We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break with the girls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“short break with the girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

For what we paid we got exceptional value, we were all inclusive and again this was great value, food and drinks were very good in my opinion, breakfast was fab... think between us we probably drank quite a bit of cava!!! rooms were pleasant clean etc, small problem with our shower the first time we tried it the pipe came off connection to tap:( this could happen anywhere....but 2 days to get a response from reception was poor.... in the end i took pipe to reception to hopefully act as a visual reminder!! it worked fixed within the hour!!:)) all the other ladies said they also thought it was good value, in a great spot too for beach etc, got free passes to the katmandu theme park and we visited that one day we had a ball!! not sure i would have paid 23euros to visit though...so once again great value for money with complimentary passes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
6 Thank jacqf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear jacqf,

I would like to thank you for spending part of your time to share your experience at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort. I would also like to thank you for mentioning the cleanness of our rooms, our all inclusive service and the free entrance to the Katmandú Park.

I am glad that you had a nice stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    517
    248
    99
    77
See reviews for
1,058
165
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Found reception,eventually, as it is not clear where it is located on arrival, to a long wait in a queue,given room key and pointed to the lift.The rooms are very small and cramped with 3 beds,you will constantly be bumping into each other when trying to manoeuvre around the end of the beds.Refurbished ,they are not!Same old furniture,new bed covers! General holes and damage and wear and tear repaired with masking tape and sealant. Pretty shoddy to say the least and not indicative of the pictures advertised.No information booklet or folder to inform you of emergency contacts for anything or to inform you of facilities,entertainment or indeed anything you might like to know about your holiday "resort"!3 euros per day for a mini fridge and the same for an in room safe.Yes the pool area has been decked but beware the decking will burn your feet if you don't wear footwear!There are no areas of shade to relax in if you wish to get out of the sun......no sunshades around pool if you have young children!The Entertainment team do a fabulous job with the children and they should be commended.The dining room is pleasant but food is a hit or a miss!Most is luke warm which is a shame because the quality looks good but it is repetative and I think a lot is recycled from breakfast,i.e. sweets and pizza etc., there is no Kids food corner,but hey ho there is always chips!Breakfast ,I have to say is excellent,with a wide choice of everything and served until 10.30hrs which is civil whilst on holiday.However you will no doubt be exposed to an early morning call by the cleaners around 8-9am even if you don't want to be disturbed.Staff are pleasant enough,but a few are just downright rude and unhelpful.The park itself is pretty unexciting,no great thrills,the upside down house was less than breathtaking ,so please don't visit with unrealistic expectations.Beware there is not much shade in the park either!Building work is still ongoing and the water park was not built when we visited.Staff were thin on the ground and we waited for help on numerous occasions,wouldn't want to go when it's busy,in the heat of the season.I personally wouldn't recommend for families with children in season and would go to Palma Nova by choice.The hotel faces onto BCM square and various 18-30 apartment blocks which means noise,drunken teens and all night mayhem!Banging doors,screaming,shouting between 2am and 6am.If you are half board ,you will pay hotel prices for drinks in reuseable plastic glasses....not a pleasant experience.Outside of the hotel at night be careful and mindful of the groups of black prostitutes if you are alone or have had one over the odds,they are a force to be reckoned with!This "resort" has a real identity crisis and needs to be addressed by Sol Melia....family resort it is not!If you have booked already ,I trust you will take on board my comments and possibly reconsider.....after all it's not exactly cheap,so bear this in mind if you are looking for a fun, family friendly holiday with quality family time!I have tried to be as honest as possible and on this occasion I travelled with children.I do appreciate that young ones want to party and I can deal with that and party with the best of them, but beware... Sol Katmandu Park and Resort is not the dream holiday destination they make it look in the brochures.

Room Tip: Pool side if possible,but I think there is an extra charge for this,if not you will face onto BCM sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birdswhobrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Birds,

Thank you very much for spending part of your time to write a review about us. Thank you for mentioning our excellent breakfast and the wonderful work that our entertainment team does, and I will personally transmit them all your good comments.

About the reform of our rooms, all of them have been updated with new televisions, mattresses, new decoration and, and as you said, bed linen. We have been carrying out a complete refurbishment in our family rooms, from the 10th to the 7th floor. We do have information about the facilities and the entertainment activities, which is given at the check in time, next time please you can contact our guest service department and they will help you with anything you would like to know.

It is a standard of a 3 stars hotel not to have mini fridge, but as we want to give our guests the best service as possible, we offer them the possibility to rent a mini fridge.

In relation to our food, we have a daily menu which rotates every two weeks, trying to offer our guests a good variety of food. Our assortment is so big that obviously our main ingredients get repeated since we always try to offer at least more than 3 meat courses and 3 fish ones, our show cooking with fish, meat and vegetables freshly cooked, apart from others like vegetables, salads, starters, pasta, pizza, theme dishes like Mexican or Chinese, etc. and I can assure that we do not recycle the food from the breakfast as we have a totally different offer at the lunch time.

About the cleaners, they start early to clean the rooms. Normally we do not have any problem with the timetable and also we take into consideration that our guests usually get up early. If you would like not to be disturbed there is a label to hang on your door, in order not to be disturbed during your holidays, and your room will be cleaned later, during the day.

We hope to see you soon again in the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Got back from this hotel a few days ago after a week long stay. We had a total of 3 rooms as there were a large group of us. All of the rooms were on the fifth floor and did not look like the rooms that had been advertised and they did look a bit tired. We all stayed all inclusive so the amount that we got for the price we paid made up for the rooms that were not so good. The food was ok but was quite similar everyday. Some of the extra food didn't get started being served until a few days into our stay when a large group of Spanish children came to the hotel.

The hotel is still being renovated as is the theme park which we did get free entry to. The hotel still has signs up with its old name and there is continuous work going on. The hotel is in a quieter part of Magaluf but I would not recommend bringing your children here as the hotel is full of younger people swearing, shouting, banging doors at night etc. One of our rooms instead of having a proper bath tub like all the other rooms had a half bath tub which made no sense at all and also the air con took 4 days to fix after which this leaked water. The staff were quite polite and welcoming but I would not be returning here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Showstopper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Showstopp,
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments about us and for pointing out the kindness of the staff. I would also like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you.
About the reform of our rooms, all of them have been updated with new televisions, mattresses, new decoration and bed linen. We have been carrying out a complete refurbishment in our family rooms, from the 10th to the 7th floor.
I would also like to point out that the works which have been taken place at Katmandú Park already finished the 16th of June, day of the official inauguration of the Park.
All the staff strives daily to offer our guests an unforgettable stay with us.
Furthermore, I would like to highlight that Sol Kathmandu Park & Resort is a very innovative project in Mallorca. The hotel incorporates a theme park, which had an official inauguration the 16th of June, for children and adults with three new attractions. A Soft Play area of 600 square meters for children between one and a half years old to 12 years, all based in the underwater world. And a wonderful attraction for climbing with different heights and levels and even a free falling. And an exciting Splash Park for all ages, something totally new on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for a week until 20th June, half board. Wow. Where do I start with this hotel? Firstly the positives. The pool area is great, lots of nice sunbeds and three pools which should accomodate everybody. The room we had was very modern, and really nice beds. The free entry to the theme park, until 6pm every day was a bonus and we enjoyed the park and the crazy golf, the building work was all but finished, and I assume all the facilities will be open in the next couple of days.

Now to the negatives. There is noise from the outside, as the hotel is right across the road from BCM square I knew this when we booked it so was fully aware this would be the case. The noise from the other guests staying in this hotel was on a different scale. Whilst we stayed around 200 spanish adolescents (at a guess around about 18 years old) descended upon us. The hotel was chaos, you couldnt get anywhere near the bar, we sat round the pool area and got closed in by them moving the sun beds around us, the noise they generated as a group was unreal. You also have to contend with the clubbers/revellers coming in every evening between around 1am and 6am, which consisted of them shouting and screaming down corridors, banging on doors and generally being totally disrepectful to other guests, and then, of course , as this is advertised as a family hotel, there are lots of young families staying so the little ones are getting up and running around the corridors at 8am in the morning. On top of this the cleaner would knock on your door at 9am to clean the room, so the window of opportunity for any decent sleep on a night is around 2 hours. The hotel do nothing to combat this and has a real identity crisis. You cant advertise this place as a family hotel (it naturally would be due to the theme park etc), and allow people to act like this. Another note on the cleaner, even though my 20 year old son had a do not disturb sign on his door, she entered the room whilst he was naked and showed much annoyance that he was in his room, he was very perturbed by this, understandbly.

The breakfast was nice in the morning, luke warm, but edible, we only ate twice at the evening meal, and to be frank, it was dire. A small choice compared to other hotels we have stayed at, and paid a similar amount for, it was cold and the standard was very poor. We ate out all the other nights , there are some great food places in the area.

So in summary if you are after a quiet relaxing holiday, with any quality sleep at all, dont book this hotel, if you dont mind the constant noise and bad behaviour and poor food then go for it. I wont be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arkhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Arkhan42,
I want to thank your time to leave your feedback about your stay with us.
Thanks for highlighting our completely renovated pool area, the comfort of the room and our Kathmandu park.
Otherwise I would emphasize that the hotel has a good location just 250 meters from the beach and leisure centers, bars and restaurants. Magaluf is one of the most tourist area of Mallorca, and although our hotel is considered a family hotel is logical that we have different types of customers. Anyway the hotel has a policy of zero tolerance for inappropriate behavior and every night 2 security guards look after the comfort of the guests.
Your other comments will be forwarded to the department heads for the study and take appropriate action.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again in our hotel and make your holidays a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It is not a family hotel at all we have just come back on 18 June .3 sun umbrellas for hole of sun terrace. Last Sunday we'll over 100 students came no more sleep for us. Thay we're rude arrogant .no good queuing for a drink as one kept the place till nearly at the bar then another 7 tried to join them. We even got a note under our door with a phone number on if we wanted a good time.please do not advertise this as a family hotel 18 to 30 would be nearer the truth and so many tried to get in the lift at once I was in with a 3 year old and we all got stuck in between floors to many in it.

Room Tip: Don't look over the theme park check no students be for you go.lower floors may be better if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Norma,
First, I would like to express our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I also would like to thank you for spending your time to send us your comments.
About the group of Spanish students, they came to our hotel with the intention of having fun at the Katmandú Park. I would also like to add that during their stay, we intensified all our security measures in order to seek the welfare of our guests and I personally had a daily meeting with all the instructors, to make sure that all our rules were respected.
However, I would like to thank you for your opinion because it helps us to consider if we should contract this kind of groups for the next year as our intention is to be a family hotel and we care of comments like yours. Moreover, all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just got home from the Katmandu today, the hotel was very nice, building work was going on but that didnt bother us at all. This hotel is advertised as a place for families, but it needs to decide wether its for families or groups. Apart from the enormous group of spanish students that checked in, there were a lot of English groups of lads and lasses. While im all for people having fun, running around in the middle of the night shouting, screaming and banging on peoples doors is not my idea of fun, especially as i had my 3 year old Grandaughter with me. When i asked them to keep it down because of the little one i only got foul language and abuse off them. We even had bits of paper pushed under the door with messages on.
I really wanted to rate this hotel much better because it is done really nice, but there wasnt any night security to put a stop to the all night noise

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mandy, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Our intention is to be a family hotel, so the feedbacks like yours help us to improve and to offer the best service to our guests. I would also like to thank you for mentioning that we are a nice hotel.
I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not as pleasant as you expected. Please, next time you visit us, do not hesitate to tell me any issue that may occur so I can give you an alternative or an immediate solution. My first purpose is you to have the best time ever.
About the night security, we have during the night two security guards, who look after for the welfare of all our guests and try their best to keep the hotel calm as we have a zero tolerance policy against bad behavior.
Hope to see you again soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just come back from a one week stay, was a nice hotel still finishing last touches of work which at times could be annoying. But should all be done in next week or two. The location was perfect a minutes ealk to magaluf beach and central or ten minute walk to palma nova. The dinner was lovely coulnt thought it catered for everyone. Breakfast was okay hot food was sometimes cold. We got free entry to the hotels theme park as was staying in the hotel had a few hours of enjoyment in there, only fault was standing around waiting and nothing happening sort of thing. Wernt inpressed with maid service just did a very basic clean but overall hotel was very clean.
Nice hotel, good for families and enjoyed my stay overall at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoshuaMaxwell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Joshua, thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. I would like to thank you for pointing out our good location and our food. Furthermore, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us because all the staff strives daily to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I am also glad that you enjoyed the free entry to the Katmandú Park, from 10am until 6pm every day and with unlimited entry to several attractions.
We hope to see you soon with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Property: Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Melia, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing