We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location but give it a miss if you are fussy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magaluf Playa Apartments
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab location but give it a miss if you are fussy!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for a week in July and we thought it was ok for what we paid. The location is fantastic; literally next to BCM and 2 minute walk from the beach so it was perfect for us - if you are looking for central then I would definitely stay here.

I'll be honest - it's not the swankiest of places and it is very basic but our room was clean and we always had clean sheets and towels etc. Be warned some people we met had a worse experience than us - maybe we were lucky?

Staff are super friendly and helped us out when my friend was poorly one afternoon. I would go back but we only used the room to sleep in - if that's all you want then I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    115
    76
    39
    84
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we stayed here for a week paid 1,200 for a room on arrival i wanted to leave we were greated by used tampons by the pool the shower curtain was filthy slimy and floor hadnt been mopped for decades by the look of it the matresses were ripped smelly and damp we are all flea bitten from then you could feel them biting in the night the fridge was ecoli ridden i could go on forever i think we should of been paid to stay there were !!!!! although if u want to be in the bcm area you are literally on top of it but beware and make sure all your vaccinations are upto date guys theres millions of diseases in there enviromental health would have a field day !!!! ABSOULUTLEY RANK

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I Arrived here early July with a group of 7 Friends, to a very welcoming lady called ann on reception who was helpful throughout our stay, and advised us of any bookings we wanted to make such as the western water park which was brilliant.

The only fault I can make is that of the bar/restaurant staff around the pool area, the male staff take a liking to young females and made myself and the group of female friends very uncomfortable. They walk around the pool approaching young females and just generally found them very annoying and frustrating. On one occasion a male member of staff attempted to untie the string of my friends bikini, it may be seen harmless to some but personally when I'm lounging around the pool i do not want the staff trying to untie my swimwear. Also my friend left her purse in the bar toilet to which it was handed in to the bar to then find the money was gone, now if the person that handed the purse in had taken the money they would not have drawn any attention to the purse and would not have handed it it, and when we suggested that perhaps someone behind the bar had taken it a particular member of staffs back went up straight away and became very defensive and swore at us. Thus we opted to go to the beach more than we intended just so we did not have the hassle which no one wants on a holiday.

There is no customer service at this restaurant and this is why i would i would not use this hotel again, perhaps if the restaurant had a overhaul of the staff more holiday makers would return.

Again i stress i do not want this to take away the great customer service we received from the reception at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

summary:
good rooms, good beds
close to strip and next door to bcm
little noisy at all hours of night so only suitable for those wantin a party holiday
great reception staff at all hours
great food nd service sooooo quick but not crap reheated food

4 girls on a hen weekend booked through 'alpharooms'
coach transfer was absolutely fine (looked for the desk we had been told presented our transfer voucher and they then directed us to another desk who told us our bus number) would've been nice to have an english rep of some sort so we felt a little more at ease, but all was fine we found the bus within minutes and all desks were helpful!! again no rep on the bus and a drive with NO english not ideal but we can read so knew when we'd arrived at our hotel

arrived at the magaluf playa, fri 28th june just after midnight, made our way to reception where we was greated by a little fitty haha had a great sense of humour but also very helpful! kept our passports for their paperworks and told to collect them them Saturday but we actually kept forgetting so they ended up holding them for us until we departed on the Monday to which they never complained! they asked for a 150euro damages deposit for the room which u get back on ur depart but didn't want to have 150euros at the end of the trip spare so they took our bank details instead, we had no damages so no money was taken!! shown to the lift and told what floor to find our room on - room was great !!! 4 single beds, kitchen with fridge, bathroom and toilet with bath and shower couldn't have asked for a better room was massive!

we put our bags in freshened up and theen went out again!!!
nightlife doesnt start getting good until earliest midnight so highly recommend drinkin in ur rooms until then or sleeping as the night life goes until 6/7am!!!!! its reat!!!
hotel is not even 5 minute walk from the bar/club strip yet you cant hear any of the music from rooms!
streets are full with people trying to get u into their bars which is SO annoying but keep tellin them no and don't stop walking and u don't get sucked in, loads of offers always being thrown at you to get you in but all the bars offered these so don't feel you have to take them up on the offer for a free drink or shot

beach is right by the strip also so a 3/4 min walk from the hotel, beach was lovely, with toilets for 1euro a go!! I didn't go in them but mates didn't complain so they mustve been clean.....

shops close to beach for icecreams and drinks, water sports on the beach also

only thing I can fault about our holiday is it wasn't long enough :( want to go back!!!

oh and we had no clean towels etc given, so we asked reception for more loo roll and towels and got them straight away,,,,,, the reason for no maids were because most people stay at the hotel for just a few nights (hen/stag/birthdays etc) so they don't get time to do ALL rooms every day
but reception very happy to give us fresh stuff!!! :)

many floors in this hotel so there is a lift

we didn't go to the BCM club but met many people who did and had a great night, all drinks included in the door price approx. 30-40 euro but it is cheap spirits and beers nothing flash!!!

will deffo be going back and will be stayin at playa :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceandshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Please note: This is an extensive review dealing with many angles that one may consider a hotel to cover. What one needs to now is that if you choose a hotel of this sort in Magaluf, you can’t expect the amenities and facilities found at regular hotels. They target a certain group of people who come to Magaluf to have a “wet-much-sun-little-sleep type of holiday”. Having read many earlier reviews complaining about noise etc. I would like to point out that I would not advise anyone who come to Magaluf for a calm and relaxed holiday to stay at this hotel. In that case you should probably not go to Magaluf at all.

UPSIDES
* You CAN party as much as you like
* You don’t have to be afraid of security etc.
* The pool bar is nice and have a good atmosphere
* It’s fairly central

DOWNSIDES
* The two above, when you don’t want it yourself, haha
* Sound isolation

Summary
This is a no frills hotel with a the absolute necessary amenities and good bet for party holiday goers who don’t stay to much at the hotel and while there can accept some noise but on the other hand get a really nice pool area.

Why we choose this hotel
Reading this review you may find my standing quite negative. Let me explain why we even choose this hotel. Having read up on other major complex hotels, like Samos, Park Sol and others, my conclusion was the same. Those hotels do offer calm and sleep quality but in order to deliver this, they need to enforce it with violence, brutal guards and non-tolerance. Knowing we would get in trouble at least one night out of seven, we took a safe bet.

Introduction
This is a no frills, simple but yet functional hotel with both up- and downsides, major and minor. We, four friends aged 22 from Sweden stayed here sharing two two-room apartments in late June 2013. Looking at our experience chronologically, let’s start with the first impression. The “hotel” (it’s actually two apartment high rises located some 100 meters from each other separated by a pool area and with a reception facility in connection to one of the towers), is located next to popular BCM Dance club, approx. 500-700 meters from a beach and very close to the bar strip. The area is not the area with the most “people flow” in all of Magaluf though, resulting in several sad-looking restaurants nearby trying to get people by shouting their whole menus on the walls, having picture of the food etc; oh and don’t forget the promoters. In the immediate outside of the reception area, there’s a splendid specimen of this type of restaurant that immediately gets you to smell a rat.

Check-in
Proceeding to reception for check-in, which features UK native staff (good), at least I got an uneasy feeling regarding the deposit procedure. You see, the hotel requires a deposit of 150 EUR; now this is not so remarkable given the behavior of most of the guests at the hotel (not saying we were that much better, but I must say we were in the lower percentile on the noise-making & party scale). To the uneasy part: there are two ways of fulfilling this obligation 1) Pay 150 EUR in cash 2) Write down your credit card details on a post-it (!) . Given the amount of details you need to provide in order for them to able to charge anything, I immediately rejected and offered them to charge 150 EUR from my credit card and give me a refund on check-out (now there’s actually also a feature available from card service providers to “reserve” an amount on the card without even charging it). This was however not possible. Now I’m not saying that they are out fishing credit card details, but you are actually violating terms & conditions of your credit card if you give out such details and will be liable for any amount charged to card, no matter you authorized them or not (at least according to Swedish regulatory code).


Rooms
So we withdrew required cash, got a receipt and were encouraged to inspect the rooms and returns with any remarks and get the receipt signed. Be aware that they will charge you hefty amounts in events of anything breaking. E.g. Curtain(s): 100 EUR. Then we headed up to check the rooms. Most of the furniture and walls hade minor stains and scratches, a mirror was missing, no outdoor furniture etc. I returned with the remarks, got it signed and stamped and that was that. A short remark is that none of the above mentioned stains and scratches was something that annoyed us (I rather expected it). Otherwise the rooms feature the bare necessities, beds, sheets, blankets etc. Quite a large balcony compared to the size of the room (you will never utilize it all in any effective way). We had a room on the 4th floor and got a really nice view on the stage of the BCM square stage (where major DJs play a few times a week) from one of the rooms, and from the lower part of the BCM square (where there’s bars, rodeo etc. every night, oh and veeery loud music). The cookware, including glasses etc. were quite limited, as expected though. I would not use the cooker, but it’s probably fully working. The amount of hangers and places for clothes are totally under-dimensioned given the maximum occupancy of the room (4). We were staying two people sharing ~ 6 hangers or so.

Sleep quality
Beds are ok, so is pillows (not saying state of the art of course). What makes sleeping a hell is if you cannot sleep when there is sound. The sound isolation of the hotel room doors are the so bad you can hear anything going on in the hallway (no matter the source is screaming or not). The reason for this is the fact that the doors are made of cheap, non-dense wood and the lack of rubber lists. This makes all the doors slam on a floor when one door is closed somewhere else on that floor. Add to this some teenage girls that can’t wait 10 seconds for their friends to open the door when they have knocked the first time but insists on starting banging the door like there was a fire going on while yelling some well-timed profanities. Worth mentioning is also that the club, as already mentioned is situated next to BCM, so you will here music playing there until ~01.00

Cleanliness
The rooms were acceptably clean for the level of the hotel. Had it been any other hotel I would not have accepted it though. Also bear in mind if you are staying here that cleaning of the floors will not be done if you stay here for a week only. Sheets & towels will be changed after 3-4 days. So be wise to keep your littering to a minimum, or you’ll have to live with it for a week. Also you are yourself responsible to collect your waste and throw in containers by the reception. We did not check if it was possible to get some extra cleaning or so for free of for a fee, but I guess I can figure out the answer (no).

Pool area
The pool area seems to some sort of joint venture by a pub localized in the building as the hotel (and thus not operated, and probably not owned either) by the hotel itself. The staff of the pool bar is very keen on having the guests spend money, but I must say they are very nice, funny and entertaining in their way of reaching this target. They certainly enhanced our overall experience. The pool itself is a salt-water pool (no problem for me) and there’s always very loud music around (thumbs up from me). The staff of the bar makes a good job keeping the area tidy, but do expect to get wet if you’re sitting close to pool, people do throw each other in it :-).

Check-out
Check was convenient, I don't think they checked out rooms for possible damages, maybe because there had been no warning or such. The complete process was done in <5 min.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamhtonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Booked for a weekend in june after reading reviews was a bit worried . Honestly it has been one of the best weekends we had bcm righ on your door step bcm square right behind it . staff were very freindly and will do anything for you . Rooms a very basic but for the time you spend in them they work . will defo stay hear again

Room Tip: if you like your sleep dnt stay hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank call-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Was good for the nightlife, seems as we hardly spent any time in the room! Be warned they do not inform you that you need 150 QUID OR A CREDIT CARD ON ARRIVAL! Very bad that they don't inform you. That's in case you break anything. And trust me your regret if you do!!

500 POUND FOR A PLASTIC TABLE
250 FOR A PLASTIC CHAIR
200 FOR A MIRROR . Which was already smashed! As soon as you get in tell them at reception what is already broken. Or they will try and blame you! Any damage even small is a complete rip of!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IERITCHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalufplaya, Director de Recepción at Magaluf Playa Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
The deposit of 150 € which is taken on arrival is to cover any damages caused. Although you say you were not aware of this we are confident that the agencies we deal with do advise customers of the charge. The charge for damage to a ´terrace table´is 120 €, a terrace chair 50 € and breaking a mirror is 220 €. The charges are not only for replacement of the damaged item(s) but also include maintenance fees at an hourly rate. We have a very high turnover of guests and it is not always possible for maintenance to be carried out in apartments before guests check in and this is the reason why we ask our guests on arrival to inform us of any ´work´ which needs to be undertaken. We do our best to ensure that apartments are ready for check in time. In the Magaluf Playa apartments we at reception pride ourselves in trying to be as fair and honest with our guests and hopefully they will be satisfied with the service and return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Vistasol
Apartamentos Vistasol
#21 of 28 in Magaluf
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.5 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#19 of 28 in Magaluf
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol y Vera Apartments
Sol y Vera Apartments
#15 of 28 in Magaluf
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magaluf Playa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magaluf Playa Apartments

Property: Magaluf Playa Apartments
Address: Calle Galeon 9, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magaluf Playa Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magaluf Playa Apartments are 200 metres from Magaluf Beach, and have a seasonal outdoor pool. They are beside BCM Disco and 2 minutes' walk from Punta Ballena's bars and nightclubs. The air-conditioned Magaluf apartments have a furnished private balcony and a living room with a sofa bed and a pull-out bed. There is a bathroom, a twin bedroom and a kitchenette with a fridge, a kettle and kitchenware. A safe can be rented from reception for an extra cost. There is a games room with a billiard table and vending machines for drinks and snacks at Apartments Malaguf, as well as internet access. There is a 24-hour reception and staff can organise currency exchange, excursion bookings, and late check-out for an extra cost. Palma city centre is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magaluf Playa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magaluf Playa Apartments Magalluf
Magaluf Playa Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Magaluf Playa Apartments Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing