We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After reading all bad reviews about noise,drunk people etc I wasn't sure what to except at hotel. We stayed last week there for eight days. We arrived with taxi from Palma and go to hotel for check in. Check in was delayed as when booked hotel with Booking.com I put two adults and two kids,one of them infant in reservation. Booking.com sent to hotel reservation for only tree of us as hotel only have double bedrooms with space for one extra bed. This was resolved fast after we said is no problem to check us in with tree beds. Rest of check in go in few mins. We got room on fifth floor overlooking Katmandu house. I asked for quiet room but later I regret it,we like if we get room looking on the square as there wasn't any problem about noise everyone complain and kids liked to sit on balcony and look at all fun going on outside. If you close door there is no noise at all. And end of the day this is Magaluf you can not except total peace and quiet here. Room was basic but clean and with huge wardrobe. Air condition was faultless. Bathroom was ok but basic. Beds big enough. Room was cleaned every single day with fresh towels. You need this even more if you spending days on the beach as we were doing it. Staff was polite always saying Ola to kids. If you not spend lot of time in room ( no need for it in Magaluf) room will be ok. You have flat tv but not sure about channels as we do not use it. Only downside for me is not having wifi in rooms but only downstairs and you paying it. We paid wifi from some hotel across and that was ok for our needs. You pay for safe if you want as well. It will be great if this two are included but looks like this is same in lot of hotels there. We had half board and food was great. There was lot of choice and you really must be fussy to not find something for eat every day. Desserts were divine. We loved it and kids loved it and we talk about two fussy ones:). The entertainment team was great as well keeping kids happy in evenings. We only spent tree evenings but it was good time for kids and girls and lads where great. Bracelets for Katmandu where great add-on as my older and my Hubby(another kid) where every morning and evening there for 20 mins. Location is great as well either for beach or walk in evenings. We went some days in Magaluf and some to Palmanova beach as is near as well. We do not have any problem at night with drunks or any noise. Check out was fast and they called taxi for us to airport. We paid it only 36€ comparing to 46€ from airport to Magaluf. All together our stay was great and we can not wait to go back to Magaluf. We recommend this hotel as is good value,kids friendly,great location and great food. We miss it already.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if you need it or for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deluxe-eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for such a substantial review of your stay at Sol Katmandu. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday. You would be glad to know about many changes that we will introduce to our hotel in the next year. First of all Wi-Fi will be free, so no worries about that. We will refashion our rooms, change the design and divide them into 3 types: standard, superior and connecting. Pool area will be completely rebuild and relocated. Katmandu Park will be expanded and new rides and attractions added! We will open a restaurant “a la carte” and a candy shop (kids will be delighted). There will also be a new 450 square meters playground for children.
All this and many other pleasant surprises will serve to make your next holiday with us even more memorable. We’re looking forward to have you as one of our guests again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a girls holiday to magaluf. Lots more families than we were expecting !! No music round the pool so not very lively in the day. Very good location though 5 min walk from strip an a shop across road for water and things. Rooms were nice and clean, bathroom quite small!! We only realised the aircon worked when the door was closed on the last day- so were hot alot of the time!! Our own fault though !! Lady on reception barely spoke any English and was quite rude on occasion but no major problem. Overall nice hotel probably wouldn't stay again as looking for something more lively.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Samantha,

Thank you for your comments. Yes, in order for air conditioning to work doors and windows have to be closed, in any case even if air conditioning was broken you should’ve reported it to the reception and it would be quickly fixed by one of our technicians. In the next year we will renovate our rooms therefore there will be more space. In addition there will be added new attractions and rides, the pool area will be completely rebuilt thus if you’re looking for something more lively you might want to come and see the changes we’re going to make by yourself. In any case you will be welcomed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have just come back from Sol Katmandu Park, where we stayed for two weeks. I was with my wife and 2 children aged 7 and 9. We had a fantastic time and there was so much going on for the children and adults.

The entertainment team were fantastic, and worked so hard always keeping the children entertained, with Pirate days, Pirate Parties, Mini Golf, Water Games, Upside Down House Tour, Water Bombs, Mini Discos and much much more. Every night there was a different show and we especially loved the terror show and Party Night. A big thank you to Cristian, Sasha, Veronica and Anthony, such a hard working and dedicated team.

The food was lovely, the hotel were lovely and the staff were lovely. If you speak to the staff with courtesey and respect, they will respond in kind. A big thank you to the hotel manageress who made us feel very welcome and moved us to a different room because of noise problems.

Great family hotel and I have heard it is going to be even better next year!!

I will have to come back and see for myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Nick,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We’re very happy to see that you and your kids enjoyed your time at our hotel. As you have mentioned we put a lot of effort in organizing a proper and diverse entertainment for our guests and their children in particular. Although our entertainment program has changed after we’d opened the Katmandu House we still pay a lot of attention to evening shows at the hotel and kids club.
We’re glad that you have been satisfied with other services of the hotel as well! We hope to have you as one of our guests again in the next year. We’ve planned a lot of changes and without a doubt there will be many pleasant surprises for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and went with a little anxiety due to the reviews here. We were really pleased to have a great holiday, amazing reps- especially Christian who my daughter worked and the extremely hard working Sasha and Veronica. Food was great all well cooked and variety of choices from healthy to steaks and potatoes. Desserts and cakes too good!!. Hotel only noisy 2 nights with the young team running through the corridors, but management dealt with any issues very swiftly and 1 day escorted a drunk young guy away from the pool to reception to talk to him. Pool was good, always able to get a sunbed which is unusual in high season. Rooms cleaned daily, with new towels daily too. TV had BBC 1 and great Satellite channels which were a bonus at night time. Shows at night good too, with the Reps Terror Show clearly the best. We loved the Katmandu house and resort, especially the 4D rides and the Desperados shooting game which my husband had to win daily :)
Overall I was impressed, shame they are trying so hard, but until they ban single sex bookings there is always going to be a mixed clientele at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 929 which had a partial sea view, did overlook BCM but not noisy if balcony door closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scckmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We appreciate that took your time and wrote a review about your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for kinds words about our services. Our entertainment team indeed does a lot of work to keep kids and adults occupied and it is pleasant to see that their work is noticed.
Since we have become a family hotel this year we’re doing a lot of work to deal with noisy guests. Without a doubt holiday is a special time for anyone and anyone would want to enjoy it and have a good rest. That’s why we apply a strict policy to guests that disturb others with noise or improper behaviour. At first we give a warning but if some guests continue to disturb other customers with noise or bad behaviour they will be checked out. In the next year we expect that majority of our clientele will be families and couples.
You will be pleased to know that we have planned to add new attractions and rides and expand Katmandu Park. Rooms will be renovated and divided into 3 types: standard, connecting and superior. Kids will be happy to try out a new playground that we will open as well as a candy shop!
We are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Good location plenty to do my partner and I are both over 40 ! Short stroll and you are in Palma Nova.If the strip is to much for you there are some lovely bars with entertainment opposite the hotel.Hotel is clean and maids clean rooms and replace towels daily.Food was very good plenty of choice fresh fruit and salads and fresh bread baked on the premises.Breakfast was also very good with a wide variety to choose from,a full English to yummy pancakes and pastrys.We travelled without children but there was a good entertainments team always doing something to keep the kiddys entertained and the Katmando theme park is free to guests.We had a great time on the crazy golf.There is a lovely boat trip you can book to dragon island it costs 30 euros for a full day at sea tapas and sangria provided.Take your own mask and snorkel as there are plenty of opportunitys to swim in the beautiful clear sea.We booked trip with a great lady called Viva in the tourist shop in Magaluf.Overall a great holiday.My one concern would be that the lovely typical Spanish bars and restaurants are loosing custom because the kids all want party party.Please do not be put off going to Magaluf if you are not under 21 we were 45 and 56 and had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Nikk,

We’re grateful for your comments about our hotel. We’re glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and that we were able to give you an enjoyable and pleasant holiday. We’d like to inform you that in the next year there will be even more opportunities for entertainment and eating out. We’re will open a candy shop, a restaurant “a la carte” and cafes. Our Katmandu Park will be expanded with more rides and attractions and yet it will still be free for our guests!
We’re looking forward to welcome you again in the next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Upon arrival it was almost immediately evident how rude reception staff are. Very unprofessional and unwelcoming.
However, it was the security staff that were the worst! Beating people aggressively for almost no reason, totally irrational and quite frightening behaviour. Witnessed one boy be struck across the head, thrown to the ground and then repeatedly kicked.
The only nice members of staff seemed to be those at the bar. Very kind and polite with great sense of humour! Made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotmail165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We work with a prestigious company with over 20 years of experience in Mallorca. People working in the company comply with Spanish legislation and if an alleged assault happens we would report it to the Guardia Civil because we are primarily interested in ensuring the safety of our guests. Even so, and until today the hotel has not been accused of such acts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just returned from a two week break with my son wife and her parents..the rooms were clean towels changed beds made every day..food was good but no kids menu my son lived on fries for two weeks..friday breakfast is a treat for the kids fantastic..kids club was fantastic big shout out to Veronica who kept the kids happy ..as we don't mind mixing with young people its was not a problem most just enjoyed themselves..saw one fight that was stopped straight away..security were always helpful they had to put up with a lot of abuse from a few idiots..some young people would shout in the corridors but hey we were all young once..bar staff were pleasant but often slow but the new manager seemed aware of any problems and soon sorted things out..even showing us the new rooms and plans for next year splash zone pool ...zip wire into katmandu and lots of attractions and no same sex parties...so booking for next year..don't be put off by the horror stories on here just go and enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms next to park for quite night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Paul,

Thanks a lot for your review and comments about your stay at our hotel! We’re glad that you were mostly satisfied with our services and it’s always pleasant to hear kind words about our work as it gives us motivation to work harder and make our hotel better!
In order to deal with noisy, bad behaving groups of young people as you have mentioned we have a security-guard service that works all day and night. We don’t tolerate behaviour that spoils holiday for others and such behaviour may result in a check-out from the hotel.
We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you in the next year with us again and to feel and see all the changes and new attractions we will have!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 31 in Magaluf
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 31 in Magaluf
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Vistasol
Apartamentos Vistasol
#22 of 31 in Magaluf
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#20 of 31 in Magaluf
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort

Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#4 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £58 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents Katmandu Park & Resort, the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and discover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Melia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol by Melia Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol By Melia Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing