We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE OF SECURITY GUARDS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
“BEWARE OF SECURITY GUARDS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel itself is brilliant but the security guards are absolutely ridiculous attacking guests for no apparent reason with their batons during our stay 3 of our friends which were male all got attacked. On the lastnight me and my friend who I was sharing a room with had just got Into bed then a guard knocked on the door demanding we both get out and go and sleep on the beach neither of us had done anything wrong an it made us feel really intimidated and scared as were girls and they were two fully grown men also our room had a leak and the ceiling caved in

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angryvacatione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Angry,

I would like to thank you for spending part of your time on writing a review about us.

About the action of the security guards, any act of violence in our establishment is immediately communicated to the relevant authorities and, even though we didn't appreciate any abuse of authority by the external security company, in case that ever happen, we would communicate it to the police in order to take the appropriate action. The duty of our security guards is always to look after a good coexistence between all our guests.

Please, next time that you have any issue in the hotel, you can contact our reception or guest service department who will help you with any issue you may have. We can offer you a room change and we have the Technical Service department everyday from 7 am until 11pm, at the disposal of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    517
    248
    99
    77
See reviews for
1,058
165
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely stay at the hotel, just at night coming back to the hotel on the night time the security made you feel anxious and unwelcome because they give the impression like the hotel was a prison and you couldn't do anything even so little as talk or you would be threatened to be kicked out and sleep on the beach until 9 o'clock next morning, this actually happened to us while we stayed there and if you didn't listen to the security they would be violent and aggressive towards you so your forced to leave. Also the room had a leak because of the aircon and parts of the ceiling actually fell off onto the floor and caved in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angrycustomer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Angry,

I would like to thank you for spending part of your time to write a review about us. All our security guards have been working for no less than 20 years in the company that we hire and everything that they are doing is made for your safety and convenience.

Please, next time that you have any issue in the hotel, you can contact our reception or guest service department who will help you with any issue you may have. We can offer you a room change and we have the Technical Service department everyday from 7 am until 10 pm, at the disposal of our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the Katmandú Park & Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 2am local time. Whilst checking in, the receptionist was not focussing on what he was doing, which made the process very long as we kept having to show different documents over and over again as he kept forgetting to take our details down - not a good start. We were told our room number, not shown where to go or any indication of how to find it. We were tired to went straight to bed, to wake up the next morning to NO WATER. We couldn't flush our toilet, brush our teeth - no running water at all in the hotel. When we went downstairs to ask about it, there was an angry man who wasn't allowed to have his breakfast in the hotel restaurant as he couldn't wash the gel off his head! By the end of the day the wayer had come on again, but we had to deal with majorly clogged toilets by the pool all day which was very unpleasant. The rest of the stay was ok, breakfast was average for a large hotel with plenty of choices. We also had to live for the week with the most fowl smell coming from our air conditioning when on which was very unpleasant. The hotel was very loud with youngsters which we expected, just expect to be woken up at 2am,3am,4am... There were 3 pools which was good as the hotel was busy, 2 main and one childrens, and drinks were reasonably priced. Would not stay here again and would not recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmcc1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear kmcc1993,

I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I would also like to thank you for pointing out that you liked our pools, two for adults and one for the children. I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not as pleasant as you expected.

The check in process is true that takes a bit, but this is because by law we have to take all the personnel details of the people that is staying in our hotel. I know a lot of hotels do not do the process correctly, but we always comply with the law. If you think of it you will realized that is the best for all of us as it is a security measure. All the details are send automatically to the police, and they check them to avoid any wanted person can be with us.

Please next time you visit us do not hesitate and contact our guest service department, they will help you with any issue they can as our final intention is you to enjoy your holidays with us.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Sol Katmandu Park and Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went to this hotel as we were under the impression that it was family orientated due to the free pass to the theme park for each day of your stay. The hotel itself was clean and compact but comfortable and the cleaning staff were faultless. We stayed for 7 nights and I seriously would doubt that I would ever go back there if they even paid me. The hotel staff were rude, and how they can advertise this as a family hotel is beyond me.

We were on the 6th floor, and put into a room next to 3 girls who found it hilarious to flash at passers by anytime between 3am and 7am, and shriek and yell until we were woken up, and subsequently up for the day. After 2 nights, we reported this to reception who told us that if it happened again, to phone the night staff. No concern for the bother this caused, and clearly 2 nights of broken sleep is not enough to warrant complaint. The showers didn't work properly. Either your were scalded or at risk of developing hypothermia. We asked for a fridge for our room, and after 3 days of telling them that it didn't bloody work, they replaced it and plugged it into a socket that was also broken. I also noticed that the pool wasn't exactly clean, but was nice enough for a swim if you didn't mind sharing the water with cigarette butts and other foreign items.

On the second to last day of our stay, water started to pour out through the ceiling of our bathroom which we reported to reception who said that they would send someone up, and then hung up. The same thing happened when I asked if somebody had handed my sons shorts in as they had obviously fallen from the balcony. The receptionist also hung up.

The theme park itself was ok, but if you get the tag, don't take it off because even though once on, it can't be taken off again and getting the hotel to issue another one, is futile.

The breakfast food was a pleasant experience and probably the only thing that was decent about this hotel. They had a brilliant array of food and it all tasted lovely. The staff in the breakfast room were also pleasant. There is food for breakfast to suit every palate.

On the last evening (Sunday), we inquired at reception if we could rent the room for the next day (Monday) for a few hours as our flight was not until midnight. We were advised that they would do this but could only book it in the morning after breakfast. We were then told by the same pompous man that this was not possible at all. So we had to amble around Magaluf with our disabled son for hours, finally stopping at Finnegan's around the corner which is the best place in Magaluf. Brilliant place and had it been a hotel, I would have much rather stayed there.

I only wish that I had read the reviews here before I booked the holiday. Never again. Overall, rude, arrogant and didn't give too hoots about the guests.

Room Tip: I would advise families to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear C D,

I would like to thank you for the time you spent to share your opinion with us and we really appreciate all your comments about us, as they help us to improve the service that we offer our guests. I would also like to thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our breakfast.

I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you. We are very sorry for all the issues that happened in our hotel. Please next time you visit us do not hesitate and contact our guest service department, they will help you with any issue they can as our final intention is you to enjoy your holidays with us.

I would like to mention that all of our pools are cleaned up every day with all the chemical products to disinfect it. Furthermore, we check the chlorine and Ph levels two times per day, due to Health and Sanity reasons and we have an external service hired to come and do water analysis (unexpected days always) and never have had a problem.

About the night, we have during the night two security guards who can help you with any issue you may have, you only have to contact the reception from your room, because their duty is to look after a good coexistence between all our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Sol Katmandú Park & Resort, to make your stay with us a wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My hubby and I stayed at Sol Katmandu again in June 2014 for 2 weeks. Had excellent holiday but what a big change. Yes do a hotel up but a lot different than before. Asked for floor 10 as before but offered 8, yes room ok but could have been better. No telephone cable and no batteries in remote for TV. Provided same day as we reported. Wardrobe doors had a mind of their own, wouldn't stay shut had to stick my slippers in to stop coming open. Cleaned lovely every day, a couple of days the towels were so old that they actually had a foisty smell once wet. Agreeing with lots of the other new reviews,200+ Spanish students everywhere, this should not be allowed as a group booking. They did take over but as we don't stay in the hotel in the day or evening, didn't actually bother us. After brekky which is lovely, lots of choice as usual, we head for the beach, cant do with the pool area, with swarking kids (all kids should be in school when we visit) After evening meal, we head out, never stay in the hotel, lots of nice bars out there in magaluf, not all for the young ones. (we are fairly old but young in our minds! ) Get out and about and have a walk around, lots of nice inviting bars out there for young and old. Don't listen to everyone slagging Magaluf off, it is for all ages. We have been going for 15 years now and never seen any bother, admit a few drunken people, but no bother. People who slag Magaluf off, 99% of them haven't even been there! One bar to visit is the Piano bar up near Sol Guadalupe, lovely bar for people watching and excellent staff, been there for years now and always welcomed every night by Carlos and his staff. So polite and hard working. Also visit the Plaza, changed this year as the resident trio had disappeared and replaced by Tribute bands, most of which were rubbish but quite entertaining especially Abba, who were quite funny too. All the staff in there still the same, friendly and welcoming, one of the best plush bars in Magaluf. Not sure whether we will go back next year to Katmandu as probably based on familys now with the theme park etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jazzyjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jazzyjenn,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I would also like to thank you for highlighting our cleanness and our lovely breakfast.

About the group of Spanish students, they came to our hotel with the intention of having fun at the Katmandú Park; I would also like to add that during their stay, we intensified all our security measures in order to look after the appropriated atmosphere of our guests.

However, I would like to thank you for your opinion because it helps us to consider if we are in the right direction as our intention is to be a family hotel, because the duty of their trip, enjoy a theme park, is different in your eyes perception and we care of comments like yours. Moreover, all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again for a 13th time in the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort, and make yours a wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I have read many reviews on here . Here is mine which is an honest one.. We stayed here for 7 days at the end of June. Hotel is great for family's with the theme park the kids and adults entertainment is brilliant and the food was really nice and of a good standard. The one downside is the large groups of young lads and girls comming in late at night and making such a noise in the corridors !.. So don't expect a deep sleep !.. The hotel needs to decide what kind of customer it wants because it's the only thing that would stop me booking this hotel again in the future !Rooms were clean and of a good standard. All in all I would recommend this hotel but be prepared for broken sleep.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Petehill1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Petehill1,

First of all, I would like to thank you for spending part of your time to write a review about us. I would also like to thank you for mentioning our good food.
We want to be a family hotel, that is the reason why we had initiated such an innovative project in Mallorca, as you saw when you stayed with us, with the Katmandú park, the refurbishment of our rooms and all the activities that we have for the children, so all the families can have an unforgettable stay with us.

However, in such a big hotel, we cannot assure what kind of clients are cheking in in advace as happens in any other hotel. Because of that, we count on a security team to assure a zero tolerance policy with bad behavior.

I would like to thank you again for your opinion because it helps us to consider if we are in the right direction as our intention is to be a family hotel. Moreover, all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.

We hope to see you again soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

When we arrived at this hotel it was 1pm, reception was crowded for check in we had to wait and hour and a half before even reaching the front of the queue! When we reached the front and queried why we had been waiting so long the response of the staff was 'busy day you know' not a slight care or concern that we had been waiting for so long.

When we finally checked in were was told our room was then not ready for check in so more waiting!! After a further hour, we had a room 719 which was small for a twin room the third bed was just a pop up! However the room was very clean and cleaned on a daily basis.

The showers were such hard work, temperature was hot/cold within seconds and a dribble from the shower head. One morning we had no water completely, after asking at reception they just said could be 5 mins could be an hour and had no clue what had happened!

The food was faultless, every meal there was different choice and everything was cooked perfectly!

The location of this hotel was perfect for our age 21-22 right in the centre of the night life, there was a mixed age range at this hotel and we never had any problems with noise! There was security on the doors at night which would help to control who is entering the hotel!

They have spent a lot of money on refurbishing this hotel, however they need to still concentrate on the customer service because without this it's pointless spending so much money on the grounds!

Personally I wouldn't return to this hotel just because the staff don't seem to care about the guests, we were just fobbed off whenever we had questions with the next excuse on the list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennalouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jennalouis,

Thank you very much for spending part of your time to write a review about us. I would also like to thank you for highlighting the good food, our good location and our security.

I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you. However, I would like to thank you for your opinion because it helps us to consider if we are in the right direction as our intention is to be a family hotel and we care of comments like yours. Moreover, all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort and make your holidays be the best ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Property: Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing