We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just had a 3 night stay at the Katmandu with a group of 20 mates on an all inclusive package.. Surprised to find that the hotel caters for stag groups and families at the same time. The bar was very quiet at night so didn't stay long before venturing out onto the strip.
The hotel is basic and suited our needs, but I wouldn't want to bring my family here. Food was OK and plentiful.
Rooms are basic but tired, bed was comfortable and clean. We were on the 1st floor and on the 2nd day we were awoken at 8.30am by some workmen drilling in the room above as there is lots of renovation work going on.
Location is good for all amenities.
Although we had a free pass we didn't visit the park.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 1st floor as all balconies are accessible so you cant leave the patio doors open a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Les,
Thank you for choosing Sol Katmandu for your holiday. I would like to thank you also for highlighting the comfort of the room and the quality of the food. It is true that since last year we are focusing on a familiar segment.
Furthermore, I would like to point out that Sol Kathmandu Park & Resort is a very innovative project in Mallorca. The hotel incorporates a theme park, which has an official inauguration the 16th of June, for children and adults with three new attractions. A Soft Play area of 600 square meters for children between one and a half to 12 years, all based in the underwater world. And a wonderful attraction for climbing with different heights and levels. And an exciting Splash Park for all ages, something totally new on the island.
So, I would like yo invite you to visit us again, but this time with your family so that the children can enjoy the wonderful attractions of the park Katmandu.
We hope to see you soon again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
There are newer reviews for Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to go along to this as we had seen it advertised on taxis and flyers and whilst the venue itself is impressive, the rest of it really isn't. The crazy golf was good. We had fun doing that but everything else described on billboards and flyers is an extra that doesn't seem worth the cost. The staff seem very uninterested in making your visit an experience. Like I said, it kills an hour but I wouldn't go back there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ClaireEH23128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you for your comment. I am sorry that you didn’t like our Park and I would like to invite you to come one more time in June when we will open 3 new and exciting attractions: The Katlantis Soft Play Adventure: A Soft Play area of 600 square meters for children between one and a half to 12 years, and all based in the underwater world. A wonderful attraction for climbing, with different heights and levels. And the Katlantis Splash Park an exciting Splash Park for all ages, something totally new on the island.
All together are a total of 10 amazing attractions for all ages were all the family can spend a great day (The House, Katlantis Splash Park, Katlantis Soft Play Adventure, 4D Experience, Los Banditos XD Dark Ride, Zombies, XD Dark Ride, Desperados; The Asylum, Expedition Golf and Golf Fantasia) and thus be able to live a unique experience in Mallorca!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Ideally situated. In between crazy night life and peace and quite.
The hotel has nice bedrooms and the food is very nice.The hotel is kept clean. there is a nice swimming pool.
It is a two minute walk to the beach. Very nice for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Many thanks for your comment. It is a joy for us to see fantastic reviews of satisfied customers. Your kind words will be transmitted to the whole team. I hope to see you soon with us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Location wise it is very good and is pretty much central for most things you would want to do in Magaluf: BCM, the strip, the beach and Katmandu. Rooms are basic but they are cheap and cheerful, cleanliness was fine. The breakfast in the morning is really good but the evening meal got a bit same-ey. Overall, pleasant base from which to explore Magaluf!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Cawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Cawatt,
Thank you for your time. I wanted to thank you for your good reviews about the cleanliness and breakfast. Our entire team hotel strives to offer the best service to our guests.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited the park during our holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Would definitely recommend to our friends! The staff were friendly and helpful, the park was clean and easy to get to, and overall it was a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LSD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear LSD2013,
Thank you very much for writing so good comment about your stay with us. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. It will be a pleasure to have you with us next time you visit Mallorca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel twice now on a lads holiday to Magaluf the hotel is expensive for what it all has but the loction next to the strip and BCM is the plus side to it

The rooms are very basic and not really up to much cleaned daily but we did see a cockroach a few times which was disgusting!

The food wasn't great breakfast was good the few times we made it down but the lunch and evening meals were basic and not up to much

The staff were very rude a reception but the bar staff were more friendly

For what we paid I wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Terry,
I am sorry that your stay has not met your expectations.
About insects I would like to inform you that the hotel complies with Spanish legislation of pest control and we do 2 major disinfection 2 times a year: when opening and closing the hotel. However Mallorca is an island with a hot and humid climate than is very dificial eradicate them 100%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Its really not worth the money! The staff are rude, the foods rubbish, the cleaners can't clean and its just full of drunken idiots! I came with my two friends for our first holiday, were the type of people who like partying and having run but also respect other people. When we came in July 2013 it did have lots of families which is what we wanted but there was a group about 20 lads which would act like prats all day by drinking and doing back flips into the pool which isn't that deep and was near children thankfully they got chucked out but we also got some strange Spanish lads which were next door to us who would knock on our door after we'd got in from a long night of partying to be fully naked asking to come in and drink water.. we told reception many of times this was happening but nothing seemed to be done. The one main thing about this hotel was that you got into katmandu park for free which was really good! Food was a joke! Overall I wouldn't ever stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Lucy,
I am sorry about the incident you had with other hotel guests. Although I would like to inform you that we have a zero tolerance policy with bad behavior in the hotel. As you say the guys who were making noise in the pool, hotel threw them out. We try to ensure the tranquility and security of all our guests once we detected some strange behavior, but it is very difficult to control the 1,000 people we have daily in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#13 of 28 in Magaluf
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca
Sol House Mallorca
#8 of 28 in Magaluf
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#19 of 28 in Magaluf
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#3 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £61 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing