We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not For Families - Binge Drinkers Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not For Families - Binge Drinkers Paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I never had to write a critical review as my husband and I are usually not bothered about little thigs that people tend to complant about when staying in a hotel. Unfortunatelly, what we experienced in this hotel was just something that we could not just turn a blind eye on.
To start with, when we arrived at the hotel the check in process took forever - after half an hour of standing at the reception (to claryfy - we were the only people checking in so not like there was a queue) we were told that the room is not ready yet. We didnt make a big fuss first as i acknowledge the fact that theoretically check in starts at 2 pm and we arrived around 12. So we waited....and waited...and waited. Every 30min we were being told by a very unwelcoming and indifferent receptionist that it is max 10min and we are going to get the key. Well we actually got the key around 3pm and only because the other man at the reception (I think called Dido - thank you!) really felt sorry for our child as she was tired, sweating, hungry and with full nappy. This long wait to me is unacceptable especially that we were travelling with a two year old and that we actually paid for the room to be ready at 2pm as that is official check in time. We thought that was the end of our bad experiences - well the "best" was still waiting for us. First night we realized that the hotel is just across from the biggest and wildest night club in Mallorca. That means there is no chance of keeping balcony door open at night as the noise exceeds any acceptable levels. But we were still determined to have enjoyable holidays. From 2 am onwards, however, we started getting random drunken youths banging on our door as they were so pissed they didnt even remember in which room they were staying - not to mention sex orgies that were taking place in almost all the adjoining rooms. Certainly not the best experience for a small child. Again, we thought maybe it was a one off - well noup...it only got worse. On the second night we were advised to call security if the situation happens again - and we did but receptionist on night shift didnt speak english neither did the security guard. We had another attempt on the 3rd night and the security guard came few times but since the drunks are coming back from night clubs back to hotel every few minutes it is not possible for 2 guards to make a difference. It was like a cat and mouse game and clearly they were overwhelmed. After the 4th night when we literally didnt sleep at all between 1am and 6 am we had enough and were ready to move out as our family's security and sanity was simply at risk. Thanfully, Ana who works in customer services managed to relocate us to the top floor which is away from the drunks as there are rooms for which you usually have to pay a premium. Since then we could actually enjoy our holidays and our little one didnt have to wake up petrified at night. So that is the bad side.
As to the rest we cannot really complain - for us food was really good ( cant understand reviews that are negative about food) - there were so many dishes to choose from that even if you dont like certain dishes you will still find something for yourself. There is a wide selection of salads, main dishes and desserts. You get different types of fish, seafood, meat, pizzas, pastas, paellas, and more.
Katmandu Park was amazing too - i think me and my husband enjoyed it even more than the little one. Hotel entertainment (i mean professional entertainment and not entertainment we got at night from binge drinkers) was second to none. There was something else each night - something for kids as well as adults.
If the hotel only made up its mind and decided what its target visitors are to be then it could have a chance of being a really nice family place - but at the moment i cannot recommend it to anyone who is afer a quality family holidays.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded rooms on floor 9 and 10 - You have to pay premium for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatiWojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear PatiWojt,

I would like to thank you for taking part of your time to write a review about us, and for pointing out our food and our entertainment, I will personally transmit them all your good comments.

I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you. However, we appreciate all your feedbacks as we want to be a family hotel, and the comments like yours help us to improve the service we offer our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family in the future at our hotel, to make your stay with us a wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    529
    250
    99
    78
See reviews for
1,076
167
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Left this hotel this morning after my two friends & I staying here for 7 nights. Could not be more disappointed! On arrival at 11am 3.7.14 we were checked in eventually then told we would have to wait 2 and a half hours for our room to be ready! Not funny we were tired an absolutely boiling dressed in our warm travelling clothes! Room was ridiculously small - couldn't unpack our cases anywhere and no bloody floor space either! We found our rep immediately and asked to be moved which reception refused point blank so the manager got involved - she was a vile disrespectful woman who sneered at us and said we would have to pay 25e per night to move!! Food was repetitive, bland and cold so ate out most nights, breakfast was pretty good plenty of choice if you got there before 10am. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you got a bargain late deal - we booked 7 months in advance and paid £1900 for three of us! Really pissed off and will be making an official complaint!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dms2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Dms,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holidays with us. I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you. I would like to mention that our official check in time is at 2 pm, but in case your room is ready for you before that time the hotel always give it to our guests.

Thank you again for all your feedbacks, as they make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Sol Katmandú, to try to fullfil your expectations and make yours a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
majorca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stop here with my 13 year old at the end of June my first thought on the hotel was WOW the work that they've done is brilliant!! Lovely pool area but it really needs more sun umbrellas food was Ok just wished that it was warmer so a bit disappointed ,katmandu house was so much fun the park will keep everyone happy my only problem is that when we go there it had mainly 18/30 s and I was lead to believe it was a family hotel but it didn't ruin our holiday.. We are looking at going back next year cause the 13year old just loved it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sbarker1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear sbarker19,

I would like to thank you for the time you spent to write an opinion about the hotel. Our intention is to be a family hotel, so the feedbacks like yours help us to improve and to offer the best service to our guests. I would also like to thank you for pointing put our pool, entertainment, theme park and the hotel at all. I will transmit all your positive comments to our entertainment staff.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very small, shared with 3 lads & it was like a prison. Security are annoying, coming back from the strip they'll annoy you for proof if you stayed here but once they know ur faces you'll be ok. Hotel is full of young people & a few families, we partied all night & slept all day.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Pablo,

Thank you very much for your comment about us. In relation to the security, the duty of the security guards is always to look after a good coexistence between all our guests. One of their duties, per safety reasons, is to not allow people from outside the hotel to walk around corridors; because of that, they always check if the client is staying in the hotel, when some people come late at night. Is a security reason.

I would like to apologize if your stay with us was not pleasant for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of June/start of July. There was 3 of us girl and we went to Magaluf for a girls drinking holiday. We got to the hotel at 1.45am as we were delayed by 2 hours. We were greeted very nicely by the receptionist who checked us in very promptly & told us everything we needed to know & even sang along with us.
When we entered the room we were a little shocked to how small it was for 3 20 odd year old girls, however it suited us perfectly & didn't have any issues moving around.

Breakfast was amazing, there was every choice of food you could possibly hope for & unlimited drinks, dinner for me was a slight let down as I am vegetarian & i basically ate pizza & pasta for 6 nights.
The pool area was perfect, always plenty of sunbeds for everyone & never too crowded.
When we checked in we were asked to be quiet after 12pm as there was families in the hotel, absolutely not an issue at all, can fully respect that rule.
We had one issue with the people on the floor above us being very noisy at 4am so we called down to reception & within minutes security was knocking on their door and they were quiet.
We had to call reception for extra loo roll one night & that was no issue at all, again within minutes someone was knocking on the door with it.
The cleaner that we had seemed to be the same everyday but she was lovely & very friendly & left the place absolutely spotless.
The theme park is amazing for all ages & would highly recommend that people dont miss out on it. The mini golf was by far the best bit.

All in all this hotel is fantastic, i would recommend it to anybody, family,couple or party goers.

Just beware if youre a party goer to respect the families that are staying there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ellen,

I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know you liked our food, cleanness, entertainment and the hotel itself. I will transmit all your good comments to the hotel staff.

I would also like to thank you for understanding that as a family hotel and with children using all our facilities, we have a zero tolerance policy with some kind of behavior. As a hotel our duty is to look after a good coexistence between all our guests.

We hope to see you soon again at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

3 of us stayed in the hotel for 7 nights and overall the hotel was very clean, especially with rooms being cleaned everyday as well as having fresh towels. The food was excellent especially breakfast, evening meals were different every night which was nice but the food wasn't piping hot how some people like it. The one big downside to the stay was checking in and getting our room. We had to wait 3 hours to get our room, 12-3pm. It seemed as though everyone else had the same problem as well. Apart from this, the hotel was good. Having free wifi is welcome bonus as well. Due to a lot of families staying it gives the hotel a nice feel to it rather than having all party goers. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families as they had lots of entertainment for children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear James,

First of all I would like to thank you for spending part of your time to write a review about us, because all your feedbacks make us improve the service that we offer our guests and we strive to insure you have a wonderful stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for mentioning the cleanness, the free wifi in the common areas and our food. About the check in time, I would like to add that the check in time is after 2pm.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at the Sol Katmandú Park and Resort and make your stay with us a wonderful experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed at katmundu for a week on the 23rd of June 2014....the room we stayed in was very clean and the beds was changed everyday....we had a lovely view which it faced on too bcm square.....the food was lovely had a selection of food and deserts....we was very pleased wiv the hotel and everything thing else....we r looking too book nxt year

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia_TB, Director General at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Emma,

I would like to thank you for taking part of your time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to know you like our food, accommodation, and the hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#12 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
2.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Property: Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#5 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Melia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing