We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for party-goers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magaluf Playa Apartments
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choice for party-goers”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Please note: This is an extensive review dealing with many angles that one may consider a hotel to cover. What one needs to now is that if you choose a hotel of this sort in Magaluf, you can’t expect the amenities and facilities found at regular hotels. They target a certain group of people who come to Magaluf to have a “wet-much-sun-little-sleep type of holiday”. Having read many earlier reviews complaining about noise etc. I would like to point out that I would not advise anyone who come to Magaluf for a calm and relaxed holiday to stay at this hotel. In that case you should probably not go to Magaluf at all.

UPSIDES
* You CAN party as much as you like
* You don’t have to be afraid of security etc.
* The pool bar is nice and have a good atmosphere
* It’s fairly central

DOWNSIDES
* The two above, when you don’t want it yourself, haha
* Sound isolation

Summary
This is a no frills hotel with a the absolute necessary amenities and good bet for party holiday goers who don’t stay to much at the hotel and while there can accept some noise but on the other hand get a really nice pool area.

Why we choose this hotel
Reading this review you may find my standing quite negative. Let me explain why we even choose this hotel. Having read up on other major complex hotels, like Samos, Park Sol and others, my conclusion was the same. Those hotels do offer calm and sleep quality but in order to deliver this, they need to enforce it with violence, brutal guards and non-tolerance. Knowing we would get in trouble at least one night out of seven, we took a safe bet.

Introduction
This is a no frills, simple but yet functional hotel with both up- and downsides, major and minor. We, four friends aged 22 from Sweden stayed here sharing two two-room apartments in late June 2013. Looking at our experience chronologically, let’s start with the first impression. The “hotel” (it’s actually two apartment high rises located some 100 meters from each other separated by a pool area and with a reception facility in connection to one of the towers), is located next to popular BCM Dance club, approx. 500-700 meters from a beach and very close to the bar strip. The area is not the area with the most “people flow” in all of Magaluf though, resulting in several sad-looking restaurants nearby trying to get people by shouting their whole menus on the walls, having picture of the food etc; oh and don’t forget the promoters. In the immediate outside of the reception area, there’s a splendid specimen of this type of restaurant that immediately gets you to smell a rat.

Check-in
Proceeding to reception for check-in, which features UK native staff (good), at least I got an uneasy feeling regarding the deposit procedure. You see, the hotel requires a deposit of 150 EUR; now this is not so remarkable given the behavior of most of the guests at the hotel (not saying we were that much better, but I must say we were in the lower percentile on the noise-making & party scale). To the uneasy part: there are two ways of fulfilling this obligation 1) Pay 150 EUR in cash 2) Write down your credit card details on a post-it (!) . Given the amount of details you need to provide in order for them to able to charge anything, I immediately rejected and offered them to charge 150 EUR from my credit card and give me a refund on check-out (now there’s actually also a feature available from card service providers to “reserve” an amount on the card without even charging it). This was however not possible. Now I’m not saying that they are out fishing credit card details, but you are actually violating terms & conditions of your credit card if you give out such details and will be liable for any amount charged to card, no matter you authorized them or not (at least according to Swedish regulatory code).


Rooms
So we withdrew required cash, got a receipt and were encouraged to inspect the rooms and returns with any remarks and get the receipt signed. Be aware that they will charge you hefty amounts in events of anything breaking. E.g. Curtain(s): 100 EUR. Then we headed up to check the rooms. Most of the furniture and walls hade minor stains and scratches, a mirror was missing, no outdoor furniture etc. I returned with the remarks, got it signed and stamped and that was that. A short remark is that none of the above mentioned stains and scratches was something that annoyed us (I rather expected it). Otherwise the rooms feature the bare necessities, beds, sheets, blankets etc. Quite a large balcony compared to the size of the room (you will never utilize it all in any effective way). We had a room on the 4th floor and got a really nice view on the stage of the BCM square stage (where major DJs play a few times a week) from one of the rooms, and from the lower part of the BCM square (where there’s bars, rodeo etc. every night, oh and veeery loud music). The cookware, including glasses etc. were quite limited, as expected though. I would not use the cooker, but it’s probably fully working. The amount of hangers and places for clothes are totally under-dimensioned given the maximum occupancy of the room (4). We were staying two people sharing ~ 6 hangers or so.

Sleep quality
Beds are ok, so is pillows (not saying state of the art of course). What makes sleeping a hell is if you cannot sleep when there is sound. The sound isolation of the hotel room doors are the so bad you can hear anything going on in the hallway (no matter the source is screaming or not). The reason for this is the fact that the doors are made of cheap, non-dense wood and the lack of rubber lists. This makes all the doors slam on a floor when one door is closed somewhere else on that floor. Add to this some teenage girls that can’t wait 10 seconds for their friends to open the door when they have knocked the first time but insists on starting banging the door like there was a fire going on while yelling some well-timed profanities. Worth mentioning is also that the club, as already mentioned is situated next to BCM, so you will here music playing there until ~01.00

Cleanliness
The rooms were acceptably clean for the level of the hotel. Had it been any other hotel I would not have accepted it though. Also bear in mind if you are staying here that cleaning of the floors will not be done if you stay here for a week only. Sheets & towels will be changed after 3-4 days. So be wise to keep your littering to a minimum, or you’ll have to live with it for a week. Also you are yourself responsible to collect your waste and throw in containers by the reception. We did not check if it was possible to get some extra cleaning or so for free of for a fee, but I guess I can figure out the answer (no).

Pool area
The pool area seems to some sort of joint venture by a pub localized in the building as the hotel (and thus not operated, and probably not owned either) by the hotel itself. The staff of the pool bar is very keen on having the guests spend money, but I must say they are very nice, funny and entertaining in their way of reaching this target. They certainly enhanced our overall experience. The pool itself is a salt-water pool (no problem for me) and there’s always very loud music around (thumbs up from me). The staff of the bar makes a good job keeping the area tidy, but do expect to get wet if you’re sitting close to pool, people do throw each other in it :-).

Check-out
Check was convenient, I don't think they checked out rooms for possible damages, maybe because there had been no warning or such. The complete process was done in <5 min.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamhtonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    112
    75
    37
    80
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Booked for a weekend in june after reading reviews was a bit worried . Honestly it has been one of the best weekends we had bcm righ on your door step bcm square right behind it . staff were very freindly and will do anything for you . Rooms a very basic but for the time you spend in them they work . will defo stay hear again

Room Tip: if you like your sleep dnt stay hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank call-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Was good for the nightlife, seems as we hardly spent any time in the room! Be warned they do not inform you that you need 150 QUID OR A CREDIT CARD ON ARRIVAL! Very bad that they don't inform you. That's in case you break anything. And trust me your regret if you do!!

500 POUND FOR A PLASTIC TABLE
250 FOR A PLASTIC CHAIR
200 FOR A MIRROR . Which was already smashed! As soon as you get in tell them at reception what is already broken. Or they will try and blame you! Any damage even small is a complete rip of!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IERITCHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Director de Recepción at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
The deposit of 150 € which is taken on arrival is to cover any damages caused. Although you say you were not aware of this we are confident that the agencies we deal with do advise customers of the charge. The charge for damage to a ´terrace table´is 120 €, a terrace chair 50 € and breaking a mirror is 220 €. The charges are not only for replacement of the damaged item(s) but also include maintenance fees at an hourly rate. We have a very high turnover of guests and it is not always possible for maintenance to be carried out in apartments before guests check in and this is the reason why we ask our guests on arrival to inform us of any ´work´ which needs to be undertaken. We do our best to ensure that apartments are ready for check in time. In the Magaluf Playa apartments we at reception pride ourselves in trying to be as fair and honest with our guests and hopefully they will be satisfied with the service and return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this for the may weekend, was a bit worried when i read some of the reviews but honestly loved it. The staff are soo friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic literally 2 seconds away from bcm square!! The room is basic but who is going on holiday in Magaluf to stay in their room??! Will defo be going back again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Director de Recepción at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon. It was a pleasure to have such a nice group with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Literally the best place ever, staff are amazing, hotel is clean and its in the perfect location! The reception staff are so helpful, me and my friend missed our flight cause we were out partying and the 2 english women on reception helped us so much, they were amazing! The owners and the bar staff are bloody legends and made our hangover so much better! Would defo go back without a doubt

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Director de Recepción at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Glad to read that you are back safe and sound ! Next time when we see you we will pre-book your early morning call !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinGuy2009
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. Location is excellent, beside BCM. Couldn't hear music after midnight, when BCM Square appears to stop external music. Even being beside BCM we couldn't hear the music inside. Staff are extremely friendly and offer assistance to any issues. No problems with reps knocking on door. Would definitely consider Magaluf Playa for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Manager at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your kind words. Im happy you had a good time in magaluf playa apartments. I will tell the reception staff you were happy with them, they will be pleased.

Have a nice summertime!

Magaluf Playa Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birminham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just back and needed to write review as when we booked the reviews were so bad I was upset we were going.Took 5 teenagers for a blow out and 3 moms far to old for Magaluf. The apartments were clean and tidy large clean beds and constant hot water clean towels, the staff were great nothing was to much trouble.Great location next to BCM, not that busy but they say season did not start till June 6th bit noisy but not a problem as it was a young and very lively place.

Room Tip: We went on top floor as we thought we would not hear the 6am clubbers coming home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Manager at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear client

Thank you for your nice comments!

You described very good our apartments, young & live.

Now we have a lot of work, seems magaluf is very lively this June.

Come back to see us soon!

Apartamentos Magaluf Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Vistasol Hotel & Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.1 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol y Vera Apartments
Sol y Vera Apartments
#15 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magaluf Playa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magaluf Playa Apartments

Property: Magaluf Playa Apartments
Address: Calle Galeon 9, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magaluf Playa Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magaluf Playa Apartments are 200 metres from Magaluf Beach, and have a seasonal outdoor pool. They are beside BCM Disco and 2 minutes' walk from Punta Ballena's bars and nightclubs. The air-conditioned Magaluf apartments have a furnished private balcony and a living room with a sofa bed and a pull-out bed. There is a bathroom, a twin bedroom and a kitchenette with a fridge, a kettle and kitchenware. A safe can be rented from reception for an extra cost. There is a games room with a billiard table and vending machines for drinks and snacks at Apartments Malaguf, as well as internet access. There is a 24-hour reception and staff can organise currency exchange, excursion bookings, and late check-out for an extra cost. Palma city centre is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magaluf Playa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magaluf Playa Apartments Magalluf
Magaluf Playa Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Magaluf Playa Apartments Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing