in and the receptionist doing exactly the same!!

Secondly, the food, I was surprised by the food as lots of previous reviews had stated that the food was great for all inclusive. Not this time... I bit into a chicken leg and it was RED!! This put me off having any of the meats and seeing other people picking up the food with their fingers and putting it back was disgusting.

Thirdly, the pool, Except from all the ants around the sunbeds the pool was clean and the pool bar staff were very friendly. It was good too see some entertainment on every other night and Aqua Gym every Wednesday and Saturday. There were plenty of sunbeds but you had to be up by the latest 9.15am to get a sunbed round the pool.

I am not one to complain about little things at the hotels I stay in but this was disappointing and ruined the start of our holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must. Try and get a room on the lower floors if you have trouble using steps as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Emma,

Firstly of all my apologies for the unfortunate reception you had in the hotel, and the problems you had with the rooms, it's true as you say that the first night you was in one room 712 which is a quadruple room.
We also offered two separate rooms in the other building both with sea view, but you told the Recepction Manager that you wanted to be together.
So it was agreed to spend the first night in the room mentioned above, the next day you received two rooms as you booked (303 and 304) with sea views, at 15:00 h. Because of the movement we had this day at the hotel, the customers left the rooms at 12 noon, and then the housekeepers had to clean the many rooms they had.

Regarding the comment about me the Hotel Manager, I will say that I'm a pretty outgoing person and perhaps there was a missunderstanding with me laughing at you, I can assure you that was not my intention, but if you think so, I ask you to please forgive me and this experience will also help me for next time.

It is true that we have very good reviews with the food, we actually have 6 themed nights, and I'm really sorry that you had a bad experience with the food too but I do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the bar staff and entaertainment.

Once again I apologize for the bad experience you have had in the hotel.

Best Regards

José Solaz ( Director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.0 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#7 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.9 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 27 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Florida

Property: Universal Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Torrenova 33, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Universal Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf
Universal Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing