We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kantman dont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“kantman dont”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

returned yesterday 28th june after 11 day stay with my wife both of us have been holidaying in magalluf for over 25 years, we actually stayed at this same hotel under its previous name a few years ago with the rest of our family and had to be transferred out after 4 days of hell and sleepless nights. we were assured that the hotel had upped its image and choice of guests and would see a vast difference, i think not ,if your age or iq is over 25 dont bother it is full of drunken all inclusive delinquent kids of all nationalities who are determined that it is only them that are going to enjoy themselves. the hotel have added a few more floors of rooms to put extra strain on what was already an undersised pool and terrace area . the breakfast is very good and quite civilised due to the fact that there is a lack of the overindulged present whowever the evening can turn into feeding time at the zoo. most of the staff are helpful but overstrained by the lack of number of them . the hotels emphasis seems to be on completing its park feature so all efforts are concentrated on that to the detriment of all else including room quality etc. on our first night we came across a man who had fallen in the corridor and hurt himself badly, he was being helped by some very concerned spanish youths who had alerted reception that an ambulance was needed ,after assisting the mad for over half an hour my wife went to reception to ask where the ambulance was to be told that one was not called as they assumed it was a drunk it was only when my wife told them is was about 60 years of age that they called the ambulance service 30 min later one arrived thankfully he was not bleeding badly an had broken his arm in two places,i could write more but would be on the keyboard for longer than my holiday lasted, if you have booked be aware if you are thinking of booking buyer beware kev j

Room Tip: go as high up as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Kevin, first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about us.
I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not as pleasant as you expected. Please, next time you visit us, do not hesitate to tell me any issue that may occur so I can give you an alternative or an immediate solution. My first purpose is you to have the best time ever.
After some investigation I found out that Ana, from the guest service department, was with you and with the two security guards at 1 am when everything happened. Actually, I have to say that she was very worried about the guest. They were with the guest while the ambulance came. We are sorry if you felt this attention was not enough. Unfortunately we cannot make the ambulance come faster and they just attend the emergency calls based on a severity priority.
However, I would like to thank you for your opinion because it helps us to consider if we should contract this kind of groups, because the duty of their trip, enjoy a theme park, is different in your eyes perception. Moreover, all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    545
    254
    100
    80
See reviews for
1,115
172
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I can't see how you can mix this hotel with stag, hen nights and family's. Every night it's like the Wild West along the corridors. There was no point in changing rooms 4 to 6 am it was kick out time from the clubs. The hotel is full of groups of teenagers. Not 18 -30 , 16 - 20. Most are not staying in the hotel respectfully they don't take advantage of the all inclusive drinks around the pool, they bring in their own cans of lager and leave the empties. Having taken up all the beds in groups

This hotel is based on the family and the theme park. They are being greedy by allowing singles in

Good points - staff very good and tolerant. Hotel refurb is ok entertainment is typical. Breakfast at 9am was quiet also first thing around the pool.

Bad points - smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. Food bland and little choice. Only two out of the four lifts work at any time to save electricity. So long waits for the lifts all day. The shower is a joke, goes hot and cold and and has the smallest ever shower head I have seen. I asked why there isn't a phone in the room. I was told they get ripped out or the teenagers start ringing random rooms at 5am.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel in fact resort if you are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank justmeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JustmeLiv, thank you very much for spending your time on writing a review about us. All your comments help us to improve the service that we offer our guests. I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you. As you say, our hotel is based on the families, and we do want to be a family hotel. Moreover, all our guests with the Play Pass Wristband can enjoy our Katmandú Park, with several attractions included from 10 am to 6pm every day of the stay and where all the members of the family will have an unforgettable holiday.
I would also like to thank you for mentioning the kindness of our staff. I will transmit your comments to all of them since this represents an injection of motivation to all of us. Thank you.
About the rooms, we have been updating all our rooms with new televisions, bed linen, mattresses, new decoration and all of them are provided with telephones. I would like to add that we have different types of rooms which go from 25 to 30 square meters. In relation to the food, we have a menu which rotates every two weeks trying to offer our guests a varied assortment of meat, fish, salads, vegetables, pasta, etc.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 11 rangeing from 3 to 73 we all had a good time.The Hotel is ok needs to be finished off.but regardless of the food was ok and thanks to the very helpful hotel staff and the outstanding entertainment staff myself and family are heading back in September can't wait to see you all again thank you very much agian the monks family from morecambe.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sharon, thank you very much for your good comments about us. I will transmit all your comments to the hotel staff and to our wonderful entertainment team.
Hoping to see you again in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Yep hotel was good they were finishing off some building work when we was there. very good selection of food and tasty life guard what's a bit miserable but didn't bother us to much we still had fun hotel was close to the strip for all night fun

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daf75360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Daf75360,

Thank you very much for the good comments about us and for spending part of your time to write the review. I would also like to thank you for mentioning our good selection of food.

We Hope to see you again at the Sol Katmandú Park & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from this hotel. The reviews posted over the last few days are spot on - but I would wish to make one or two further observations.
First of all this is not a refurbished "magaluf park sol" ! It is a completely different brand of hotel. But all the branding/hype is aimed at this place providing a family holiday. It most certainly is not, and currently is an advert for the worst kind of club 18-30 hotel. The very young children seem to enjoy very much the efforts of their hard working entertainers, but this impression is completely overwhelmed by the teenage clientele.
The hotel cannot be held responsible for the teenagers' appalling behaviour - which you would not wish any young kids to see - but they are certainly responsible for letting them come in so many large parties !
But there is an issue which I cannot get over, The hotel refurbishment is far from over, and internal work continues. But there is clearly a lack of quality control over the finished product - the devil is in the detail !
In the two rooms we were allocated one room did not have any fire evac diagrams/procedures. A small point perhaps but the second room showed on the back of the door an evacuation floor plan for the Jamaica Sol, a nearby sister hotel which I believe is no longer operating !!!
Lack of attention to this sort of detail is appalling, disgraceful and in this day and age completely unacceptable. If this is repeated in other refurbished rooms the H & S people would have a field day.
What would the hotel have to say ..............

Room Tip: If you must go to this place, ask for a high room on the palma nova side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Phil S, first of all thank you very much for all your comments about us, as they help us to improve the service that we offer our guests. I would like to point out that we are a family hotel and all our theme and entertainment activities are designed for families.
About the reform of our rooms, all of them have been updated with new televisions, mattresses, new decoration and bed linen, and during the winter time we have been carrying out a complete refurbishment in our family rooms, from the 10th to the 7th floor. I would like to thank you again for your comments as the security measures are really important for us and I will personally check all the comments that you mention in your review. All the staff of Sol Katmandú Park & Resort strives daily to make the stay of our guests unforgettable.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everything about this hotel is great, pool, theme park,location all good. 1 disappointment was the food. Brekkie ok but the dinner was very little choice & plain food. We stayed on the 10 June for a week and our 2 kids loved it. Especially the kids entertainers (special mention to VICTOR) for been so good with our 2. Our room was brand new but no balcony (whatttt). The theme park was the best. Spent days enjoying everything. K3 is sooooo scary.Watch out for BORAAAAA

Room Tip: Chosse a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andysullivan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Andy, thank you very much for your good comments about us and for pointing out our good location, the pool area and the Katmandú Park. As you know, all our guests can enjoy of unlimited entrance to several attractions of the park, from 10 am until 6 pm. I will also transmit all your good comments to the entertainment team.
About the food we have a menu which rotates every two weeks, in order to offer our guests a great variety of food. Our assortment is so big that obviously our main ingredients get repeated since we always try to offer at least more than 3 meat courses and 3 fish ones, and a show cooking, apart from vegetables, salads, starters, pasta, pizza, theme dinners such as Mexican o Chinese, etc.
I am glad that you had a wonderful holiday with us and we hope to see you soon again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For what we paid we got exceptional value, we were all inclusive and again this was great value, food and drinks were very good in my opinion, breakfast was fab... think between us we probably drank quite a bit of cava!!! rooms were pleasant clean etc, small problem with our shower the first time we tried it the pipe came off connection to tap:( this could happen anywhere....but 2 days to get a response from reception was poor.... in the end i took pipe to reception to hopefully act as a visual reminder!! it worked fixed within the hour!!:)) all the other ladies said they also thought it was good value, in a great spot too for beach etc, got free passes to the katmandu theme park and we visited that one day we had a ball!! not sure i would have paid 23euros to visit though...so once again great value for money with complimentary passes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
6 Thank jacqf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear jacqf,

I would like to thank you for spending part of your time to share your experience at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort. I would also like to thank you for mentioning the cleanness of our rooms, our all inclusive service and the free entrance to the Katmandú Park.

I am glad that you had a nice stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Property: Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing