We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Radio 1...or Radio 2?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Radio 1...or Radio 2?”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On checking in the receptionist asked “you like music?” Well, it’s a good job we do. As previous reviews have highlighted, a room on the BCM side gets you the bumping radio one tunes from 8pm ‘till 12 and a room on the Katmandu side you get the dulcet radio two tunes of Tom Jones, Rod Stewart and the like from Finnegans bar from 10 ‘til 12pm. Luckily, the receptionist got it right and gave us radio 2! It’s not a problem really as the music stops around midnight and with the door closed its minimal. It’s a point worth noting though. Have you heard the stuff radio 1 play nowadays?
The hotel is run efficiently and like clockwork. Every member of staff know what they are doing and they do it well. Spotlessly clean and efficient friendly service from everyone.
We had a maintenance issue where the toilet cistern wasn’t filling with water and despite reporting it twice it wasn’t fixed. Very disappointing. We managed by shaking the cistern lid and shaking the cistern itself. Poor people next door must have wondered what was happening.
Food is ok. Nothing to get too excited about and there was always pizza and chips to fall back on!
The price of wifi and use of the internet was outrageous.
One of the things we didn’t like was the beer. Not the actual beer itself as Cruzcampo is a beer we enjoy, but how it was served and presented. The beer resembled a pint of cider after a minute or so as all the froth fizzled out and there was no ‘fizz’ at all. This was mainly due to detergent residue on the glass and how it was poured. Pouring the flat lifeless beer into a glass that had been rinsed thoroughly rescued it. Shame it wasn’t served at it’s best in the first place. Go to Finnegans across the road Mr Head Barman to see how a proper pint is served which was excellent.
House of Katmandu passed a few hours. It’s not really for toddlers or very young children. The hotel closes for a refurb with the emphasis on families for next season which means we won’t be returning. The 3 or four families that were there all had ‘tiny tantrums’ screaming the place down, and that was just the parents !! Haha. Sharing a meal time with 200 children for me is Katmandont not Katmando!!
We won’t be returning but we wouldn’t discourage anyone from holidaying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benidormbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time and your comment. So I would like to inform you inside our hotel brand, Melia Hotels International, we have adult only hotels in which I think you could enjoy a perfect holiday for you. And even if not in this hotel, which will not be adjusted to your search criteria for being a family friendly hotel, we would like to have you as a guests for many years more.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    546
    255
    100
    80
See reviews for
1,117
172
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wow what a great hotel, we arrived early in the morning, and the reception was so welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely even thou we booked a standard double room has it was only me and my husband. We were given a queen size bed, We were given two large pillows on the bed and another two with a duvet and blanket in the wardrobe. It was absolutely spotless. We had a TV in the room even thou your limited to a few English programmes, also had air conditioning in the room at no extra charge. The room did have a safe for 5 euros a day. The restaurant was very good, with a ;lot of choice and very clean. They did have a few things for vegetarians, but it was mostly pizza and salads but everything was sign posted, a lot of fish dishes. I would have liked to have known what desserts was OK for vegetarians as they weren't sign posted. Different kinds of hot breads were brought out continuously. The restaurant opened at 8am and closed at 12am, only closing for half hour in the afternoon and half hour in the evening so they could clean up. Food was available all day. The pool area was kept very clean some one came round all the time picking up glasses and cleaning round the pool area. It had three pools, the big pool was cold thou when you first got in, we had plenty on sunbeds.
The hotel itself was excellent from the reception staff, bar staff , catering and cleaning staff we were given 100%. The theme park was brilliant, we went there everyday sometimes twice. This was great for all ages we are in our 40's. It was local to the strip so we could go out, plus near shops etc. Our holiday rep Kelly was excellent we saw her everyday and she always made sure you knew where we could find her if we needed her.
The only thing that let it down was the walls in the rooms were thin and you could hear the people next door and people shouting when they walk pass (which isn't the hotel fault).
But on the whole it was an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,
You have described in detail the hotel as I have very little to add. First I want to thank you for your kind words and highlight all hotel services. Thank you very much! And finally I would like to invite you to return in the near future and so again offer an unforgettable experience in the Sol Katmandu Park & ​​Resort in a renovated hotel with many more attractions and much more fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

another great holiday in magaluf, normally stay at sol antillas but decided on katmandu because of free passes to the park, definately made a good choice. had a great hol and my 14 year old also enjoyed wave pool so much he went on it again for 2 more hours(expensive though) will definately be back at this hotel. no noise

Room Tip: i asked for a room on the quiet side and got it no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortellclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your time and your comment. We look forward to see you very soon and so you can discover all the surprises we have for 2014! I'm sure your son will love them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked very last minuet holiday through Last minuets secret room- attracted by the idea of a 'theme park hotel' and we were so pleased with choice. Great location for the beach, shops and attractions.

The attractions in the hotel were great and we spent quite a while going round them on one of the cloudier days, the house is brilliant and the 4d games are fun for all ages. The mini golf was great too. We also took up the offer of a trial on the surfing machine at the partner wave house hotel and that was really worth it too.

The rooms were simple but nice and clean and I understand they are all being done up at the moment - The pictures on here are a little miss leading but still nice hotel rooms and cleaned daily with working aircon.

The location is great and easy to get to from the airport by public transport, As we had booked so late we hadn't had time to book transfers so we got to the airport and were quoted €45 for a taxi so instead we took a bus to Palma and a connecting bus from Palma to Magluff it took roughly an hour in total but cost €6 each and the bus stopped right outside the hotel.

On our last day we hired a quad bike from the Mallorca rent-a-bike which is behind the hotel and that was a good price €60 for a full day - Although we did find that Mallorca is easy to get lost in!

Breakfast is really good too, which a massive selection and welcoming staff.

Great holiday and hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for your good rating of our hotel. We hope to see you in the near future to make again your holiday an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our holiday
We are a young couple with a four year old child. We visited Mallorca for one week (Wed to Wed) in September. We only stayed in this one hotel. We booked hotel only through Melia (they offered us a cheaper price on the phone than quoted online).

Location
The Sol Katmandu is located in central Magaluf and we found it easy to access from the motorway coming from Palma airport. You can get to the beach in under 5 minutes and shops, bars, cafes etc are all very close - some right outside! The main Magaluf strip with the many different clubs, bars and restaurants is just round the corner. We found the location ideal for going to the beach, eating out and also starting day trips in our rental car.
BCM Square with the massive club and several large bars is about 2 minutes away - you really can hear it!

Room
We booked a standard room without sea view - as we wanted to enjoy the beach more than looking at the sea from our view and only used our room for sleeping, resting and so on. The room size was ok - a little bit on the smaller side of things. We had a nice double bed and an additional bed for our son. The beds were new and comfortable. The other furniture in the room is slightly more mature and will probably be replaced by next year. The bathroom is quite large and offers not just a shower, but a full bath. Perfect for after the beach and enough space for all three of us to wash and brush our teeth after dinner etc. We were very happy with the size, style and all other aspects of our room. Better than expected for a 3* in Mallorca for sure.
Our room was on the second floor facing BCM Square. The noise at night on the balcony is quite loud, we found it ok to sit outside and enjoy a drink. When we closed the balcony door, we could still hear the music and cheering from BCM, but not so that we couldnt sleep or found it annoying. The walls between rooms are quite thin and the TV from the next room was more disturbing than the music from the bars and clubs opposite. We didnt really use the aircon much, but found it slightly too cold (even on the warmest setting) and strong (on the lowest setting) for the September weather (21deg at night). A little bit of a dilema considering having to close the door to sleep at night - but not unbearable!

Restaurant / Food
We booked half board (as we didnt plan on staying in the hotel much, especially not during the daytime). Breakfast was pleasant, a good mix of healthy fruits and salads, full cooked English and continental cereal, bread and sweets. Dinner was perfect. A good selection, decent variety and quite tasty. Use the salt and pepper provided and you will be happy. Still, the food is slightly overcooked mostly - but what do you expect from a buffet that is set up for a large hotel? We found it excellent and our son was always happy too. The desserts were great!
Drinks are not included at dinner (coffee and juice at breakfast is incl.) and are quite expensive: 1,60 for 0,5l water and 1,80 for 0,2l Coke. We sticked to water which was fine.

Facilities
We tried the swimming pool once, but were always more interested in the beach and open water. The pool area is a little bit outdated and the sun loungers (free) are a little bit old and tatty plastic. The water seemed very cold. Three pools, including one smaller one suitable for children. Toys for children are available. Pingpong tables and a small childrens playarea are also outside, a bar and a nice little park. We didnt really use the outside area - but many others were.
The lobby is quite large and has 4 internet terminals - which are very expensive at 2Eur per 15min or 6Eur per hour. Better use one of the many internet cafes nearby (often in small shops) for just 2Eur per hour. Wifi is availably downstairs in the lobby, but is too weak in the rooms. Also expensive at 4Eur per hour. One of the only negative things we noticed during our stay. We would have liked to upload more photos ;) However, many bars and cafes offer free Wifi in Magaluf - so get a 2Euro pint or coffee and surf away.
The bar and entertainment area downstairs seem ok - we didn't watch many of the evening shows. The more mature guest of the hotel seemed to enjoy them.
There is a seperate room with a pool table, air hockey, a pinball machine and some older video games. All cost 1Eur. Pool table is a nice evening activity that we enjoyed.

Staff
The best aspect of the hotel must be its great staff. Front desk receptionist always happy to help and offer assistance. Friendly and efficient. The best in our opinion are the restaurant staff: very welcoming, very friendly and such great people with children.
Cleaning staff were also very friendly and always cleaned to our satisfaction (incl.Sundays). But they do leave the balcony door open to air the room, which considering our lower floor we found slightly worrying. Tell reception and they will keep it closed for you though,

Guests
Mostly British, some Russian and few others. Mainly more mature crowd during our stay and also quite a few families with younger children. Hotel in general had a pleasant atmosphere and guests were friendly to each other. No trouble or hassle.

Katmandu PlayPass
We got our free PlayPass to play at Katmandu Park, which is on the hotel site. We enjoyed it very much and would return to this hotel because of this. 2 mini golf courses (our son loved them and played every day), three 4D rides and a interactive game plus "The House". The whole thing doesnt have a theme, which is a shame considering the name.


All in all we really enjoyed our week in Magaluf Mallorca and the hotel was great. It's a three star hotel in Magaluf - don't expect a 5* in Palma! It's great for families looking for a hotel in a lively area close to the beach with staff that can be realied on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank poeloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time and leave a comment such extensive and detailed about our hotel highlighting positive aspects of hotel staff, food, cleanliness, location, etc.. So only remains for me invite you to come and we will make sure to offer you another unforgettable experience In Sol Katmandu Park & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a good week here, close enough to the strip for the nightlife, but far enough away so that you can get some sleep. Nice free pass to the little amusement park next door which was much better than I had expected. We got a modern clean room which was cleaned daily.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomBaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Tom,
Thank you very much for your comment and I'm glad you enjoyed the park. And you will be pleased to know that next year we will have up to 12 attractions for all the family. I invite you to come and discover them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motherwell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I are just home after spending 9 nights at Sol Katmandu Hotel in Mallorca , The rooms are nice with plenty of room and good views , maid service was very good and most rooms give a good view some over the sea .
The staff at the hotel were excellent and looked after their guests well ,Food presentation and standard was superb a great choice for all sittings , we were half board but breakfast and dinner choices catered for all , a very high standard .
Some residents said it was noisy outside on the Sunday night but we never heard a thing and we were on the 4th floor .
I would certainly recommend it to my friends for a break , but I would mention that it would be very lively with youngsters between May and September .
I nearly forgot to mention the Katmandu park which has 4D Experiance well worth the viewing , the upside house , the jail , 2 golf putting courses which are very good , The Saloon , also a Shooting game and this is all within the Sol Katmandu Hotel grounds .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Ally,
Many thanks for choose Sol Katmandu to spend your holiday and thank you for your kind words. Thanks for highlighting the services of the hotel, cleanliness, staff and food. People who strive daily to provide the best quality to our guests. We wait for you again in the near future to provide another unforgettable experience but in a renovated hotel and more fun than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Property: Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing